The Ties that Bind Us

This past weekend, I attended a Celebration of Life service for my one & only Aunt, my Mom’s sister.

My Mom & my Aunt as I like to remember them.

My Mom & my Aunt as I like to remember them.

Like many sisters or siblings, my Mom & my Aunt were polar opposites in so many ways.

My Aunt was known for her shyness & her quiet demeanor, while my Mom, was known for her ever social ways & the ability to chat up a storm.

Despite their differences in character, the bond they shared as sisters remained firm through all of life’s success as well as its challenges.

As I stood there this past weekend listening to my cousin’s beautiful eulogy about her Mom, it struck me how the ties that bind us together as family, are intricately woven. Strand after strand weaving a bond that withstands all that life throws at us, regardless of how polar opposite we may be.

We gather together to celebrate a life well lived.  Sharing stories & tears, laughter & hugs, supporting one another through the strength of those ties.

I will so miss my Aunt’s calming voice, her voice of reason & reassurance.  There have been many times over the past few years, as we dealt with health challenges with my Mom, she would reach out quietly, offering reassurance when I needed it most.

A gift from my youngest brother, honouring the life of Aunt Nancy.

A gift from my youngest brother, honouring the life of Aunt Nancy.

I suspect this past weekend, my Aunt was smiling down on all of us, her heart full of pride & love, grateful for the ties that bound us to her as family.

Wishing you a light & peaceful heart Aunt Nancy.  I love you

Hugs,

Lynn

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

22 Responses to The Ties that Bind Us

  1. joannesisco says:

    My deepest condolensces Lynn to you and your family – and especially your Mom. I’m sure losing her only sister has been difficult.

  2. What a lovely tribute to your Aunt – she clearly held a special place within your family. Getting together to share memories is so important to the process of grief.

  3. Sympathy and good wished to your family.

  4. susielindau says:

    I’m so sorry. It sounds like she had her own quiet way of supporting you and your family. This was a wonderful tribute and I love your brother’s artwork. Gorgeous.

  5. Tammy says:

    A beautiful tribute to your Aunt Nancy Lynn! and David’s artistic contribution is lovely! My sympathies to you all

  6. I am sorry for your loss, Lynn.

  7. Sue Slaght says:

    Lynn I am sending hugs and my heartfelt sympathy at the passing of your Aunt. I can feel her calming presence as you describe how she touched your life, your Mom’s and you family. Your brother’s artwork such a gift. May the birds be carrying her spirit to peace. Wishing you gradual healing on the path ahead. Xoxo

  8. LB says:

    So glad you had such a wonderful person in your life, someone who would reach out quietly, with reassurance.
    Sympathies to you and your family

  9. Sandra Kelly says:

    My condolences on the loss of your aunt, Lynn. Your eloquent words are a lovely tribute.

Please don't be shy, feel free to get in on the conversation & leave a reply!

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.