Accumulated Baggage

baggage.quoteAccumulated baggage.

The stuff of life that stays packed in our cases, like the outfit we took on a trip, but never wore.

Some of us only accumulate a small carry-on, while others tip the scales with the weight of our baggage.

The key in lightening our load seems to be in how we deal with that baggage as we move forward in life.

Do we continue to heave more weight into our bags or do we make some attempt at unpacking it along the way.

To discard those things that no longer have the same hold on us.

I encourage you to purge that baggage.

To let go of the things that no longer matter, to find forgiveness for the people who may have disappointed us along the way & to seek help & guidance for those items that may weigh a little heavier on our hearts.

Imagine how much lighter we would feel to let go of some of that accumulation.

Free to continue our life journey without all of that heaviness weighing us down.

Hugs,

L❤️

 

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

47 Responses to Accumulated Baggage

  1. Sometimes you don’t even realize you’re dragging it along until suddenly an event cuts it loose…The relief makes you understand it was there!

  2. I so agree, Lynn. Thank you

  3. Ally Bean says:

    Good advice. Am trying to do that during this year. Less is more.

  4. Al says:

    Reminds me of the adage, “carrying a grudge is letting someone live in your head, rent free!

  5. Heyjude says:

    Wise words Lynn. Letting go can be so hard though, but definitely improves one’s state of mind.

  6. Thanks, Lynn. As something of a chronic emotional baggage carrier, this is a good reminder. Mind you, carrying all that extra weight must be helping my training, right? 😉

  7. Jodi says:

    beautifully written. thank you.

  8. Taking on baggage can be so easy to do over the simplest silly things. Sometimes it is all our in our head. x

    • Lynn says:

      So vey true Louise. We are all guilty of accumulation although I think there are many people who have experienced life altering situations, preventing them from moving forward. The ability to unpack or let go of some of this baggage seems key to me in allowing us to live our best life.

  9. Joanne Sisco says:

    I blame you for the ear worm that instantly took root as I read this … that insipid song from Frozen “Let it go, let it go ….”

    Am I to guess that you are in the process of some emotional spring cleaning?

    • Lynn says:

      Hahaha! I am picturing you wandering around the house belting out this tune!

      Interesting, this post has been sitting in my draft folder for a couple of years. Perhaps the universe is giving me a nudge to clean house in other ways!🤔

  10. restlessjo says:

    Bearing a grudge never helped anyone, Lynn. 🙂 I can’t imagine that you do.

  11. Ann Coleman says:

    An excellent post! We do all need to let go of all that stuff that we’ve been carrying around forever: the grudges, the guilt, the “would’ve, should’ve, could’ves!” Thanks for the reminder to do a little spring cleaning in our psyches now and then.

  12. LB says:

    We are all so much lighter if we let all that stuff go. That emotional baggage can be heavy! Thanks for the reminder, Lynn.

    • Lynn says:

      It sure can be Laurie. It surprises me sometimes how much people hold on to, taking up so much space in their life. Thanks for visiting!

      • LB says:

        I thought of you and this post this morning as I listened to an interview with Roger Waters (from Pink Floyd fame). He and a former band mate, David Gilmore, were angry at each other for years. They have finally made a fragile peace and he said “well, it’s kind of a waste of time. You know, a real waste of time and energy to butt heads about things that are essentially superficial.”

      • Lynn says:

        Thank you for sharing this LB. 😘

  13. Robin says:

    Great Message Lynn. I prefer to have my suitcases filled with Friends and Family, Good Times and Adventures! You are definitely in all of them!

    • Lynn says:

      I am pretty sure your suitcases are overflowing with friends & family, given the beautiful person you are. I am so grateful to be included in your bags!

  14. George says:

    Love your words, Lynn. I can’t help but think they are inspired by your recent post regarding sudden loss and how fragile life really is.
    It’s a great reminder.

    • Lynn says:

      George, what is interesting is that this post has been sitting in my draft for a few years waiting to be re-tweeked & published.

      Perhaps this was timely from the standpoint that the fragility of life is in the forefront of my mind these days, thus re-enforcing there are few things worth wasting negative energy on & how important it is to purge our bags of all things that in the end, truly don’t matter.

      Thank you for your ever insightful comments George! They truly are appreciated.

  15. Sue Slaght says:

    Lynn I carried a lot of baggage for many decades. About 15 years ago I did a lot of work to personally free myself. Amazing how much happier and peaceful one can be when such a lifelong load is let go of.

  16. dfolstad58 says:

    You really said it well here in this post. How much do we pile on ourselves that don’t need in our journey? Thanks for a great reminder.

  17. Ahdad says:

    Drop the garbage, I say!

  18. Great message Lynn. I’m way on the other side of 50 and my philosophy about all this kind stuff is: “If not now, when?” Life’s too short and is getting shorter every day. I will wear out rather than rust, and I will move on. It’s the only way. ~James

  19. It’s a difficult task to rid yourself of baggage but it is necessary to ever really be happy again. We are dealing right now with a family member who can not let go of old hurts and just broke her engagement. He was going to come visit on the 5th and we were to meet him for the first time but that has now been cancelled.

  20. LB says:

    I know I’ve already commented on this post, but I wanted to pop over and say hello! I’m visiting WP friends for the first time in a while and couldn’t leave you out 🙂
    Hope all is well

  21. Claire says:

    Exactly! I once read something to the effect of, you can’t control what happens to you, but you can control how you react. Sometimes hurt/disappointment/frustration needs to run its course because suppressing it does you no good either, but once it has done that, let it go!

  22. susielindau says:

    That’s sometimes easier said than done. The process of letting go can take a while. That said, the only way to start is by making a conscious decision to stop thinking about it. I like to travel light!

Please don't be shy, feel free to get in on the conversation & leave a reply!

