Mom’s the Word❤️

 When I began this blog 4 years ago, this was one of the first posts I wrote. As we approach Mother’s Day this weekend, I thought it was worth a re-post with a few updates.  

May 6, 2013:

We don’t need a calendar to know it’s Mother’s Day this weekend. The media have been attempting to sell us on Mother’s Day pretty much since the Easter Bunny dropped his basket of treasures and retreated back to the safety of the woods for another year.

The media suggests that we need to buy that special something in order to demonstrate how much we love our Mom. From cards to flowers, gift cards to diamonds, the sky’s the limit.

On my drive into work this morning I heard an ad claiming that by buying your Mom a diamond necklace, she will know how much she is loved.  In their words, “it will be a daily reminder close to her heart of her children’s love”.

What an utter load of nonsense. Now don’t get me wrong, I have nothing against diamonds, but I certainly don’t need my children to buy them for me to be convinced of their love. (insert a sigh of relief from my children here)

I can’t speak for everyone, but I am pretty sure most mothers don’t need diamonds to be convinced their children love them.  A simple hug will do. Regardless of how old your children are, there is no feeling in the world that compares to your children wrapping their arms around you and saying “I love you Mom”.

I am just one mother, but I am happy to share my perspective for all of you racking your brains this week, trying to figure out what to do or get for your mother on Sunday.

The answer is simple.  Give her the gift of time.  

Time means different things to mothers depending on what stage of being a mom you are at.

Early days of motherhood with my 2 year old son & brand new daughter 💛.

When I was a young mom, there could have been no greater gift than someone giving me some “me” time.

When you are a young mom, you rarely have a moment to yourself, spending most of your waking hours & sometimes your night time hours, tending to your children.

To gift a young mom an hour or two to call their very own, is like being given a little piece of heaven.

Alternatively, for us “older” moms, time with our children has taken on a whole new meaning; there never seems to be enough time spent with our grown children.

I have two beautiful grown children, each with a wonderful spouse & now a precious granddaughter.  There is nothing I treasure more, than just having the opportunity to spend time with them.

Me & LAM checking out a micro brewery. I think she likes this one!

Celebrating your Mom should not just take place on a Sunday in May.

Our moms deserve to be showered with love throughout the year, finding ways to express our appreciation for everything they have done & continue to do for us.

Their love is not one to be celebrated in a single day.

I would ask you to pause for just a moment or two & think about what your Mom has meant in your life.

I invite you to ask any person who no longer has their mom, what they miss most about her.

I guarantee you it won’t be about how a “mother’s day” was spent with her.

A vintage shot of me showing my Mom some love!

Most will tell you how much they miss their mom.

How they long to hear her voice & her laughter, how they miss her unwavering support & her guidance, or perhaps her never-ending sense of when you just need a Mom hug to make the stresses of life melt away.

No diamonds involved.

So I encourage you to stop fretting about some material bobble to present to your Mom on Sunday. Trust me when I tell you, the most beautiful gift you can share with your mother, is simply the gift of your time .

Take a moment to visit, to call & try the words, “Thanks Mom, I love you!”

The only diamonds you will see will be the ones sparkling in her eyes due to the words spoken by her children who taught her how to be a Mom.

Wishing you a beautiful Mother’s Day.

Hugs,

L❤️

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

47 Responses to Mom’s the Word❤️

  1. Beautiful post Lynn and very true. Enjoy LAM this Mother’s Day. Louise

  2. Karen says:

    Well done lynn xo. Happy Mother’s Day.

  3. You’ve nailed it. I would love nothing more than to have my Mom back here…so we could do all the little regular things I miss so much.
    Back when I had the big house and yard, I planted a magnolia in her memory. I was heartbroken to learn that they do not transplant well, and so with a heavy heart I left it behind when I moved. And with my new place being a townhouse without a yard, and not wanting to plant at my rental only to have to leave it behind as well…I was heartbroken to think I would never have a “Mom’s magnolia” again to remind me every spring of her. But karma always gives us a chance, it seems…this weekend, I am planting another Mom magnolia at my new cottage, where I got permission to locate it on the resort by my water’s edge. So now, Mom will always be with us at the best times…when we are all relaxed, together and enjoying life. That will make this daughter’s Mother’s Day one to remember!

    • Lynn says:

      Oh Deb, I am so glad to hear that you have been able to plant a magnolia in your new cottage space. A fresh start where so many wonderful memories are yet to be made.

      I think you should plant one at your rental as well. Spread a little of your beautiful Mom wherever you go!

      Thanks for reading my friend. Happy Mother’s Day😘

  4. JODI says:

    Okay! The tears are flowing. Lynn, you are an amazing inspiration. Your family is blessed beyond words! And I’m sure they know that. Yana & Steven had planned to surprise me but of course I ruined it & they had to let me in on their plans. Just the two of them are coming for the day on Saturday & I am soo looking forward to it. Happy Mother’s day to YOU my beautiful friend!

    • Lynn says:

      Just like us Moms to ruin their surprise! The key here is that you will have the opportunity to spend some wonderful quality time with them. Enjoy my friend & Happy Mother’s Day😘

  5. Lynn says:

    Happy to help Scott!

  6. Sue Slaght says:

    I am SO with you on this Lynn. The commercialization of holidays makes me wild. A hug and shared time whether it be on the exact day or year round is what is valuable. I love the photo of you with LAM. I can’t believe how big she is already!

  7. Have a great Mother’s Day Lynn and hug that little LAM lots!

  8. Super post, Lynn. Happy Mother’s Day.

  9. Norm 2.0 says:

    Excellent post Lynn. We usually have Mom over for Mother’s day weekend and just enjoy spending time with her. Material things get forgotten but time spent doing things together is always remembered and more appreciated over the long haul.
    I hope you have a wonderful Mother’s Day 🙂

    • Lynn says:

      Thank you so much Norm. I am sure your Mom loves & appreciates her time spent together with you! Truly appreciate your kind words.

  10. George says:

    Beautiful, Lynn and worth reposting every Mother’s Day. Happy Mother’s Day! I hope you have a beautiful day with those you love the most.😊

  11. Joanne Sisco says:

    Beautifully said, Lynn ❤
    I think I'm a lucky mother because my children "get it" and make a point of showing it regularly 🙂

  12. You are so right, all we really want is time with our kids. I’m excited that my daughter and son-in-law will be here (they live 2 hours away) – that’s the best gift I could get. Enjoy your day!!

  13. Jodi says:

    such a good message, Lynn! So so so true! That is all I want from my grown children – Time! 🙂 ❤

  14. Kate says:

    This post is inspirational and touches the heart as only a loving mother can. And the only pat on the back we need is an “I love you” and a hug. Beautiful.

  15. Lynn says:

    Thank you so much. I am looking so forward to time with family! Wishing you a wonderful Mother’s Day💛

  16. So true! A lovely and timely reminder.

  17. Ann Coleman says:

    What a beautiful and meaningful Mother’s Day post! I feel the same way; at this point in my life, all I really want from my kids is to spend some quality time with them. And I am very lucky that they are willing to provide that!

  18. Heyjude says:

    A lovely post Lynn. I vividly remember the first Mother’s Day after my mum died as I wandered around the shops seeing all the gifts and cards and feeling quite bereft at the thought I had no-one to buy anything for. I didn’t always see eye to eye with my mother, but we were always there to support one another in need.

    • Lynn says:

      Jude, I think there are many who butt heads on occasion with their mothers but in the long run, stand together in support of one another. Thank you for your kind words😘

  19. Jane Carnovale says:

    What a beautiful tribute to “Our Moms” … thank you for sharing what I feel…& I’m sure I speak for many!! Blessings to you Lynn! Xox

    Sent from my iPad

  20. Collect Life says:

    I agree 100%. The gift of time is the most precious gift you can give😀👍

  21. LB says:

    Hello Lynn! I’ve not been on WP in weeks, and I’ve missed everyone.
    Your post is right on target. I’m fortunate to still have my mother and on a daily basis, make sure that I remember that. It is the time together that matters.
    Hope all is well with you, Lynn!

  22. I always tell my kids, please just be around and spend time with me as you always do! Gifts don’t mean too much to me but the gift of love and acceptance! A wonderful post! xoxo

  23. dfolstad58 says:

    This was a expressed by you perfectly Lynn, and being a Mom you can speak with authority. I talk regularly with my parents and occasionally I write a letter in a card sharing the memories I have growing up and what they mean to me. I’m positive my mom keeps those letters but the flowers I send are enjoyed only briefly.

Please don't be shy, feel free to get in on the conversation & leave a reply!

