Family Traditions

Many of us practice family traditions, particularly around this time of year.  One we established with our kids from a very young age, was making the annual trek to a local tree farm, in search of the perfect Christmas tree, a few weeks prior to the holiday season.

With the exception of a bit of grumbling during the teen years, this has been a tradition we have enjoyed taking part in as a family. Even the debacle of our less than perfect moment, didn’t dampen our spirits when it comes to this annual ritual.

Over the years we have had trees of all shapes and sizes in our home.  Trees we have had to stand up in our garage for days, to melt the ice off of before moving it into the house. Trees we mistakenly cut too much off of the bottom, causing us to feel the need to build a platform to stand it on, in order to recreate the proper height, & of course the most common mistake made by Christmas tree cutters, selecting the tree that appears relatively small in the woods, but explodes to swallow up most of the room when untied in the house!  Remember the Griswolds?

In search of the perfect tree!

In search of the perfect tree!

A tradition may seem like a small, little thing, but they are part of what define us as a family.

They begin to weave a tale of our time together, a story that is unique to us as a family, often passed down for generations to come and shared with those that we love.

Whether we are smiling or whether we are grumbling, they are all part of our journey of growing together.

A few weeks ago,  at the tender age of 7 weeks old, we bundled up our little LAM, making sure she was all nice & toasty, & made the trek to a tree farm close to my son & daughter-in-law’s home, in search of the perfect tree for her very 1st Christmas.

Although she will most likely be too young to remember this particular outing, it brought this Grandma great joy to see this tradition continuing on in the next generation.

As difficult & challenging as it may seem some years to continue this annual little trek, my hope is that they continue making the effort.   The reward of doing so & the stories gathered along the way, are far richer than giving in to the grumbling years!

image

Whatever traditions you may honour as a family in celebrating the holiday season, I wish you precious time spent together with loved ones, creating your own stories to share for years to come.

Wishing you a very Merry Christmas & extending my sincere gratitude for continuing to read & share all of your wonderful thoughts & stories!

Hugs,

L💛

 

 

This entry was posted in Stories from the G-Ma Crib, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

52 Responses to Family Traditions

  1. Joanne Sisco says:

    There is just no guessing which traditions will stick with our children as special and resurrected with their own families later, but the Christmas tree is always going to be a great bet.

    What’s even more special is that you got to share that first one with little LAM ❤

    Merry Christmas Lynn. Hope your holidays are filled with joy!

  2. Karen says:

    Lynn, a very merry season to you also. I look forward to your posts and hope you continue in the new year !!

  3. Such a lovely tradition and one that gets you out into the fresh air… not many trips to the mall are remembered this way😉 Enjoy the holidays – such a different feel with grandchildren.

  4. Ally Bean says:

    Joanne sent me! I admire people who have holiday traditions. We don’t, but that doesn’t mean that I can’t live vicariously through yours. I think that walking around among fresh trees would be delightful and the discussions [arguments?] about which tree to pick would be hilarious. Happy Christmas and Merry New Year to you and yours.

    • Lynn says:

      Ally, thank you so much for visiting & welcome! Traditions are funny, they don’t often start out that way but evolve over time. Perhaps you can just start a few of your very own!

      We have had some very funny moments over the years! I am not certain if you time to click on the link in the midst of the 2nd paragraph titled Less Than Perfect Moments. We are still laughing about that one!

      Wishing you & very Merry Christmas & again, thank you for taking the time to visit & to comment!

  5. Al says:

    What a lovely post, Lynn. Our daughter’s birthday is December 11th. It is always two weeks from Christmas. So our tradition on her birthday was always to get and decorate the tree. Of course she got presents then and again at Christmas. Now she does the same thing with her daughters. Hopefully, they will carry that on for her when they have families. Merry Christmas, Lynn!

  6. Merry Christmas to you! I’ve enjoyed your posts throughout the year.

  7. Heyjude says:

    A real tree is always the best. Sadly my family are scattered around the country and overseas and Christmas trees are a thing of the past for me. It is nice that your family traditions are continuing and I wish you and your lovely family a very happy Christmas and I look forward to following you through 2017. Have fun Lynn!!

  8. We have a tradition of getting the tree out of the basement. I’m willing to go back to real trees, but nobody has made an issue of it yet. Merry Christmas, Lynn.

    • Lynn says:

      Scott, you really should try it, outside I mean! I am certain it would make for fabulous blog posts!

      Merry Christmas my friend. Enjoy those beautiful boys!

  9. A wonderful tradition and easy to share. Soon little LAM will be trekking along too. Wish you all a fabulous Christmas and a healthy, happy and prosperous New Year. ❤ 😀

    • Lynn says:

      Tess, I can recall the years when our kids were little ones, listening to the swishing of their snowpants as they made their way through the quiet woods. I look so forward to hearing that sound again with our LAM!

      Merry Christmas my friend. So lovely to have spent time together sharing stories & adventures. I look forward to more in 2017!

  10. nrhatch says:

    Hi Lynn ~ thought I’d pop by after reading about your recent outing with Joanne. Enjoy lots of traditions this festive season.

  11. Sue Slaght says:

    What a lovely tradition Lynn. Wishing you are very special Christmas with your new little one. What a delight it was to meet you this year. Hoping we cross paths again soon. Xo

    • Lynn says:

      How blessed we both are to have littles ones to share in the magic of Christmas this year❤️ It was wonderful to meet you & Dave this past year & definitely hope another opportunity presents itself in 2017! Merry Christmas Sue😘

  12. Ann Coleman says:

    I’m so glad you are continuing the tradition with the newest member of your family!

  13. Dina says:

    A very Merry Christmas and a healthy, happy New Year to you all!

  14. restlessjo says:

    The grumbling years! Well do I remember those, and they seemed to go on forever. 🙂 Now, though, they’re long distant. This year we went to the other extreme, with a smaller, more accommodating tree, but in my quest for perfection I lopped too much off the top! The fairy my daughter made several years ago sits a little hunched on her perch. But that’s Christmas! 🙂 Hope you had a joyful one, Lynn, and wishing you health and much happiness together in 2017.

    • Lynn says:

      Jo, your comment made me laugh! We made the mistake of cutting off too much a few times leaving us with a much smaller tree than we had intended!

      I love that your daughter’s fairy sits on the top of your tree! I am sure she does as well💛.

      Wishing you the vet best in the new year Jo! I know that 2016 has had its share of challenges for you my friend❤️

  15. A very belated Merry Christmas and an on time Happy New Year! I seem to be a little behind in my reading and writing these days. All the best in 2017 and give that new grandchild of yours lots of hugs.

    • Lynn says:

      It’s a busy time of year Nelson. Admittedly, I haven’t had much of
      chance to catch up on my reading myself!

      Hugs are my specialty!

      Wishing you the very best in 2017!

      • Mine too! I’m the hugger in the family and if you want to see me dissolve into a bowl of Jello, just put a baby in my arms! 😊👍🎉

      • Lynn says:

        Well, this just warms my heart! I am not sure if I already told you this but a number a years ago, in the earlier stages of my son & daughter-in-law’s relationship, she commented when my son hugged her that he gave the best hugs. He looked over at me & said, “well you can thank my Mom for that. She taught me how to hug” Talk about dissolving into a bowl of jello!

  16. LB says:

    Lynn, your write beautifully about traditions, especially this one.
    Clearly it means much to your family, too, enough to have everyone, including your little LAM, head out to the tree farm.
    Your stories of the less than successful years remind me of similar ones in mine: nailing the tree to the wall to keep it from falling over; AND I’m pretty sure that my son equates putting up the tree with a few choice swear words 🙂
    All part of the memories!!
    Happy New year!

    • Lynn says:

      Laurie, I can just picture you nailing that tree to the wall! So funny, the things we do😂 Thank you for always taking the time to read & share & remember, if you find yourself up in the Toronto area in 2017, let’s get together! Happy New Year my friend💛

  17. Lynn, Terri and I are into Christmas traditions as well, but one thing that we learned as expats is that it’s more about the people and togetherness than the actual tradition (try finding a Christmas tree in Sudan). But one of the joys of moving back to the US was to actually be involved with family holidays again. It sounds like, with a new granddaughter, you can make a laundry list of Christmas traditions for years to come. Happy New Year and all the best for a fun, exciting and healthy 2017. ~James

  18. George says:

    Traditions are a big part of what makes our families, isn’t it.
    Thank you for sharing your photos and tradition with us, Lynn..:)

    • Lynn says:

      They really are George. It is interesting to me that there are some we take on from our own childhood & those we develop when we have our own families.

  19. Hi,

    The article and your words…I really liked them. Especially, “A tradition may seem like a small, little thing, but they are part of what define us as a family”- so true are these words, in every household, in every family…irrespective of which part of the world it is… 🙂

    Happy new year to you and your family!

  20. I think we all can agree that when it comes to Christmas, those childhood traditions are what we often think of first. We remember them for life. So your kids will someday look back SO fondly on those trips to pick out a tree!

  21. susielindau says:

    Such a great tradition and beautiful family. Wonderful memories!

Please don't be shy, feel free to get in on the conversation & leave a reply!

