Our Little LAM

Our first meeting

Our first meeting

For the past 9 months, we have been waiting with great anticipation, for the arrival of our first grandchild.

Because our son & daughter-in-law chose not to find out the gender of the baby, we knew not whether this precious being was a girl or a boy until our first meeting.

Personally, I think it’s more fun that way.

 

Allow me to introduce you to our precious granddaughter, or wee little LAM. (her initials)

img_2042

How is it one little person can cause your heart to practically explode?

img_2109  There is something magical about looking into the eyes of your grandchild for the very first time.  An overpowering sense of awe & a knowing that this is a connection that promises to reach the very core of your being.

img_2175I was so grateful to have been invited to stay with Mom, Dad & our wee LAM for the first week after their arrival home, helping out in whatever way I could, & of course sneaking in as many baby snuggles as possible.

As I sat there with this little bean in my arms, listening to her little breaths & simply staring at her for hours on end, I often found myself overcome with emotion.

Just when I thought my heart could not feel more full, I look at her perfect little face & somehow my heart grows just a wee bit more.

My son & his daughter.

My son & his daughter.

Mom & her baby girl.

Mom & her baby girl.

 

How fortunate this precious little life is to have been born into a family with so much love to share.

 

Parents who, I have no doubt, will be there for this little one each & every step of her life.

img_2141

img_2173

img_2151Above all else, our little LAM will know that she is loved more than words can ever express.

Of this, I am sure!

Welcome my beautiful girl!  I am so excited to share in your life and to learn how to be the best Grandma I can be as I watch you grow.

Hugs,

Grandma L💛😘

This entry was posted in Stories from the G-Ma Crib and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

87 Responses to Our Little LAM

  1. Congratulations! She’s beautiful!

  2. Great photos Lynn! Thanks for this! 😉

  3. Congratulations Lynn, to your whole family! Many years of laughter and love to come your way with this beautiful new addition (and I agree…it’s so fun to wait and see who they will be!) xo

  4. Al says:

    Lynn, you are in for the time of your life. But you don’t need me to tell you that. I am blessed with two beautiful (but now grown) granddaughters. Congratulations!

  5. Joanne Hubbard says:

    Lynn….. congrats. What a beautiful family. Guy and l are feeling the same overwhelming love….

  6. Becky Keefe Klingenberg says:

    Congrats! Grandbabies are just the best. Take tons of photos. So happy for you.

    Sent from my iPhone

    >

    • Lynn says:

      Becky, how lovely to hear from you! These photos were a few of my favourites that we took when I stayed with the kids. We had such fun doing our own little photo shoot!

  7. Karen says:

    Oh Lynn isn’t it so wonderful to become a grandma! It is, for sure, a special overwhelming kind of love that you can’t explain or know until you become one. I am so happy for you and your family and know that you will be the best grandma ever to this special little bundle. She is beautiful. Xo

  8. Be still my heart. I am happy for you. Congratulations. Your joy glows through your words. ❤ ❤ ❤
    I remember when my two granddaughters were born. Precious treasures they are still and I marvel every day they are mine. XX

  9. Beautiful, beautiful family! Congrats to all!

  10. Sue Slaght says:

    Oh my word Lynn she is adorable. Look at all of her beautiful hair. Mom and Dad look so relaxed with wee LAM. Your look…well I get that look so very much. Who could have known that our hearts would explode and melt all at the same time. Enjoy and thanks so much for letting us have a look at the precious one. Xo

  11. Congratulations! She is precious and will bring you a lot of joy! How lucky to come into the world surrounded by so much love.

  12. Cheryl Marsh says:

    [😊]SO beautiful!, what a treasured tribute Lynn. And you will be the best Grandma!!

    cheers, God bless you all!

    c xo

    Cheryl Marsh

    ________________________________

  13. Annabel says:

    I feel your happiness. It is the most amazing feeling – and it gets better. I think the heart actually swells when you smell those babies….LAM – I like it…your precious little Lamb 😉

  14. Chills down the spine. Joy to you and yours, Lynn.

  15. Ingrid says:

    Congratulations! What a warm, heartfelt post. The photos are lovely. I now you are relishing ever minute holding that buddle of joy.

  16. Heyjude says:

    Congratulations Lynn – it is the most amazing feeling in the world seeing a newborn for the first time, especially when one of your own. And what fabulous photos! Really professional – you should take this up. Happy cuddles with your grandbaby. Nothing like that lovely new baby smell, the tiny breaths, the squeaks and the mews. Lovely ❤ ❤

    • Lynn says:

      Jude, you are too kind! We had so much fun taking these shots. We had to take them over 2 separate days as our Wee LAM was having no more of it after a few outfit changes! I have a whole new respect for photographers trying to fit a newborn session into a very tight window of time!

  17. George says:

    Congratulations to everyone, Lynn! I’m so happy for you and your family and so glad your daughter waited to find out. There are so few real surprises in life and that’s one of the best.
    The baby is beautiful and the photos of all of you are very special.
    Enjoy your little gift from God😊

    • Lynn says:

      George, thank you for your very kind words. I so agree with your sentiment in regards to true surprises in life. Either way, we were so excited to become grandparents. A beautiful healthy baby was the only thing that mattered💛

  18. Murphy's Law says:

    I am a new follower to your blog. My daughter sent me one of your blogs to read thinking I might like it. I didn’t. I loved it, so I subscribed.

    What a terrific first blog to receive. I remember when our granddaughter was born… I thought my heart would explode out of my chest. Couldn’t get enough of her. That was almost 21 years ago, and I still feel the same!

    Enjoy this new experience. It’s better than sliced bread.

    Nice to “meet ” you Lynn.

    • Lynn says:

      So lovely to meet you & many thanks to your daughter for suggesting you check out my blog. It is always wonderful to receive such positive feedback. Thank you for that! I look forward to getting to know one another😉

  19. Woot! Woot! Wonderful news. Congratulations to all.

  20. Joanne Sisco says:

    Awwww!!

    With every new photo, I had another Awwwww moment. My favourite is the 3rd one from the last ❤

    Babies are pure magic. I know what you mean about being able to just sit and stare at them for hours. This is such an exciting time in your life and I'm thrilled for you ❤

  21. Congratulations! What a precious moment to share!

  22. Murphy's Law says:

    I am a brand new follower of your blog. My daughter put me in touch with one of your previous blogs because she thought I might like it. I didn’t. I LOVED it!!

    And what a terrific blog I received today. Your little LAM is too cute for words. She has no idea yet how much she is loved.

    I remember the first time I saw my granddaughter. It left me speechless, and that’s saying something for a person who is called “motor mouth”!! That was 21 years ago, and I feel the same way today every time I see her. Watching her grow into a beautiful young woman who is smart, articulate, polite, kind, funny and compassionate toward others has been quite a trip.

    Enjoy every minute.

    Nice to meet you Lynn!

    • Lynn says:

      Looks like somehow your first comment wasn’t totally finished! Again, lovely to meet you too!

      • Murphy's Law says:

        LOL! I wrote the first one, posted it, and then it just disappeared. Never showed up in comments. I figured I messed up, so I wrote it a second time. What can I tell you. People like me, learning this technology at 77 are just plain dangerous!! 😜

      • Lynn says:

        77? I love that you are continuing to learn! Good on you😘

  23. bikerchick57 says:

    Congratulations to mom, dad and grandparents on the birth of little LAM. How sweet!

  24. Jodi says:

    Oh Lynn! Congratulations!!!!! Our granddaughter is due in a week – so I cannot wait!!!!!!!!!! Wishing you much love and joy and happiness!!!!

  25. 7daysatatyme says:

    Hi Lynn

    I’m so happy for you Lynn. She’s a real little beauty and will bring you more joy than you ever could have imagined. When our first grandson was born 13 years ago and I was lucky enough to be in the delivery room with our daughter, I didn’t think my heart could stand it. It was so amazing to see your own child give birth and talking about it now takes me right back to those wonderful feelings and memories. After 4 grandsons we were blessed with a sweet little granddaughter who is just 7 months old and has brought back new baby smells and sounds and it’s just wonderful. So I really do know how you feel as it’s again fresh in my mind. You all have so many wonderful new experiences ahead of you. It really is one of the best times of our lives! I’m really so, so happy for you all. Enjoy the love that is bursting in your heart. There’s no better feeling!

    Darla

    • Lynn says:

      Oh Darla, thank you for your beautiful words. I have had a few friends who have experienced being present when their grandchild is born & they describe as one of the most incredible experiences they have ever had. What a gift to have been with your daughter for the birth of your first grandson.

      We are looking so forward to experiencing all that being a grandparent has to offer & I am certain there will many stories to be told.

      Thank you again for such a thoughtful comment. Lynn xo

  26. OMG, Oh my God, oh my God, oh my God. Lynn she is gorgeous I have tears in my looking at these photos and reading your words. I want one. But i will have to wait a little while. Oh enjoy her and all her preciousness and look after Mum. Louise

    • Lynn says:

      Louise, your comment has me grinning from ear to ear. I hope one day you have the opportunity to experience this joy. It like no other my friend!

  27. Oh and I just realised she has a little koala. And i know that guy well because we have one somewhere exactly the same.

  28. Ann Coleman says:

    Congratulations, Lynn! Isn’t it amazing how we love a new baby so instantly and completely? Enjoy this new and wonderful phase of your life… (And she’s darling, by the way!)

    • Lynn says:

      Ann, it is incredible to look at this beautiful child & know that she is in some way, a part of you. Thank you! Enjoy your weekend with your family in celebration of your son’s wedding!

  29. restlessjo says:

    Absolutely gorgeous photos, Lynn! I smiled and smiled as I looked at you all. 🙂 🙂

  30. Congratulations, Grandma L! What a lucky girl she is to have such a doting extended family. 🙂

  31. What? You’re a grandmother? What kind of camera are you using? Or maybe you were a child bride? What a beautiful family! 🙂

  32. Gayle Windsor says:

    Congratulations to both you and Brian and of course the parents. She is adorable, but you know that. Enjoy every second, because it goes so fast.

  33. bethanyk says:

    This brought a ray of light into my night. Beautiful family. Beautiful baby. Thank you for sharing! We didn’t want to know either and loved the surprise of baby girl. I can’t wait to be a grand mother! Congrats !

    • Lynn says:

      So glad you enjoyed the post. Although we were given the option, even back in the day, we chose not to find out with both of our children. When the doctor asked me whether I wanted to know what I was having, he was quite surprised when I told him no. I told him it was like opening your Christmas presents befor Christmas😉

      Thank you for your visit today & your lovely well wishes!

  34. LB says:

    She’s a beauty! Welcome little LAM!
    What a joyful distraction from the world, the US anyway.
    Your photos are wonderful. I needed this happy post.

  35. It’s amazing, isn’t it, Lynn? The heart explodes and implodes and explodes again with each look at that tiny face and fingers and toes. And that new born baby smell, isn’t it incredible? I said I could do some things okay, but, I knew I would be great at being grammy. Congratulations! She is perfect and I am thrilled for you on this new season of your life, so are you Nana? Grandma? Granny? Oma? or, like me, Grammy? So very, very happy for you. Thank you for sharing these beautiful pictures.

    • Lynn says:

      Cathi, it is one of the most beautiful things I have ever experienced! Each time I look into this little person’s face, I am overcome with such joy. Thank you so much for your lovely comment & good wishes. I am Grandma, unless our wee LAM decides on an alternative!

  36. Sherri says:

    Oh Lynn, how wonderful, many congratulations to you and your family, your granddaughter is absolutely gorgeous! I can only imagine the joy of being a grandparent, but I hope to…none of my three kids are showing signs yet, although my eldest son’s partner has made it clear of her desire to have a family! Watch this space 🙂 So happy for you! ❤

    • Lynn says:

      Sherri, it is an incredible thing to look into a brand new life’s eyes & know that he/she is part of you. Thank you so much for your lovely comment & I hope that you too, share in this amazing experience some day!

      • Sherri says:

        Incredible..such beautiful, precious photos Lyn, such an amazing gift your granddaughter. And thank you so much…I’m hoping and praying my day will come 🙂

  37. Pingback: Knee Deep In It | Life After 50

  38. Pingback: Hearts Alone | Life After 50

  39. momshieb says:

    How late I am to come to this celebration! I had stepped away from blogging for a few months, and have missed so many wonderful events and accomplishments!
    Congratulations, Lynn! Your post made me cry! So tender and so true. I still can’t believe how intensely we love this next generation. My heart has never felt so full!
    Love to all of you!

    • Lynn says:

      Karen, not a problem at all. Lovely to have you visit as always & thank you for your kind words. These little beings speak to our hearts in ways we could not have imagined, but you already know that! How blessed we are for having them in our life & the opportunity to experience being a grandparent.

Please don't be shy, feel free to get in on the conversation & leave a reply!

