Just the Other Day

jay-baby

Just the other day, I held you in my arms for the very first time.  I couldn’t have imagined the impact you would have on my life, nor the things you would teach me.

Just the other day, I watched as your lips curled up, forming your very first smile.  Little did I know how much your wonderful, quirky sense of humour, would send me into fits of laughter over the years.  To this day, you can make laugh like no other person can.

Just the other day, you found the courage to let go of my hand, taking your very first steps on your own.  I couldn’t have understood the mixed emotion a mother feels to slowly let go of her child, willing & encouraging them to find their own path, but feeling a sense of loss at the same time.

Just the other day, I dressed you for your first day of school, packing up your Ninja Turtle lunchbox with your favourite snacks & putting you on the big yellow school bus.  I couldn’t have foreseen the number of years of education you would pursue, ever working diligently towards achieving your goals.

Just the other day, I stood so proudly as I watched you successfully complete your education.  Years of hard work culminating in graduating in a field where you can utilize so many of the wonderful qualities you have obtained as young man.

Just the other day, I cried most of the way home on the train, after settling you in to your new place as you prepared to begin your career.  Feeling so excited for you to embark on this chapter in your life, yet knowing in my heart that this move was a more final one than the many we had done in the past.

Just the other day, my heart was overflowing as I witnessed the vows exchanged & the love spoken between you & your beautiful bride.  Knowing the challenges you had both faced in bringing you to this day of celebration, I had no doubt that your love was one that would stand the test of of time.

Just the other day, I heard the excitement in your voice when you called to tell me you had purchased your first home.  A place to lay down some roots and call your own.  A place to raise a family some day.

Just the other day,  I saw such joy in your eyes as you shared the news that you were going to be a father.  My heart was bursting as I know what a wonderful man you have become & that this child will be so blessed to call you Dad.  As the days come closer to meeting this beautiful new little being, I couldn’t help but think...

Just the other day, I held you in my arms for the very first time.

Hugs,

Bighead

*Dedicated to by beautiful son who is expecting his firstborn in the coming days.

 

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

66 Responses to Just the Other Day

  1. Lynn Oh my God this is beautiful. I know what you mean…Thank you Louise xx

  2. Sue Slaght says:

    Oh Lynn I have goosebumps from head to toe. What a beautiful piece of writing. How is it our hearts can break and explode with joy all at the same time as we watch our children grow?

    • Lynn says:

      Sue, you are always so kind with your words of encouragement! Nothing prepares us for the roller coaster ride of emotions we experience as moms, does it?

    • Heyjude says:

      I can also recommend a place in Cape Town – well actually outside of the city but close to the wonderful Kirstenbosch Garden (you can walk to them) and the Constantia vineyards. Only 15 minutes drive to the city or the False Bay coast. http://kleinbosheuwel.co.za/
      We stayed there and the hosts are lovely. Are you planning on going to Cape Town then?

      • Sue Slaght says:

        Thanks for the recommendation Jude. We will have two nights in Capetown at the end of our cycling trip and three weeks in Africa. We want to make the most of that short time and have good accessibility to the airport. Any suggestions would be greatly appreciated.

      • Heyjude says:

        Well this B&B is close to the airport (you don’t want to be TOO close) and everything else in CT. I have some drives on my Travel site. Franschhoek is g0rgeous and well worth a visit. Definitely Cape Point and Boulders (penguins – no squealing!!) Where are you going on the cycling tour?

      • Sue Slaght says:

        The location sounds very good Jude. Thanks for the info and in the months ahead I will definitely revisit some of your SA posts. I do remember being awed by them.
        We are cycling from George to Capetown with a visit to the penguins planned. No promises on the squealing I’m afraid. 🙂 Prior to that We are going to Victoria Falls and some time in Kruger. Almost half a year away but I am so excited at the prospect!

      • Lynn says:

        That should be a lovely ride Sue! The cape ride is described by an avid cycling friend of mine, as one of the most beautiful rides he has ever done!

      • Sue Slaght says:

        That sounds great Lynn. We are very much looking forward to it!

  3. Joanne Sisco says:

    OMG Lynn, you had me in tears reading this!

    I’m excited for you and your days ahead as a new grandmother ❤

  4. That was beautiful, and I felt all the emotions right along with you. Having been told by a doctor that I could not get pregnant, (he was wrong) I cherished (and continue to cherish) every moment with my daughter. Congrats on the next big milestone. Karen

  5. That other day was a very full one.

  6. Ingrid says:

    Beautiful… you brought tears to my eyes!

  7. George says:

    Beautifully expressed

  8. Norm 2.0 says:

    Beautiful Lynn. Now if you’ll excuse me I think someone must be chopping onions nearby 😉

  9. Robin says:

    Lynn This was such a beautiful, heart warming, tear jerking piece. You MUst publish this! XO

    • Lynn says:

      Thank you so much my dear friend. You have been by my side in all of these days I have talked about. I am so grateful to have you in my life❤️

  10. Carolyn says:

    OMG Lynn, I am experiencing chills and have tears in my eyes as I read your blog. could not have been better expressed! Exciting times ahead of us!!

  11. Heyjude says:

    So eloquently written Lynn. How quickly the years pass.

  12. BoomingOn says:

    lovely. It goes in a flash. But then we get to do it all again – differently – with grandkids.

  13. Jodi says:

    So beautifully expressed that so many of us can relate to. Thank you Lynn!

  14. Gosh, Lynn! How exciting! And you made me all teary reading this. My eldest just turned 20 and I was thinking much the same thing. Just the other day….

    • Lynn says:

      It often feels that way as a Mom, doesn’t it Heather? When our children are young, it seems like light years away for them to be parents & yet when we look back, it is as if time passed so quickly! Thanks for visiting & leaving your words of encouragement.💛

  15. Antonio says:

    Just the other day….it’s very beautiful!
    Time passes so quickly….
    hello Lynn,
    many regards

  16. Ann Coleman says:

    It really is “just the other day,” isn’t it? Thanks for the beautiful reminder!

  17. Debbie Sauerteig says:

    Lynn, once again, you say what is in our hearts with such poetry and fullness.

    Congratulations on your news from your son and daughter-in-law!

    Debbie

    ________________________________

  18. restlessjo says:

    The letting go is hard, Lynn. Sounds like you’ve done a beautiful job. 🙂 Many congratulations!

    • Lynn says:

      It’s funny Jo. We spend much of our children’s lives preparing them for their future & seeking their independence. When that happens, there is definitely contentment in knowing you had a hand in helping them get there! As always, I so appreciate your visit my friend & your kind words.

  19. Oh my goodness! How beautiful this is. I have teared up and literally have goose bumps on my from reading this. Congratulations on having your grandchild. Is this your first? Being a grandparent is the greatest joy… this is just a lovely, lovely post, thank you for sharing this with us.<3

    • Lynn says:

      It is our first Cathi & I am beyond excited! Thank you so much for your your lovely comment. I cried pretty much the whole time I was writing it😉 I am such a sentimental fool!

      • I just wrote the same phrase to you! I guess that confirms it, we are sentimental fools! Your heart will never be the same once you hold your first grandchild. He is my life and my heart. I adore him. I love my second grandchild, but my first is so incredible, you will understand. Everyone told me it was great, but I had no idea. I told hubby that I may not have done much well,but I thought I could be a great grandma… I cannot wait to read about yours. Prepare for lots and lots of tears. ❤

      • Lynn says:

        That is so funny Cathi! I have had a number of friends who have shared your exact sentiments about becoming a grandparent. I have a great niece & a great nephew whom I love to pieces so I am sure a grandchild will send me over the edge!

      • They will, you will be amazed!

  20. I had to hold back tears! Lovely Lynn xxx

  21. LB says:

    Lynn, this is such a wonderful post! A keeper and one to share.
    So creatively written, I love the way you circled right back around the baby to be.

  22. Paul says:

    Wow! Congratulations to all Lynn.

  23. dfolstad58 says:

    I see from the comments that others enjoyed this post identically to myself.

  24. petakaplan says:

    Love it and having three grown sons of my own, I can totally relate… but doubt I would be able to say or write it as eloquently as you do.

    Peta

  25. Cheryl Marsh says:

    [😊]So beautifully said, and now Lucy … enjoy the lifetime of …

    xo

    Cheryl Marsh

    ________________________________

Please don't be shy, feel free to get in on the conversation & leave a reply!

