Precious Together Time

As parents, we hope our children enjoy spending time with us as adults.

Let’s face it, growing up, they really have no choice.  Whether we are good company or bad, our kids are stuck with us.

Moving into their adult years, they have the option of being much more selective about the number of hours they choose to spend with us old folks!

There is nothing I love more than to hang out with my adult kids.  To seek out their company not only because I love them more than life itself, but because I genuinely like the people they have become.

Untitled

And so my heart is bursting as my daughter & I prepare to set out on an exciting adventure together.

Two weeks of precious mother/daughter time, working our way through parts of South Africa.  A dream we have been dreaming of for the past 5 years.

This week that dream becomes a reality.

I am so grateful to have the opportunity to share this incredible experience with my daughter, creating new chapters in our life story together.

Our adventure begins in Amsterdam, a brief little layover for a couple of days, where we hope to take in some of the sights of this beautiful city, before we continue on our journey to South Africa.

Hoping to share a bit of our travels as time permits.  Join us, won’t you?

Hugs,

L

This entry was posted in Wanderlust and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

64 Responses to Precious Together Time

  1. Sue Slaght says:

    You bet I will be following! So excited for you and your daughter. I know the joy of having getaways with my adult daughter. Such a gift of life. I will be watching the blog and Facebook for updates. We are booked for South Africa next year so looking forward to a preview through your eyes.
    Have a fabulous trip! Xo

  2. Jodi says:

    Have fun beautiful ladies! Can’t wait for photos upon your return!

  3. joannesisco says:

    I’m going to be with you through every one of your updates! I’m so excited for you 🙂

    LOVE the photo of you and your daughter! Beautiful ❤

  4. karen says:

    Oh Lynn….what a trip. One of our favs was east africa safari…I certainly will be following your trek . How fun to do it with your daughter. Im waiting for the time when I can do one with mine!! Have a wonderful time xo

    • Lynn says:

      We have heard so many wonderful comments about this part of the world. I have been so fortunate to have a friend from this area who has been instrumental in helping us plan our itinerary. I hope you too, have the opportunity to do this kind of thing with your daughter. Such a special time!

  5. Jane Passant says:

    Have an amazing trip! I can’t wait to hear all about your adventures together!!! Sooo jealous!

  6. George says:

    Have a wonderful trip. Time with your children as adults is indeed very special, though I couldn’t tell from the photo who was the mom and who was the daughter..:)
    Have fun!

  7. BoomingOn says:

    How wonderful it is when our kids end up being our best friends!

    • Lynn says:

      It is, isn’t it? We spend so many years preparing them for adulthood, being the parent. Although we continue to be parents until the day we die, there is something relaxing about enjoying our children as adults & getting to know each other on a whole new playing field.

      Thank you so much for your visit today!

  8. Have a fabulous trip. Mother/daughter time is the best!! Can’t wait to see pictures. Karen

  9. susielindau says:

    Sounds like a great time to bond and have some amazing adventures. Love the cute picture of both of you!

  10. roseanna vachon says:

    How exciting. Have a wonderful trip. I head to Namibia, Botswana and Zimbabwe next August.

    Sent from my Samsung Galaxy smartphone.

  11. Karen says:

    Have a wonderful time girls…can’t wait for the pics and Posts! Safe travels my friend xox

  12. How special and with your daughter too! My husband and I did a similar trip to South Africa with our then 26 year old son – memories for a lifetime! Looking forward to following but remember that blogging should never take time away from your trip and you can always catch us up when you get back!

    • Lynn says:

      How wonderful you were able to that trip together! I will definitely heed your advice in making sure I am embracing every moment of this experience together!

  13. Al says:

    Sounds wonderful and hope you have a wonderful experience. We were just in Amsterdam in June. You will love it. I understand South Africa is beautiful…..looking forward to some pics.

    • Lynn says:

      I understand Amsterdam is a beautiful city to explore. Unfortunately our time there is fairly limited but we hope to take in a little bit of the city during our brief visit. Thanks of the visit Al!

  14. Wow! Have a fabulous time. Also, a wonderful picture of you and your daughter.

  15. Sounds wonderful Lynn.We are planning to have a holiday possibly in Sicily with our adult daughters but it is so hard to get everyone’s adult work calendars to sync for holidays. Enjoy your time together and yes I’ll join you. Look forward to the posts.Louise

    • Lynn says:

      Yes, those adult calendars can definitely be a challenge. I hope that your family is able to coordinate schedules & take that trip to Sicily! What a fun experience that would be!

      Thanks for your good wishes Louise & for the company😉

  16. Heyjude says:

    What a lovely photo of you both. it is always a joy to spend time with our adult children, my daughter and I are planning a getaway for her 40th birthday this year, we had hoped to visit New York but it is proving to be a tad too expensive. Maybe I should take her to Cape Town (my home town for several years) but she only has 4 days and it is a long way to go for such a short time. Enjoy Africa, be safe and I do hope the weather is kind to you. And maybe you will get to see whales off the False Bay coast line. I look forward to seeing how it goes 🙂
    Jude xx

    • Lynn says:

      I am guessing it is the flights that would be quite costly to New York Jude? We stayed at an Airbnb when we visited New York which was fairly reasonable.

      I didn’t realize .

    • Lynn says:

      Sorry, the rest of my reply got cut off. I didn’t realize that Cape Town was your home for a period of time. I understand it is a breautiful city!

      • Heyjude says:

        Not so much the city, but the surrounding peninsula. The mountain of course, the beaches, the vineyards… where are you staying?

      • Lynn says:

        We are staying in Camp’s Bay, about a block walk from the beach😬

      • Heyjude says:

        Oh, the “posh” side of the mountain. Don’t bother dipping your toes in the ocean – it is freezing on that side! Even in summer! Do make sure you go up the mountain at the first opportunity, if the wind comes in or the clouds then the cable car stops running, and you wouldn’t want to miss that view from the top 🙂

        If you have time then look on my Travel Words for my SA posts: https://smallbluegreenwords.wordpress.com/road-trips/

      • Lynn says:

        Thanks for the heads up on the ocean! Sounds like the weather is cooler there this time of year anyway so will definitely not be taking a dip! A hike up the mountain is on our list, weather permitting. I have heard that view is spectacular. Perhaps when I am waiting for my flight today, I will have some time to read your posts. Thanks so much for all of the info😉

  17. paintdigi says:

    Fine posts. nice blog .. Congratulations. …
    Welcome to see my creations: http://www.paintdigi.WordPress.com

  18. Ann Coleman says:

    How wonderful! Enjoy! And I can’t wait to hear all about it.

  19. restlessjo says:

    Oh, Lynn! Sounds like a dream come true! Enjoy every second of your precious together time. 🙂 🙂

  20. Peta Kaplan says:

    I too just love my three grown sons company more than anyone else! So happy woth the young men they have become.

    Enjoy South Africa, its my birth place. I lived there until I emigrated to the U.S. at age 19. I am spoilt because of it and have super high standards for beaches that are unrealistic!! Enjoy!

    Peta

    • Lynn says:

      It’s a great feeling to look at your grown children & truly like the people they have become, isn’t it Peta?

      Thanks for your good wishes. We are looking so forward to exploring a bit of this beautiful part of the world. 💛

  21. LB says:

    I was wondering when this trip was happening! I remember when you mentioned it a few months ago. Please, please, please share a few stories and photos along the way (if you can find a moment).
    Sending good thoughts, wishes for safe travels, and even more wishes for fun with your daughter!
    Love the photo 🙂

  22. Yes, I’d love to join you – virtually, of course. So true what you say about our adult children. We hope they love being with us, as much as we love being with them!

  23. I’m not a parent Lynn, but I can imagine how enjoyable and rewarding it must be to see your children grow up to be adults that you want to spend time with (and vice versa). We haven’t been to S. Africa but from everything that I’ve read you’re in for a treat (a safari perhaps?). And Amsterdam will be a wonderful place for jet lag recovery and a couple of snorts of genièvre. Find a restaurant that serves sole; nobody does it like the Dutch. BTW, you have a lovely daughter: good genes I suspect. Have a wonderful time! ~James

    • Lynn says:

      James, it has been a wonderful adventure! Our last day is tomorrow so we are finishing up with a wine tour of some of the local vineyards here in Stellenbosch. Will have some writing to do upon my return home!

  24. Paul says:

    Awesome – have a great adventure Lynn!

  25. Pingback: South Africa – Cape Town – Getting Settled | Life After 50

Please don't be shy, feel free to get in on the conversation & leave a reply!

