Sharing the Load

Every now & again, we are reminded of the random acts of kindness of strangers.

My run to Costco this morning included picking up 10 over sized cases of water for an upcoming cycling event, our annual Ride4UnitedWay .  If you live in the GTA area, you should check it out!  It’s a fantastic day on the bike!

After loading the cases of water into my cart (in heels & a dress), it took a bit of a shove to get the cart moving.

Similar to a roller coaster gaining momentum, once I got rolling, there was no stopping me.  Weaving my way through apparent starving Costco customers haphazardly making their way to food samples, I safely maneuvered myself to the cash without taking anyone out.

I even managed to grab a 4 cheese perogi on my way!  Impressive, right?

Approaching the receipt checking security lady, she nicely asked if I needed assistance loading my wares into my car but in true stubborn, “I can do it myself” form, I politely declined.

Confession – I am not very good at asking for help!

As I pushed my loaded down cart full of water out into the 5000 degree heat wave that seems to never end here this summer, I began to second guess my decision to decline a bit of muscle.

Rolling across the parking lot, I then started chastising myself for being so damn independent. Whether it was the fact that I was talking to myself or the fact that I was breaking into a sweat just thinking about unloading the cases, I heard a voice say, “would you like some help loading those into your car?”

A good Samaritan & his son took pity on me, transferring all 10 cases into my trunk.  It was probably the fact that I was wearing heels & they were having a “what was she thinking?” moment but regardless, I was not going to decline help twice!

Sweat rolling down their faces, I sincerely thanked them for their random kindness, making a mental note in my air conditioned car to ensure I pay that kindness forward today.

So my friends, it appears chivalry is not dead, nor is the kindness of strangers.  We just don’t hear about it often enough.

Wishing you a happy day!

Hugs,

L

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

29 Responses to Sharing the Load

  1. Sue Slaght says:

    What a happy story this is Lynn. We hear so much negativity these days about hate. I believe that small acts of kindness such as these could become epidemic. I chuckled atth sight of you trailing behind your monster cart and grabbing the perogies on the fly. have fun on the ride and I hope your bike doesn’t melt in a puddle in the 5000 degree heat!

    • Lynn says:

      You are so right Sue. We need to share more of these little good news stories to recognise that there really are good things that happen on a day to day basis!

      I am very good at multitasking, especially when there are perogies involved!

  2. I like to believe that people are inherently good. It was smart to finally let someone help you. But why were you shopping in heels and a dress? That sounds very Southern (as long as you also had lipstick). Karen

    • Lynn says:

      I share your belief Karen. There are so many good news stories that happen every single day, random acts of kindness that go unrecognised.

      I hadn’t planned on picking these up today but as luck would have it, that’s where I ended up!

      My lipstick may have worn off on my perogi!

  3. joannesisco says:

    This post made me smile – not only the image of heels in Costco wielding a super cart full of water, but also the kindness of people. These are the little things that help us survive with our sanity intact. We need more of those stories to counteract the ugliness and negativity that seems to get so much attention.

    … and for God’s sake, would someone please turn down the thermostat already!!

    • Lynn says:

      You gotta love a girl who can wield a cart full of cases of water!

      The heat this summer is relentless, isn’t it Joanne? Think I better take myself to South Africa for a little cool down!

      • joannesisco says:

        I’m sure you’re counting down the days!!
        The good news is I can finally ‘swim’ in the pool. I use that word loosely … it resembles more of an awkward dog-paddle. Figures it would be the hottest summer yet and I haven’t been able to swim :/

      • Lynn says:

        Yay, that’s awesome! Grab yourself a noodle & just float around in the water to keep cool!

      • joannesisco says:

        Up until about a week or so ago, hanging onto a noodle wasn’t an option. It’s surprising the things you discover you can’t do when you can’t lift your arm … think six weeks of bad hair!

      • Lynn says:

        I feel your pain sister!

  4. Paul says:

    Great to hear the positive things sometimes Lynn -Thank You for sharing.

  5. restlessjo says:

    Good guys! 🙂 🙂 I know exactly what you mean, Lynn, and I do it all the time too. No thanks, I’m fine seems to slip out and then I end up muttering under my breath, why couldn’t you just smile and say thanks! 🙂 Happy biking!

  6. Ann Coleman says:

    Thanks for sharing a story that reminds us that there are still plenty of good people in the world!

  7. Totally get the “I can do it myself” thing but I’m so glad you then encountered some kindness from strangers. In a world filled with news of the truly appalling and horrible, this was a lovely story to hear.
    (Just to put it in perspective, is a 5000 degree heatwave what we would call a bit of a warmish day?)

    • Lynn says:

      A 5000 degree heat wave is what we Canadians in southern Ontario have been experiencing since May. The result is sweating in places I didn’t even know you can sweat from😬 It has been relentless! So much for living in a country where people think we live in igloos!😂

  8. Cheryl Marsh says:

    [😊]Sounds too familiar!

    xo

    Cheryl Marsh

    ________________________________

  9. LB says:

    Lynn, you sure offered quite the visual of you pushing that loaded down cart to the cash register 🙂 Very glad that another person offered help AND that you accepted that help.
    I visited the link about the ride. Hopefully you’ll have time to post about it.
    Hope it’s a success!

    • Lynn says:

      Thanks Laurie. I hadn’t thought about writing about the ride as it is a work event. Will see if I feel inspired after that 12-14hr day😘

  10. Ahdad says:

    Dude and I would have certainly helped you too…at a price off course.

  11. Paul says:

    As an aside Lynn, I did another guest post over at Mark Bialczak’s https://markbialczak.com/2016/08/21/harry/ If you have time to drop by, I would be honored. Thank You

  12. I always enjoy random acts of kindness like this – thanks for sharing😊

Please don't be shy, feel free to get in on the conversation & leave a reply!

