Shove Over, I’m Moving In!

With the arrival of spring,  comes the never ending flurry of activity of our feathered friends.  It is a busy time of year as they return from the sunny south, seeking out residence once again in our more northern parts.

There is a constant chatter as they gather, feed & protect their babies.

I’m not sure if it’s the mothers or the babies, but the tweeting starts in the wee hours of the morning, often waking me at 4am as I listen to them outside my window.  It’s an arduous job being a parent to such little creatures, rising before dawn & putting in a very long day.

One of the most peculiar things I find about this species, is the random spots they seem to chose to take up residence & raise their babies.   It seems that once their prime piece of real estate is chosen, they take a “shove over, I’m moving in” kind of philosophy!

Have you ever attempted to discourage a bird from building a nest?  Regardless of how many times you might gently try to deconstruct their work, urging them to build in a safer neighbourbood, they are persistent to say the least!

Take this robin who decided to build a nest for her babies in the wreath on my friend’s front door.  Despite their attempts to dissuade her, Mama was relentless in her construction.  Eventually my friend gave up, removing the wreath from their door, carefully placing it in a quieter area of their front porch so that Mama could go about her business.  Talk about a birds eye view!

untitled

Beautiful blue eggs waiting to be hatched

Fuzzy little beings

Fuzzy little beings

Or how about this mother dove who took up residence in the forsythia bush outside my daughter’s front entrance.  She sure foiled their plans of pruning this shrub, thinking it looked like just the right spot to snuggle in with her newborns.  She had little fear of sharing the space with her human friends.  I think she must of known she was in good company.

We need a bigger house!

We need a bigger house!

This mom takes the cake, as she decided the plant section at the local Canadian Tire was the perfect place to raise her babies.  She may have been on to something, as I suspect her babies stood a better chance than many, of being protected until they could find their wings & fly.

20160601_195645

Yes, that’s a parking lot right behind the fence

20160601_195700

A little crowded but certainly nice & toasty!

I love that in each of these circumstances, regardless of the intrusion, nature won over the hearts of the humans.  A gentle reminder that life is precious & we must care for one another, even if it is the tiniest of beings.

Have you ever shared your living space with a bird?

Wishing you a happy weekend!

Hugs,

L💛

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

40 Responses to Shove Over, I’m Moving In!

  1. Patti Barrie says:

    Silly me, I thought you wanted the pics for something you were doing for the shower!

    P

    Sent from my iPad

  2. Lynn, we’ve shared a few spaces with birds, and it’s great fun to watch. A dove established a nest in a small tree which was literally inches from our kitchen window. Mom was totally indifferent to our presence on the other side of the glass, so we had a wonderful view to watch the daily activities and progress. However, in our experience, not all birds are so brave or oblivious. Cardinals are incredibly sensitive to humans, and if you want them to hang around, don’t even think of approaching the nest. It will be abandoned immediately. We have cardinals nesting in a bush in front of our house now, but luckily, it’s so dense that the nest is well hidden, and they seem to be getting on with the program. ~James

    • Lynn says:

      James, that has been my experience as well. Mama robins & Mama doves appear to co-exist quite well within close range to us humans. We have a pair of cardinals that come to our feeder, we usually hear them before we see them. When they land on the feeder, we turn into statues so as not to scare them off😬

  3. We have gently discouraged nests above a light on our front stoop and after several attempts we won. They moved to a corner of our porch instead, which was much better for everyone. Now we can listen to them peep, without scaring them every time we open the door.

  4. Wonderful pictures, great close-ups. Such innocence. 🙂
    I’ve had robins and a dove build nest in the eaves trough, beneath the front door mailbox and in a tree in the backyard. The robins were persistent and scolded and scolded. The dove, I didn’t know about until she’d laid her eggs. ❤ ❤ ❤

    • Lynn says:

      Tess, it sounds like you have experienced a number of nests in & around your home. I think we have a pair of doves nesting in the top of our cedar hedge right now. We’ll know shortly when the babies leave the nest. Thanks for visiting 😘

  5. Sherri says:

    Oh Lynn, I love that these little feathered friends found their way into human hearts too! What gorgeous photos. How wonderful to have a robin in the wreath, and then the doves too at your daughter’s…wow! I would love to have a robin’s nest in my garden. I did once, but a neighbour’s cat got to it while we were away, I was devestated. Looking at those tiny blue eggs brings back such happy memories of when I was little and my dad took me for walks in the woods and we found a nest with those very same little robin’s eggs 🙂 We had House Martins nest in the eaves of our house for a couple of years when we first moved. They made one heck of a mess on the windows and with their racaous chattering. They breed twice so stayed from April to late September and in all that time, we couldn’t even open our bedroom windows as they nested right above them! Our cats went mad as you can imagine!! But what can you do? They are on the endangered list here in the UK so we discovered so we felt priviliged to have them choose our house. I’m so sorry I haven’t been able to visit you for so long. Blogging is very intermittent for me these days with a lot going on and still trying to finish my memoir, but I wanted to pop in say hello and also to wish you a lovely weekend. See you soon Lynn! 🙂 xo

    • Lynn says:

      Sherri, how nice to have you visit! Not to worry, life does get busy & sometimes we just can’t fit everything in!

      It’s so funny how we modify our surroundings when these little creatures take up residence, isn’t it! Not opening windows, exiting alternative doors so as not disturb the nest!

      So very lovely to hear from you today my friend! I hope you are well❤️

      • Sherri says:

        Ahh…thanks Lynn! Lovely to see you again too my friend. I’m hanging in there…hope all is well with you 🙂 ❤

  6. bethanyk says:

    Love these pictures!

    • Lynn says:

      Thank you so much. To be honest, none of them were taken by me. The first set is from our friends & the last two sets via our daughter. Thanks for popping by!

  7. We have three visible bird’s nests on our property. One is abandoned from last year, but, we keep the nest there, as it is so much fun to see from our guest room window. One is a large one in our gazebo rafters and one that has little eggs in it is under the covering for our propane tank. We also have frogs that have started to inhabit our pool covering. We have yet to uncover our pool and nightly the frogs come out and croak all night long. We tried to sit out on our screen porch and it was too loud to talk, it actually hurt our ears! Great photos and post!

    • Lynn says:

      I often wonder if birds reuse their nests. We had some grackles build a nest in one of our tall shrubs outside our family room & we are pretty certain she came back to use it once again this year. Either that or some mother thought, why build one when there is a perfectly good nest right here!

      I love that you can listen to the frogs croaking although I am sure at certain times of the year, it can get quite noisy! When we first moved into our home, we had a number of resident toads but we don’t seem to get them anymore. I am not certain why🙁

  8. Sue Slaght says:

    Oh Lynn these are all marvellous! A nest in the wreath? I think that Momma bird was a bit sleep deprived. Perhaps she knew of your friend’s kindness. Once we had a baby Robin fall out of the best from a tree in our backyard. Momma Robin managed to get it into a bush right under our kitchen window. Then she maintained to homes for her babies for a week or so. It was so fascinating to watch!

    • Lynn says:

      They are fascinating to watch, aren’t they Sue? Mama robins seem to be very resourceful. I am not certain what all the commotion was out in our yard this morning but one of our resident robins was certain giving someone an earful!

  9. Jodi says:

    it won over my heart too!!! 🙂 ❤

  10. Paul says:

    Great pictures and comments Lynn. I’ve seen birds establish nests in the most unexpected places. I used to work as transportation manager for Giant Tiger (on Walkley). I had a mail box with a locked lid and a slot in the side for drivers to deposit truck keys after hours. The lock was the same one as we used on the rear of all our trailers so every driver had a key and could open it and take out truck keys if they were leaving after hours. All thought this was a great idea. Early one morning I arrived at work and truck keys were scattered all down the sidewalk and in the grass. Upset, I checked the box and it was still locked. Thinking it must have been mischief, I gathered up all the keys and opened the box to put them in. As the top of the box opened, a bird flew out with a key in its beak and dropped the key as it went down the sidewalk. Inside was a partially built nest. I had the maintenance dept narrow the slot and it kept out the birds.

    At the same warehouse,one of the pickers found a robin’s nest in the dishtowels. We put up a sign and let them stay as long as they wanted. For weeks, the pickers worked around the birds and it didn’t bother them at all.

    Great post Lynn

  11. joannesisco says:

    Oh Lynn, I loved this post. We see a lot of bird activity in our backyard, but few stay over for any length of time now that Theo has taken up residence. I remember their tenacity in building nests in odd and unlikely places, but your 3 examples are in a category of their own!!
    I love the photo of the nest in the wreath with those distinctive blue eggs.

    With my Dutch visitors here I’ve learned something new – the European Robin is much smaller than her North American cousin. They are quite taken with the size of our robins!

    • Lynn says:

      I am picturing Theo up on his perch on top of the fence looking very majestic! I can understand why the birds respect his presence in your yard. Hope you are having a wonderful visit with your visitors. They certainly have had stellar weather!

      • joannesisco says:

        Thanks Lynn … we’ve been so lucky in the weather department. Even today’s rain is happily met because we planned a much needed rest day.
        I’m starting to drag …

      • Lynn says:

        Yes, I am certain you will be glad to get back to your normal routine.

      • joannesisco says:

        I certainly will! My cousin and her husband flew out last night and I hope to settle back into a more normal routine very quickly. Sleeping in late this morning felt so wonderful! 🙂

  12. Ann Coleman says:

    I love watching the birds raise their babies! When I was a teenager, we had a pair of birds make a nest in our carport several years in a row. Although cleaning the bird droppings off our cars was a pain, we were still glad to see them and watch the progress of the babies. We even named the parents “Henry and Henrietta!”

    • Lynn says:

      That’s so funny Ann. We usually have a pair of doves each year in our yard & like your Henry & Henrietta, they leave their poop all over the patio as they wander around watching their young one. We just keep dragging the hose out to wash it down!😆

  13. restlessjo says:

    Heartwarming stories, Lynn. 🙂 Seems like there are lots of patient humans out there.

  14. LB says:

    Such a fun post, and I’m so glad that the business owner displayed to keep the birds safe.
    This year’s unexpected location was my wrapped up garden hose which was hanging on the wall of the carport.
    Sadly … something got to them.

    • Lynn says:

      Oh dear Laurie, unfortunately that seems to happen to a number of babies in the next. I guess it is just nature but it disturbing nonetheless.

  15. I must say the robin eggs are beautiful. It’s fun to watch them hatch and fledge. We have doves in our yard and hummingbirds.

  16. Peta Kaplan says:

    Love bird watching! Whike in Myanmar a dove made her home on our balcony and we woukd listen for the babies as she brought the food back. We got wuite protective and had the hotel make sure that the next guests would not bother the nest by alerting them to its presence.

    Those blue eggs are pretty gorgeous!

    • Lynn says:

      Doves seem to be quite bold when it comes to nesting, don’t they. We have a pair nesting in our cedar hedge just beside our patio. They are quite comical to watch!

Please don't be shy, feel free to get in on the conversation & leave a reply!

