Rough landing!

Don’t judge me for my dirty windows.  Spring has finally sprung but I have yet to complete the task of cleaning all of our windows😋

Some poor bird came in for a rough landing today.  YIKES! I think a few more flying lessons might be in order!

bird

The good news is, there were no dead bodies discovered below the window.

I suspect just one bird with a really bad headache somewhere, most likely snuggled down in his/her nest, sleeping it off!

Have a great weekend & fly safe!

Hugs,

L

In response to the Daily Prompt, Shadow

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

41 Responses to Rough landing!

  1. That bird does need extra practice especially since you held off washing the windows and he still crashed into them ;-D 😀 😀 Happy weekend to you.

  2. Debbie says:

    Hi Lynn. Guess what. We’ve had a matching silouette on our windows for about a month now. Same thing… no body. Whew!
    I’ve learned to keep one set of sheers or blinds closed so that they don’t think they can fly through the house! An added advantage to that ploy is that it cuts down the heat of the sun through the day.
    Every evening, now that it’s light out, I see that silouette and plan to wash the window the next day. But then there’s work, or shopping, or the gardening beckons…. 😉
    Debbie

    • Lynn says:

      Oh dear, it seems there are many bird pilots in training!😗 We do tend to close our blinds in the heat of the summer but this time of year, I welcome the light. I may have to rethink my strategy!

  3. Nancy says:

    I feel bad for the poor bird (headache and all) but it’s a pretty cool effect, like angel wings. I don’t think you should wash those window ever again. Just sayin’ 😊

    • Lynn says:

      I was so shocked when I saw it Nancy! You are right, it does kind of look like angel wings. Perhaps there is a bigger message here!

  4. momshieb says:

    Whoah! What a great image you caught, though! Hoping that the bird is out there telling all his friends about how he sacrificed himself for his art…….

    • Lynn says:

      I can only imagine the bird chatter in the nesr,. “You think you had a bad day! You won’t believe the evidence I left behind of my poor skills!”😂

  5. Paul says:

    Hmmm, It looks like an angel tried to get in. 😀

  6. joannesisco says:

    My first reaction on seeing the photo was angel wings too.
    Be careful out there Lynn. Your guardian angel may not be firing on all cylinders right now 😉

  7. Al says:

    That’s an incredible picture! The reason there was no body is because it’s probably in bird jail being charged with FUI.

  8. Heyjude says:

    What an amazing ‘angel’ imprint on your window! And now I have the Led Zep song “Dazed and Confused” running through my head.

  9. Ann Coleman says:

    I can’t believe how perfect the imprint from the bird is on your window! Maybe you shouldn’t wash them after all….

    • Lynn says:

      I couldn’t believe it either Ann! We have had birds crash into the window before but have never left this kind of an imprint. Couldn’t help but take a picture of that one!

  10. Sue Slaght says:

    Oh dear perhaps you will see a wee bird flying with a helmet in the future. That is an incredible imprint. My windows haven’t been cleaned either. 🙂

  11. Yikes that bird make quite the impression!

  12. LB says:

    That is an incredible silhouette! and unfortunately, means a hard hit. Yikes!
    No judgment about the windows … mine are worse, I assure you.

    • Lynn says:

      Ha, apparently we are in good company Laurie! Seems like there are a number of us who have not yet washed our windows…lol…

  13. It’s funny that you just posted this Lynn, because a couple of days ago, a female cardinal flew into our living room window at full-tilt boogie. I think that this particular bird might be nesting nearby, so maybe this had something to do with it. Whatever it is, it’s painful to watch. BTW, you may have noticed that things have been quiet at Gallivance lately. Terri blew here knee out and had to have a total knee replacement surgery recently, so as you can imagine, her recovery and care have kept us both pretty busy. She’s progressing well, but it’s slow going. We haven’t forgotten about our friends and look forward to things getting back to normal. In the meantime, thanks for continuing to follow along. ~James

    • Lynn says:

      Oh no, poor Terri! I hope it doesn’t hold her back for too long!

      We too, have heard that loud bang at the window a number of times. We have bay windows top & bottom so there is a lot of window to hit😬Hope your female cardinal was ok. Such beautiful birds to have in your yard.❤️

      • Lynn, we have bay windows as well, and surprisingly, we heard another loud thump this AM. The poor bird left a few feathers stuck to the glass, and had to sit for about 45 minutes under a holly bush to recover. Somehow your post has started a new trend at our house. ~James

      • Lynn says:

        Oh dear! I sure hope not!

  14. Sheryl says:

    The poor bird. . . I was just thinking yesterday about how when I was in my 20’s I used to wash my windows first thing in the spring, now it will be amazing if I get them washed before the snow flies again. 🙂

    • Lynn says:

      That’s funny Sheryl! I am not certain I have ever been that great at getting them all done first thing in the spring! Thanks for visiting 😉

  15. Probably the other birds are sharing footage of the impact on YouTube and killing themselves laughing.

  16. Good thing your window was dirty. Saved him. Can’t you just see him trying to put on the brakes.

  17. Cheryl Marsh says:

    :)( we had one of these once!

    xo

    Cheryl Marsh

    ________________________________

Please don't be shy, feel free to get in on the conversation & leave a reply!

