Birds of a Feather

One of the unexpected surprises that comes from writing a blog, is the forming of friendships across the globe. Through sharing our life experiences, our adventures and our stories, we develop a kinship with many of our fellow writers.

For those of us old enough to remember the days of having a pen pal, it is a similar kind of experience.  Getting to know someone through the process of writing.  Some we may never meet face to face, but occasionally an opportunity presents itself to meet in person.

This past weekend created just such an opportunity.  I had the pleasure of connecting with two of my favourite bloggers, Sue from Travels Tales of Life & Joanne from My Life Lived Full.

img_0273

Joanne, me, Dave & Sue sharing a delicious lunch at Terroni’s.

There is something wonderful about meeting someone & realizing they are exactly the people you had hoped they would be.  Genuine & kind, generous in spirit, inquisitive & loving what life presents to them.  These are just a few of the words that come to mind when I think of these delightful people

Birds of a Feather.

IMG_0276

I suspect this trio could get into trouble given more time together!

Thank you Sue, Dave & Joanne for taking the time to connect. I am so grateful for having had the chance to meet you & I certainly hope this is not the last time our paths will cross.

Perhaps there is a cycling adventure in our all of our future!  Joanne, we have a few dates planned to share some cycling time together as the summer progresses.  We will need it to keep up to these two!

IMG_0274

Thanks to our photographer Dave, for capturing this great shot!

Until we meet again my friends.

Hugs,

L

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

46 Responses to Birds of a Feather

  1. Ingrid says:

    Love it! Thank goodness Dave was there to keep an eye on you ladies 😆

    • Lynn says:

      He kept us all in check Ingrid, managing all 3 of our cameras in the park! What a delight to have had the opportunity to share some time together!

  2. Carolyn says:

    That’s an exciting experience Lynn! Good for you!!

  3. joannesisco says:

    What a perfect afternoon we had together!! Even if the weather hadn’t been so cooperative, our moods were sunny enough that it would have made up for it!

    You expressed it so well, Lynn. Non-bloggers don’t understand this connection we make with other bloggers near and far. Powerful friendships develop and our face-to-face this past weekend was evidence of that ❤

    I certainly hope we will be lucky enough to have more of these get-togethers in the future. We just may have to go to Sue and Dave next time 🙂

    • Lynn says:

      You are so right Joanne. There was so much sunshine at that table, enough to make even the dreariest of days feel bright! The fact that it was a stellar day weather wise only made the day even more perfect!

      Looking forward to our upcoming rides over the summer!

  4. dfolstad58 says:

    It is awesome when you can connect in person, and you did that albeit you had connected many times before in the heart.

    • Lynn says:

      Connecting in the heart is a perfect way to describe the relationship often shared here in our writing! Thanks for being a part of that community!

  5. Sue Slaght says:

    Lynn what a delight to find your post. We so loved our time with you and Joanne. It was as if the two of you just stepped out of my computer screen. As we talked about this meeting individuals from around the work through blogging is such a treasure. I hope our paths will cross again very soon! Xo

    • Lynn says:

      Sue, I chuckled when I read your comment. I have visions of someone uttering “TA DA” as Joanne & I rounded the corner of those stairs in search of you & Dave.

      I look so forward to meeting again if opportunity presents itself. Until then, enjoy the excitement of the next few months!

  6. Al says:

    Couldn’t agree more, I have met a few over the years. This summer we will be traveling to Europe and I have arranged a meet-up with no fewer than five bloggers in the UK that I have followed for some time. Very much looking forward to it!

  7. Val says:

    I am glad you got to meet each other, it’s a wonderful feeling, I know. And yes, blogging friendships are very like those of penfriends. I also met one of my long-standing online friends just recently and we’ve known each other for a decade having first ‘met’ all those years ago via our blogs.

    • Lynn says:

      How wonderful that you got to meet your long standing friend after a decade of knowing one another through your blogs. It is such an added bonus to meet such great people here in the blogosphere! Thanks for taking the time to visit today😃

  8. Oh, I want to be at that table! The smiles in those photos says it all. 🙂

    It’s the forming of friendships, the meeting of like minds, that I love most about blogging.

  9. bkpyett says:

    How wonderful to hear of like minds finding one another!

  10. What a great trio (and Dave!) of bloggers all in one place.

  11. julial213 says:

    Oh that is wonderful. Maybe sometime I’ll be that fortunate too. Glad you had such a special time.

  12. LB says:

    Oh this post makes me happy! What a joy for all of you to get together, to connect, to laugh. Great pictures, too!

  13. Nancy says:

    How wonderful, getting together and getting to know each other better. Lovely pictures.

    • Lynn says:

      Nancy, I am so grateful to be part of such a great network of people! Having the opportunity to meet in person is the icing on the cake!

  14. RuthsArc says:

    So true. One of the joys of blogging is the new friends we meet. Cool photo of you all peaking around the tree. Thanks for a happy, inspiring post. It just takes a little comment … Would you like to meet up for a coffee … and who knows where that will lead 🙂

    • Lynn says:

      It was not something I gave much thought to when I first started blogging Ruth. I have met so many wonderful people here as I am sure we all have. Thanks for stopping by today!

  15. Ann Coleman says:

    How great to get to meet some blogger friends!

  16. Jeff Bell says:

    That is so cool that you got to meet up. I agree that the relationships were something I never expected when I started blogging. Thanks for sharing.

  17. susielindau says:

    Looks like fun! I’ve met many blogger friends and would love to meet more! Let me know if you are ever in my neck of the woods. 🙂

  18. Heyjude says:

    Looks like a good time was had by all.I hate to mention this Lynn. but you appear to have a long pole sticking out of your head!
    😀

  19. Lynn says:

    Haha Jude! That dang CN Tower just gets in the way!

  20. badfish says:

    When I saw the first photo of all of you, I said…huh? Then read, and realized what you’d done. How so very COOL. I’ve never met another blogger like this.

  21. Paul says:

    So cool Lynn.

  22. Lynn, I can relate to this post. The aspect of contact with people across cyberspace has been an unexpected part of blogging for me too. I have said that it is like “pen pals on steroids.”
    I love the photo of the three of you behind the tree trunk. Louise

Please don't be shy, feel free to get in on the conversation & leave a reply!

