One of life’s amusing little moments!

In preparation of some upcoming day surgery, I paid a visit to the surgeon’s office to fill out all of the appropriate preoperative paperwork.

You can imagine my surprise when I was given the following instructions:

“Everything looks to be in good order.  No health concerns, no prior surgeries.  We just need you to go over to the lab to draw some blood, to ensure that you are not pregnant.”

WHAT?  Are you kidding me?

I am not certain whether I should have been flattered or offended.

Once I was able to regain my composure from laughing so hard, I proceeded to the lab, offering my paperwork to the lovely clerk sitting in front of me.  Trying to keep a very straight face, I explained I needed to have some blood work done to rule out the chance of being pregnant.

Suppressing the urge to spit out her coffee, she smiled kindly, & told me this is standard practice based on the number of women who have shown up for surgery, not realising they are pregnant.  She then went on to share that her very own mother had, in fact, found herself surprisingly expecting at the age of 40.

After we shared a chuckle over the surprise of her mother’s unexpected late pregnancy, I said to her, “I am 54 & in the midst of menopause.  If that blood work comes back positive, you might as well just cancel the surgery because I will most likely have fallen dead from a heart attack when you give me that news.”

No results have been called back indicating I am with child.  Fingers crossed I am still alive by next week!

Hugs,

L

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

40 Responses to One of life’s amusing little moments!

  1. 7daysatatyme says:

    I too have had a similar experience only with my Mum. I took her to the hospital for some tests some years back and we had to fill out some forms. So as Mum was in her 80’s then she asked me to fill out the forms. Of course when I came to the very same question I turned to my Mum and asked her in my very best joking like tone. She replied in her usual grumpy manner (she has dementia) and she turned to me and in her most disgusted and loud tone replied, “don’t be ridiculous! What’s the matter with you?” The waiting room occupants had some snickers and sympathetic looks for me. I guess I did walk into that as I could have just checked the no box. That’s when I realized her sense of humor was no more!

    She is still with us today at 92 and is bedridden but still able to talk somewhat. I am thankful that we are still making memories even if some are not so great.

    Darla

    • Lynn says:

      Oh Darla, that is so funny! I too, have had to ask my Mom of 80+ that question on a medical form. I usually ask her if there is any chance that I could be a brother or a sister?

      What surprised me this time was that I actually had to take a blood test to prove that I am not pregnant! As if my word was not proof enough!

      Thank you so much for taking the time to share your funny story. How wonderful your Mom of 92 is still with you. Take good care.

      • 7daysatatyme says:

        I was remiss in not wishing you good luck with your upcoming surgery. I’m sure all will go well. You sound like me in that the surgery isn’t my main concern the pain after is what I worry about and want easily controlled. As I’m a HUGE wimp and pain is my worst fear. I’ve learned to get the prescription from the doctor “before” the surgery so you don’t have to get it filled on the way home or wait for it after the surgery. Again good luck and it will be behind you before you know it. 😊

        Darla

      • Lynn says:

        Interestingly I actually have a pretty high pain tolerance Darla. I think my fear comes from the number of people I have spoken to who have shoulder surgery & describe how painful the first bit of recovery is.

        Thank you so much for you good wishes & the good advice!

  2. Karen says:

    Hahaha. Love this.

  3. susielindau says:

    Good luck with your new baby, I mean surgery!
    The less than urgent care doc asked me the same thing and I told her that was such a nice compliment! I guess anything is possible.

  4. Sue Slaght says:

    Oh that is hilarious Lynn! I would be with you having a cardiac arrest on the spot. Best wishes for the upcoming surgery. How are you feeling about it?

    • Lynn says:

      You & me both Sue! Feeling a little nervous, mostly about the pain after. I am sure it will all be fine but looking forward to getting over those first couple of weeks.

  5. I don’t think they do that here. I had three x-rays in hospital and each time the radiologist would check if I was pregnant (verbally) and take my word for it.

    Good luck with the surgery.

    • Lynn says:

      Yes, there are a number of times when I have been asked as well & once I tick the box with a no, that is the end of it. This is the first time I have actually been asked to provide blood work as a just in case!

      Thank you for the well wishes, much appreciated!

  6. If it turns out you are pregnant let me be the first to say congratulations.

  7. Cheryl Marsh says:

    🙂 hope all’s well; glad you found the brighter side! cheers, God Bless – look forward to seeing you this weekend! .. safe going today c xo

    Cheryl Marsh Date: Mon, 11 Jan 2016 23:26:37 +0000 To: clmavon@hotmail.com

  8. joannesisco says:

    I am at a loss for words.

    Good luck with both the blood work and the surgery … because I’m going to assume the surgery will go as planned 😉

  9. It sounds like good news/bad news Lynn. Good news: you aren’t pregnant. Bad news: you had to have surgery to find out. This funny episode reminds me of how I feel when I have a drink in a restaurant or go to the liquor store to buy booze – and they want to see my ID. My ID – REALLY! Best of luck with your upcoming surgery. ~James

    • Lynn says:

      Definitely good news James, from the pregnancy perspective!

      So funny that you got asked for ID at the liquor store James. A similar thing happened to my husband in an airport restaurant one time. They wouldn’t serve him or his buddies until they all produced their IDs, all of whom were in their 50s.

      Thank you of the well wishes. Take good care!

  10. Jimbo says:

    The first thought is Brian the men, or Brian Rabbit ( Brair Rabbit), you two need to find another hobby, to, is it Brians? It did give me my daily smile Thanks and Congrats Whatever the results are.

  11. I hope all goes well with the surgery… and I loved this post…having blood work at this age is almost as ridiculous being carded when you buy a bottle of wine. Of course now the snotty check out kids look up and laugh and continue to check my groceries! Wishing you the best. DAF

  12. RuthsArc says:

    Oh how funny. Thanks for sharing this gem and hope surgery goes well.

  13. These days 40 is a pretty normal age to be pregnant. Haven’t times changed… Hope everything went well for you.

  14. LB says:

    Oh yes, I order those tests all of the time. The oldest pregnant patient I’ve personally seen is 48! Glad you aren’t expecting! 🙂
    Healing thoughts!

  15. restlessjo says:

    Just occasionally I feel the urge to cuddle a newborn, Lynn 🙂 But absolutely never one of mine! Hope the surgery is swiftly over 🙂

  16. Pingback: From the sidelines | Life After 50

  17. Nancy says:

    Yeah, in your shoes, if that test came back positive, shoulder pain would have been the last of my worries!😳

Please don't be shy, feel free to get in on the conversation & leave a reply!

