In Good Company – A Ghostly Tale

Do you believe in ghosts?

Have you ever experienced the feeling that you are sharing the company of your departed loved ones?  Those moments when you sense such a strong presence, you feel that if you turned around, they would be sitting right there?

This has happened to me on a few occasions, the most recent one an encounter with my Dad.

Growing up, my relationship with my father was not what I would call ideal.  Sadly, his alcoholism prevented us from forming the kind of father/daughter relationship I so longed for.  But that is a post for another time.

What we did share together, was a love for music.

When the Pointer Sisters came on the music scene, my Dad thought they were awesome. He was enamoured with their sassy presence, their big shoulder pads & the way they stretched out the word FIRE !

I know, don’t judge me, or my Dad, for our taste in music was & is very eclectic.

My Dad could also be found frequenting jazz clubs in his earlier days with the likes of fellows like Duke Ellington, a love I seem to have inherited in my later years!

But I digress!  Back to my ghostly tale!  A few weeks ago, as I was driving in my car, a song came on the radio, instantly bringing a smile to my face & transporting me back to another time.  1984 to be exact.

The song was the Neutron Dance.  Some of you may recognize it from the film, Beverly Hills Cop.

As I cranked up the volume in the car & sat shakin’ my shoulders, channeling my inner Pointer Sister,  I could literally feel my Dad in the car with me.  The sensation was so strong, I found myself acknowledging his presence.

Speaking out loud, “I feel you here Dad & yes, they still sound awesome”, I could feel him smiling, happy to be sharing my company, if only for a brief moment in time.

Have you ever had an encounter with a departed loved one?  I would love to hear about it!

halloween-greeting-card_23-2147519110Happy Halloween!

Hugs,

 

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

30 Responses to In Good Company – A Ghostly Tale

  1. joannesisco says:

    In answer to your question – yes. Numerous times. I think it’s wonderful that it’s a happy experience for you and a shared love of music that brought your dad back.

    btw – I like the Pointer Sisters and I would be bopping in my seat to Neutron Dance too 😉

  2. Jodi says:

    I Love this Lynn! And your taste in music – haha! I don’t think I’ve ever had an experience with a lost loved one – but would be totally open to it! I do know, however, music can transport you IMMEDIATELY to a time and place! It’s crazy! I was just thinking that yesterday about a song that came to mind – now I can’t remember what the darn song was – lol!

    • Lynn says:

      Thank you Jodi. My taste in music is definitely broad & diverse, to say the least! It is funny how we can’t remember a song we just heard & yet if a song from years past comes on the radio, we remember every word!

  3. You’ve made me really think about this and it’s true that I too have had this sensation and usually around a shared memory I have of a loved one. You tell this story in such a warm, loving way in spite of any regrets you may still have – thanks for sharing this.

    • Lynn says:

      It is interesting Carol. I often wonder if we actually experience more of these but are just in tune (no pun intended) to them more, in certain circumstances.

      I so appreciate your kind words. There are definitely regrets but there was never a lack of knowing I was loved by my Dad, despite his addiction.

      Thank you for reading!

  4. Oh have I ever had that experience! An amazing and wonderful thing for sure! And…I’m on with you and your dad….Pointer Sisters….you are speaking my language! Neutron Dance only surpassed by Jump!

  5. restlessjo says:

    I don’t really think I’m sensitive to presences, Lynn, but I can imagine what a joyful time you and Dad must have shared. Fantastic that he gets a ‘second chance’ to make you happy. 🙂

    • Lynn says:

      What a sweet thing to say Jo. Alcoholism is so crippling to families, it is a disease that has impacted my life in many ways. Although we had our challenges, there was never a doubt in my mind of how much my Dad loved me. Your comment touched my heart my friend.

  6. Sue Slaght says:

    I have never had such an experience Lynn. It warms my heart to read of yours. For you to have such a connection with your Dad even though you had challenges makes me think the experience left you with a lot of positive energy.

    • Lynn says:

      Sue, it’s funny how some of the most difficult challenges we face in life, define who we become as human beings. I truly believe at the end of the day, we make our own choices as to how we view things, whether that be positive or negative. We can chose to wallow in the negatively or we can learn from it & move forward. Positive energy is infectious, negative energy, not so much!

  7. Ahdad says:

    Music is an amazing medium that can teleport you back in time and memory to a place where you’ve heard a specific song. I’m not saying it’s NOT your dad, I’m just saying music takes me on trips in time very often. And by the way…FIRE is the best Pointer Sister song by far!

    • Lynn says:

      i so agree Pieter! Music drums up such emotion in us & has the ability to transport us to another place in time in a heartbeat. I had forgotten you liked the Pointer Sisters! Well sir, you just moved up a few notches in my books!

  8. Lynn, these tales always raise a few goosebumps for me. I believe in spirits, but alas, have never had an encounter of my own. But from accounts like your’s and a few friends of mind, I know they’re out there. And if the Neutron Dance can’t raise the dead, nothing can. ~James

  9. Jay says:

    My mother always claimed her grandfather’s ghost inhabited our first home, a family home. Not at all in a scary way – she just heard his footsteps on the stairs and felt his presence when she was alone with me, a baby. She was very comforted by it.

    • Lynn says:

      How interesting Jay. I have a couple of friends who have actually had an experience with “seeing” ghosts. I have not, it is more of a feeling of a presence. Thanks for stopping by today & sharing your story.

  10. LB says:

    Neutron Dance! At 8 mos pregnant, I danced to that song. Love it! so much energy.
    While I’m not sure that I recall having an experience like yours, I’m so glad you have positive memories (and visits) of your father.

  11. badfish says:

    I felt your inner Pointer Sister while reading this!

  12. Kiri says:

    I feel I see signs fairly regularly, but maybe because I want to! Stevie Wonder’s Isn’t she lovely was always my song for Zoe (we played it at her funeral too) and now when I hear it unexpectedly I feel it is a sign. Most memorably, the year after Zoe died I went to Europe, partly to affirm that I was choosing to live and live well. On my first day there, in Budapest, I went to a cafe that had been an upmarket department store in the 1930s, a stunning space with frescoes on the ceiling. There was a man playing a grand piano and while I was drinking their homemade lemonade and I was virtually the only one there, he started playing it. A magic moment.

    • Lynn says:

      This is definitely a magic moment Kiri. Whether it is a sign sought out or one that just occurs, it reminds you of your beautiful daughter. Thank you so much for reading & for sharing your experience.

Please don't be shy, feel free to get in on the conversation & leave a reply!

