A+ for Autumn

Autumn is the time of year when Mother Nature seemingly picks up her paintbrush, creating a spectacular canvas of brilliant colour for our eyes to behold.

Gorgeous hues of reds, oranges & golds adorn our trees, leaving us awestruck in their beauty.

leaves-1

A beautiful display of autumn colour along a country road

As I stood at the kitchen window today, watching my husband rake up the leaves in the yard, I couldn’t help but remember the sound of our children’s laughter as they spent endless hours gleefully jumping in the piles of leaves their Dad had just spent so much time raking.

Scan0017.1

My precious munchkins, many years ago!

Scan0016.1

A favourite shot of my son, captured as he played in the leaves.

As Mother nature prepares to settle in for her long winter nap, I am hoping for just a few more beautiful autumn days.  To enjoy the warmth of the sunshine & the chance to venture into her woods a few more times, taking in the smell & the beauty of this season.

IMG-20151018-00513

Mother Nature’s doorstep

Crunching through the leaves, there is wonder all around us, creating beautiful images if we only take the time to stop long enough to have a look.

The squirrels & birds are frantically preparing to hunker down for the long winter, storing food & preparing for shelter.

Autumn is my favourite time of year.  As with nature slowing down for the winter months ahead, it seems to be a time when I don’t feel quite so guilty about curling up on the sofa with a good book & a cozy blanket, enjoying the warmth & smell of the wood burning fireplace, perhaps even indulging myself in a little nap.

I give it an A+!  How about you?

Wishing you a wonderful week ahead.

Hugs,

L

https://festivalofleaves.wordpress.com/

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

32 Responses to A+ for Autumn

  1. karen says:

    My absolute favorite season!!!!

  2. Definitely an A+ from me too! Best!

  3. As you say – finding the beauty all around us is easy if we take the time – so nice to have the time in my Autumn years. Lovely post.

    • Lynn says:

      Thank you so much for your visit today. There is so much beauty surrounding us but it seems most days we are so busy running from one place to the next, we fail to see it. I love that you have time in your “Autumn years”!

  4. Ingrid says:

    Definitely an A+. Love that first photo but have to admit, there’s nothing better than seeing the kids having a fun time!

    • Lynn says:

      We have some little ones next door to us Ingrid. I have watched them every day when I come home from work, raking leaves on their front yard & jumping in them. I just love hearing them have such fun playing outside!

  5. joannesisco says:

    No disagreement from me!! Definitely A+.

    I’m trying to take advantage of this weather and get out for as much hiking as possible before the snow starts to fly. The sun peaking through the golden leaves while on the trail is breathtaking!

    I love the photos of your munchkins in the leaves. Is there a child who doesn’t love to play in leaves?!!

    Hope you have a great week too!

    • Lynn says:

      It is such a beautiful time of year to hike, isn’t it?

      As a child I can remember spending hours making forts on our front lawn with the leaves. Such fun & no fancy toys involved!

      • joannesisco says:

        Playing in leaves wasn’t something I remember doing much of when we were kids. We lived north of the deciduous tree line so there weren’t a lot of leaves around.
        … but I have to admit that when I came South, I loved kicking through leaves. Still do actually 😉

  6. A+ for your post and photos, Lynn.

  7. Deb Patrick says:

    Have been enjoying every minute of it that I can!

  8. Tammy says:

    ..another lovely read Lynn! I have to admit I do miss the red leaves, we don’t have maples in the west, awesome pictures too!

  9. Autumn is a good season. Could be great if not for all the raking and yard work. Doesn’t it know I have football to watch?

  10. restlessjo says:

    Glorious colour, Lynn! 🙂 I especially like that ‘delicate’ shot. I was admiring some just this afternoon, wondering if I could get a good one. Every second of warmth and sunshine is precious right now, isn’t it? Enjoy!

    • Lynn says:

      I was so pleased with that shot Jo. It is a gorgeous time of year to wander about, enjoying the fresh air & beautiful colours. Thanks for popping by!

  11. Debbie says:

    The colours are lasting a long time here, tree by tree. In fact, here it is the 26th of October, and there are still green deciduous around!
    We were just talking about how, on Hallowe’en, we used to think of the bony hands of trees, and there aren’t many around here yet!
    I love that photo of the kids. We have similar pics of our kids in leaves too; walking on hiking trails in their brightly-coloured raincoats with mitts and hats; buried in leaves at a grandparent’s house; finding something special on a walk in the leaves; feeding an apple to the neighbour’s horse up the lane… Squeezing between fenceposts up at Grampa’s lane with Mom when we were expecting the twins [yeah, bigger earlier with twins 😉 ] …There are such wonderful memories attached to the coloured-leaf time of year!!!
    This month, as I drive across town to get to work, I find myself smiling joyfully, and I realize that it is from my pure enjoyment of the show of leaves.
    So I am doubly glad that YOU take your CAMERA with you when you are out and about! Thank you for this lovely post, Lynn!
    Debbi

    • Lynn says:

      Debbie, thank you so much for your kind & thoughtful words. Such wonderful memories created from the simplest of activities. I too, have noticed that the colour on the trees seem to be hanging on a wee bit longer than usual. Here’s hoping we get a few more beautiful fall days before the bitter cold sets in!

  12. Sue Slaght says:

    Lynn your photos are gorgeous. The reds of eastern Canada are something \I try my best not to be envious about. I typically am not sentimental about my kids being grown but there is something about the crunching of leaves underfoot that tugs at my early maternal heart strings.
    As far as loving autumn, well I have post coming up to discuss the matter. It’s all in good fun but let’s say my take on the whole things is not quite so joyous. 🙂

  13. Lynn, you truly captured the essence of Autumn – a definite A+. The photos of your children certainly reminded me of my childhood doing the exact same thing – much to my Dad’s feigned chagrin. 🙂 ~Terri

    • Lynn says:

      Thank you for your kind words Terri. I can only imagine how many times my Dad raked up the leaves on our front lawn, only to have them all scattered once again as we delighted in running through them & tossing them back up in the air! Our children did the same, so much fun out of such a simple pleasure.

Please don't be shy, feel free to get in on the conversation & leave a reply!

