The three Rs…according to moi

In response to The Daily Post’s weekly photo challenge: “Today Was a Good Day.”

Most of us are familiar the three Rs.  You may not be as familiar with my version.

Re-Energize, rejuvenate, replenish.  Equally as important, and yet often not given much consideration in our day to day lives.  

I am just as guilty as the next person, allowing my three Rs to fall to the bottom of my priority list. 

But not today…

When I awoke this morning, the sun was shining & the temperature was perfect.  Before my butt got too comfortable sitting on the couch, sipping my coffee, I decided to go for a ride.

I have not had much of an opportunity to ride this summer.   One could blame it on the stuff of life, or perhaps I have just been downright lazy!

Those first few kilometers, my lungs were gasping for air, my legs screaming for mercy, but eventually my body gave in & fell into a nice rhythm.

Peddling along, my reward was exactly as I knew it would be.  Re-energizing my spirit, rejuvenating my physical being, & replenishing my desire to do this more!

Friends you meet along the way.

Friends you meet along the way.

img-20150823-00485

A great place to rest for a moment or two.

Any day on the bike is a good day!

How about you?  What do you do to honour your three Rs?

Wishing you a sunshine day!

Hugs,

L

Quote | This entry was posted in On My Ride Today, Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

40 Responses to The three Rs…according to moi

  1. Sue Slaght says:

    Lynn good for you to get out there. I seem to be in a constant struggle to find the balance in life. A bit too much on the run even though I love it. A little re-juventaion is likely called for. Love your photos and especially the perspective of the bike one. 🙂

    • Lynn says:

      I think we all have difficulty in finding that balance Sue. All it takes is a ride like this one to remind me I need to make the time!

  2. joannesisco says:

    You nailed it perfectly Lynn. There has never been an instance where I came back from a run, ride, yoga class, strength training, swim, hike and didn’t feel wonderful … exhausted perhaps, but in the best possible way 🙂

    • Lynn says:

      So true Joanne! The effort to make the time & get yourself going is the worst part! Once you make that effort, the outcome is awesome!

      • joannesisco says:

        Which is why the first thing I did this morning when I got up was put on bike shorts. I’m sitting here drinking my morning coffee already dressed to get on my bike. I need to catch my brain unaware so it can’t start dreaming up excuses of why I’m *too busy* 😉

      • Lynn says:

        Good for you! Hope you have a wonderful ride!

  3. Beautiful pics on a beautiful day. Well done.

  4. Ingrid says:

    At first I thought you were going horseback ‘riding’, but a nice bike ride sounded equally as wonderful. Looks like a good day!

    • Lynn says:

      I haven’t been on a horse in a number of years but I do love to stop to have a visit with them when I pass them on my bike! It was a perfect day to be outside Ingrid, regardless of what activity you were involved in. Cheers!

  5. I haven’t ridden a bike in a few years! This summer we have been able to swim. Our new home has a pool and it is so wonderful… hate the thought of having to winterize it, but am so excited to actually be having a winter this year! DAF

    • Lynn says:

      How wonderful that you have a pool to enjoy & that you are actually enjoying it! I too, love the change of seasons. I don’t think I would do well living in a place where I didn’t see them. Thanks for your input DAF!

  6. bikerchick57 says:

    I love to honor the three R’s on the mountain bike. I also call it “psychotherapy.” 😉

    • Lynn says:

      No kidding! I have a sign in my home that reads :The bicycle is a simple solution to some of the world’s most complicated problems”. Thanks for dropping in today!

  7. After being sloth-like all summer, I’ve been running again over the last month it feels great. You are right, we have to make getting exercise a priority and take care of our selves!

    • Lynn says:

      It is so easy to fall out of the routine of exercise. Once we do, it seems much more difficult to get going again! Given that you are in Alaska, I suspect when you are running, you are surrounded with beautiful scenery. If that doesn’t make your heart soar, nothing will! Good on you Jeff!

  8. EpicGran says:

    Good for you Lynn, I envy you….. don’t wait to do things because we never know when health can be snatched away. Keep on riding!

  9. Pingback: Perfect Day on the Fringe | litadoolan

  10. I Ride my bicycle, Read blogs and books’, and Relaxing, are my three “R’s”

  11. LB says:

    Such an uplifting post, Lynn! How wonderful to be able to have a ride that includes the view of a beautiful horse and marvelous water.
    Thanks for reminding us about the need to get out there!

    • Lynn says:

      I am very grateful for the beautiful routes available in our area. One only needs to hop on their bike & within a few kilometers, you are riding in beautiful countryside! Thanks for stopping by LB, have a wonderful day!

  12. Aw I just turned on the internet and read your post first thing- a great way to start the day! Although I think to honor all three of those things I’ve just had way too much coffee! Love the photo of the horse too- great colors! 😀

  13. Kiri says:

    I have a very genteel retro bike with a basket named Gloria who has been very lonely all winter. It’s spring now in New Zealand, so tome for some three Rs for me! I am heading to a place with some great (flat!) bike trails next week, with wineries to visit along the way!

  14. restlessjo says:

    I’m a sad sap who can’t ride a bike, Lynn. 😦 Guess that’s why I walk 🙂 But it’s good to be out there. Just today I learnt of the death of a former colleague, at only 50 years old. Make the most of every day! I love your uplifting posts.

  15. BunKaryudo says:

    I hate to say it, but my version of the three R’s is to have some coffee and eat a doughnut. I suspect your method may be a bit healthier. 🙂

  16. Your morning ride sounds perfect Lynn. I’m on the road in Serbia, and I really miss my morning runs. It’s nearly impossible to maintain any sort of routine when you change locations every few days, and the Balkans isn’t the most exercise friendly place. Great photo on the beach. ~ James

    • Lynn says:

      It was a beautiful day for a ride James. I can understand the upset in your routine! Stay safe & I hope that you can once again find a peaceful place to enjoy your morning runs.

      Thank you so much for the visit, truly appreciated!

  17. With you 100% on the benefits of a beautiful bike ride. I have just started getting back to my bike rides after having a bit of a break. Is your beside a lake in the photo?

    • Lynn says:

      I too, have been just getting back to cycling, after a wee bit of shoulder surgery this past winter.

      This photo was taken on one of my favourite routes. We live not too far from Lake Ontario & there is a beautiful ride all along the lakefront.

      Now, if Mother Nature would just make up her mind with weather, I would be able to get back there!

Please don't be shy, feel free to get in on the conversation & leave a reply!

