Crying Uncle

Warning:  This post contains the word shit.  A LOT of Shit!

The past few months of my life can only be described as a shit show.  It seems we all go through phases like this, where the shit just keeps coming down the pipe; it’s a never-ending flow.

Are you shitting me?

Are you shitting me?

Some days it feels like I am living in a soap opera, only to be reminded, this is actually my life!

SHIT!

I won’t bore you with the details, because you most likely have your own shit flowing.  Most days we all cope, but some days you just want to throw up your hands & cry uncle.  Or in my case, “I am so tired of this shit!”

So, I am crying uncle.  Admittedly, I am not very good at it.

I tend to be a fixer, an organizer, and a caregiver.  I am also a contractor, a cleaner, a painter, a mover, a therapist, a jack of all trades really.

It’s probably why I get into this  shit in the first place.  I am that person who just keeps pushing, until my body reminds me I can’t.  And remind me it did.

The latest in the series of shit flowing my way, is I put my back out.  I think my body is trying to tell me something.  Most likely, “you need to stop this shit!

The good news is, some of this shit is coming to an end.  That is, until the next wave of shit starts flowing.

Hugs,

L

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

35 Responses to Crying Uncle

  1. joannesisco says:

    I can *like* this only out of empathy.

    The body has an annoying habit of coming to a grinding – and usually painful – stop whenever it decides that enough is enough. It’s humbling.

    All you can do now is sit back, plug your nose, and let the grouchy back get its way. 🙂

    • Lynn says:

      Feeling a wee bit of relief today Joanne, I can actually stand up straight without startling the neighbours with my screech of pain! Sure makes one appreciate good health!

      • joannesisco says:

        I appreciate your discomfort. You’re describing me after several days of heavy yard work. I’m picturing you shuffling around hunched over like I was.

      • Lynn says:

        Oh yes, gardening! That hobby/chore that should be declared an Olympic sport! Hope you are right as rain soon!

      • joannesisco says:

        I have a whole new respect for people with beautiful gardens … it is bloody hard work!!! I had to resort to therapy to work out the kinks in my back.
        Good luck with yours!

  2. I hear ya! I agree with Joeanne on this one. Our body has a way of telling us to slow down when we don’t heed or hear that little inner voice that is saying “Pull up! Pull up!” I hope things improve quickly.

    • Lynn says:

      It does indeed Nelson! Love the visual of of your inner voice. I picture you in a fancy, dancy jet screaming pull up! PULL UP!!!

  3. Jodi says:

    Hope things turn around.

  4. Sorry for your pain…..I think it kind of goes along with the name of your blog though….I also am approaching 50 and after spending hours in the gardens the past few weeks, I can tell you my body also has said STOP! Today, I’m listening….been hobbling around here and kept waking up with the pain in the joints! Ugh. I wouldn’t go back, but I sure wish going forward was more comfortable! 🙂 Hope you feel better soon!

    • Lynn says:

      Yes, sadly my 50+ joints are feeling their age! I am a firm believer of the philosophy of keep moving, although I would totally agree that there are times when we need to listen to what our body is telling us. Mine has definitely been screaming SIT DOWN! Thanks for popping by today:)

  5. Marry, n’uncle but ye universe loves a practical joke…

    At least, that’s how I usually see it when the proverbial hits the spinning thing. Oh, I was whining about how hard things are so you thought you’d give me something ELSE to whine about? Good one. Ha Ha Ha.

    Sorry you’ve been having such a faecal time of things. Hope the back comes back inside soon.

  6. Sue Slaght says:

    Oh dear this does not sound good at all. amazing how our bodies finally tell us when enough is enough! I hope the days ahead are free from all things fecal in nature. Xo

  7. Paul says:

    Ah Lynn, I know the feeling. I wobble through life with a nerve condition that is a result of cancer treatment many years ago. The cancer is gone – the side effects remain – leaving me handicapped. Some days, at 57, I feel bad for myself but I shake it off as I have many pluses and gifts by Grace. Such is life and then this morning as I was watching the morning news I saw the world’s oldest woman to complete a 26.2 mile marathon in San Diego – at 92. They interviewed her after and she was like a 50 year old, http://www.cnn.com/2015/06/01/us/san-diego-marathon-oldest-woman-finishes/ Absolutely amazing. Blew me away.

    Hope all works out OK for you.

    • Lynn says:

      Sorry for the delayed response Paul, I wanted to watch the interview first. WOW! What a remarkable spirit in this gal. “I’m a little stiff but I am limbering up as the day goes on”. I want to be her when I grow up!

      I admire your strength Paul, as you deal with your day to day challenges. Chronic pain of any sort, is so difficult to manage. Allowing yourself to wallow now & again is nothing to be ashamed of & I am sure, deserved some days. Hang in there my friend & keep putting one foot in front of other. My son, who is a physiotherapist, often tells me, if he could give me advice on aging, based on treating patients, it’s to stay active & stay social. Perhaps we can take a page from our 92 year old & work towards limbering up as the day goes on!

  8. Debbie says:

    Ah yes. The gardening drum-roll that announces we’ve done too much, too fast, too hard, or too twisty without limbering up first. Let it heal. Let yourself heal while your body recovers.
    You already know this anyway.
    I love the way you can write about something so….hard, and still make your audience chuckle in sympathy. We all know what it is like. You help us feel these things with you while giving us a way to bring humour into it too. You have a gift!
    I have lower back exercises for just this kind of thing. Shall I email them to you?

    • Lynn says:

      So nice to hear from you Debbie! Sadly, gardening was not the culprit this time. Painting, renovating, packing & moving my Mom was too much for this old gal to squeeze into a very short window of time. J has given me some good stretching exercises so I am trying to be a good patient & stick to them, along with rest.

      I also wanted to thank you for your kind words in regards to my writing. When my back went out, I seriously laughed out loud as it was just one more thing to add to the long list that has been my life these past few months. Finding humour in it is a good way to cope, don’t you think?

  9. Burns Robin says:

    Lynn

    We need to get together to compare shit!

    I always heard that when you get older the conversation topics major in health, doctors, and yes, shit.

    So, here we are!

    Let’s set a date, I’ll bring the toilet paper!

    Love ya!

    Robin

    ________________________________

  10. Ingrid says:

    Ah, unfortunately I can relate. It sucks when the body craps out, but this too shall hopefully pass. Here’s to less sh*t in your life SOON!

  11. restlessjo says:

    I’m seriously hoping that in the almost 2 weeks since you wrote this, the shit has stopped flowing, Lynn? There’s only so much of the stuff, isn’t there? Although a back certainly needs a bit of time to recover, I suspect that this is the least of your troubles (though maybe the most painful).

    Nothing to say but to wish you well, and hope! Sending a gentle hug your way. 🙂

    • Lynn says:

      Thank you Jo. You are on to me! This was my little way to attempt to find humour amidst the stress that has been my life for the past little bit. My back is feeling much better, I actually got out for a bike ride today which is good for my soul. I so appreciate your kind wishes & I am always open to a hug of any sort! I truly appreciate the love:)

  12. LB says:

    Hmmm, it seems that most focused on your back pain, while I kept reading about too much going on in your life.
    So I’ll hope all that shit, or at least alot of it, get’s flushed away soon!!

  13. Lynn says:

    You are very perceptive LB. Life has been incredibly stressful the past few months & when I put my back out, it was almost laughable! It seems this is how life works sometimes, doesn’t it? The ebbs & flows so to speak.

    Most days we cope with all of the stuff of life but some days it seems insurmountable. Thank you for your kind words & your concern, it is truly appreciated my friend. I have been flushing madly for the past few weeks & things appear to be a little clearer!

  14. susielindau says:

    I went through a really shitty spring. Three of us in my family had surgery, there was a death and then my dad went into the nursing home. Then my sister was diagnosed with melanoma. We had to wait three weeks to find out if her lymph nodes were clear. I finally said, “Dear God, we can’t take anymore of this shit!” They were clear and it’s been smooth sailing since!
    Good luck with your shit. Things will get better. They always do!

    • Lynn says:

      Susie, it sounds like your spring has been similar to mine. Life seems to go that way, doesn’t it? Just when we think we can’t possibly manage another thing, something else comes down the pipe!

      Part of my shit has also been transitioning my Mom to a retirement living situation. It is so heartbreaking some days to witness our parents aging process.

      I am ever the optimistic, silly soul, hoping I can flush faster than need be. Hope your life slows down a wee bit as well, allowing you to enjoy some time.

      Thank you so much for popping by today & having a read. Usually I try to keep my posts upbeat, focusing on the positive things in life. Cheers!

Please don't be shy, feel free to get in on the conversation & leave a reply!

