Mommie Moments

Becoming a parent is one of the most rewarding & challenging roles we are gifted in this thing we call life.  It is a lifelong commitment, a journey filled with tremendous responsibility.  It is journey I wouldn’t trade for anything.

There are days when we question our very ability to raise humans beings.  Days when we feel we have most likely failed in some way, not quite measuring up to the parent we think we should be.

That is the funny thing about parenting.  Regardless of the copious amounts of resources available, when it comes right down to it, babies do not come with a manual.

Each & every child is an individual, developing their own unique path as they explore life. There is no fool proof recipe to ensure the path to success.

We attempt to teach our children to be good people, to understand the difference between right & wrong, to use sound judgement & to make good decisions as they move forward in their lives.  We try to give them all of the proper tools needed to manage life.

Some days it feels like a crap shoot.

Then along comes, what I call a “Mommie moment.”  A moment when your child or children fill your heart with so much love, you feel like it might just explode.

I am not referring to those moments parents experience when our hearts burst with pride because our children have accomplished a great task.  Those are a given.

I am talking about those quiet little moments when your children simply reveal who they are as human beings.

It is in those “Mommie moments” we realise, despite our misgivings about how we may have failed as parents, we have somehow managed to raise kind, empathetic, beautiful human beings.

I am blessed with two such grown children.  They reminded me this week of the amazing people they have become.  Their capacity to express love & kindness fills my heart beyond measure.

To know that in some way, we have had a small part in developing these beautiful people is truly the most amazing gift a parent can receive.

J & K, I am so very proud of the caring individuals you have become.  There is not a day that goes by that I am not grateful for having you in my life.  Your love & support does not go unnoticed.  Ever.  I love you both to the moon!

Hugs,

Mom/Bighead

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Mommie Moments

  1. Sue Slaght says:

    What a lovely post Lynn! There is no job that is harder than being a parent and none more fulfilling. Your kids sound like amazing people and i have no doubt your own kindness are big heart played a huge role in that.

    • Lynn says:

      So right you are Sue. Many of us have no idea of the challenges we will face when we become parents. We give our children the best we can, in the hopes that it all turns out right. I think it our case, it did! Thank you for your kind words my friend:)

  2. joannesisco says:

    Those mommie moments are the absolute best feeling in the world. They balance out all the doubt and second-guessing we are normally faced with. Congratulations 🙂

    • Lynn says:

      They do indeed Joanne! They are those moments that cause us to stand back & marvel at the beautiful people we have helped to guide!

  3. What a great tribute to your children and how lucky you are to see that in them. It’s the gold medal of parenting for sure!

    • Lynn says:

      I am lucky. I have witnessed first hand, children who have taken wrong turns, impacting their lives in negative ways. Not because they didn’t have supportive, loving parents, simply because they make some bad choices. It can happen to any of us, I was just one of the lucky ones!

      Thank you so much for your kind words today.

  4. Ingrid says:

    Being a mom is the most challenging and yet rewarding thing I’ve ever done. Congrats on doing a fine job. Isn’t it wonderful to not only love your children, but like them as individuals?

    • Lynn says:

      I so agree Ingrid. I think you & I are like minded in many ways. I often comment to people, not only do I love my children, but I really like who they are as people. Thank you for dropping by & leaving your comment, truly appreciated.

  5. Tammy Kubota says:

    I love the way your words are so eloquently expressed from your beautiful heart Lynn! A lovely write

    • Lynn says:

      Thank you so much my dear friend. Like my children, you have been such a support for me, giving so freely of your love & friendship. I love you:)

  6. restlessjo says:

    I suspect that this is mutual, Lynn, and that they cannot imagine life without such a lovely mum. 🙂 Well done, you!

  7. LB says:

    Lynn, what a lovely post!
    I hope your children see it and know your pride for them.
    They are lucky to have you as their Mom!

  8. Lynn says:

    Thanks LB! I think I am the lucky one to have such great kids.

Please don't be shy, feel free to get in on the conversation & leave a reply!

