OATUS

Have you ever received a msg from someone & you question wth they are actually saying?

In a world where we communicate with a shortened version of language, acronyms appear to be on the rise.

My title for instance.  Do you know what it means?  On a totally unrelated subject.  Okay, I may have just made that one up!

OMG & LOL have become part of our everyday language, but for us old gals, some days it is like deciphering a secret code of some sort to keep up with the lingo!

Before you guffaw too loudly, let’s see how hip you are !

Here are 10 acronyms used in the world of communication these days.  See how many you get!

Leave your answers in the comment section below.  No cheating by looking them up or checking out a hipper person’s answers!

I will do a tally to see who the hippest contributor is & announce it in a future post.  NBD!

1. OMG

2. SSPD

3. SWAK

4. HAGN

5. YOLO

6. POS

7. SSDD

8. LTNS

9. NOYB

10. FOMO

Wishing you a wonderful long weekend &  a Happy Easter!

TTYL friends!

Hugs,

L

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

32 Responses to OATUS

  1. Sue Slaght says:

    Lynn the only one I know without cheating is #1 Oh My Hod I thought I was becoming pretty up on things. Ugh!

  2. Sandra Kelly says:

    OMG!! I only got the 1st one. HMHIS 😦

  3. Deb says:

    oh dear…uncool old lady here…I only knew OMG, SWAK, YOLO, and POS…guess I need to set up a favourite for the Urban DIctionary….LOL (<<<see what I did there?)

  4. Deb says:

    ps…of course, I Googled all of the rest after I posted…and found all but SSPD and YOYB…but found this for SSPD:(pretty sure that none of these are what you were referring too…hahaha).
    http://acronymsandslang.com/meaning-of/SSPD.html
    You have to post the answers later!

  5. Becky Klingenberg says:

    I only know OMG, and maybe I’m wrong with what I think. GEEZ. Lol

  6. Becky Klingenberg says:

    Okay so I don’t feel so old. My 10 yr old grand daughter only knew the 1st one too. Yay

  7. Lynn says:

    Sorry peeps…#9 should be NOYB. Didn’t save properly in the draft but should show correctly now!

  8. I know 1 of 10. I’m 10% hip to these things.

  9. EpicGran says:

    Oh My God
    You Only Live Once
    Fear Of Missing Out
    THats as hip as I get. I still laugh whenever I get a text from my 70yr old mom, especially if it is something sad or serious, and she signs off with LOL because she thinks it means Lots of Love!! EG : Hi love, just heard so and so had a heart attack. Very sad. LOL Mom. LOL

    • Lynn says:

      Seriously, that is hysterical! Absolutely priceless!

      Looks like you are the hippest to date. Must be part of what makes you Epic!

  10. joannesisco says:

    Strangely, knowing only 1 out of 10 makes me feel more like a winner rather than a loser 🙂

  11. I got 2 but I am interested how many my kids will get. Cute post!

  12. Kate says:

    OMG, I know only YOLO and TTYL. By the way, I frequently use BTW. Everyone is welcome to use it. TTYL

  13. Lynn says:

    Looks like your hip quotient is better than most Kate! Thanks for playing:)

  14. Boy did I flunk, with the exception OMG and LOL, I’m in the tall grass. People send me these symbols all the time assuming I know. It’s Morse Code as far as I’m concerned. Happy Holiday Lynn, to you and those you love.

    • Lynn says:

      It seems a lot of us are in the tall grass Susannah, so you are in good company my friend!

      Hoping you are spending some time with your favourite tube girl this holiday weekend! Cheers!

  15. restlessjo says:

    Still chuckling over Sue’s responses 🙂 And learning as I read down through the comments. Are you sure you haven’t invented some of these, Lynn? I confess myself totally uncool (and don’t laugh at that lady who misunderstood LOL- so did I for the longest time 🙂 )
    Happy Easter, hon, and thanks for the entertainment.

    • Lynn says:

      It appears most of us are in the same boat Jo. I laughed so hard when I read Sue’s comment & I absolutely love the fact that Epic Gran’s mom uses lol as lots of love! Thanks so much for playing my friend. Answers will be posted tomorrow!

  16. Pingback: Follow Up to OATUS | Life After 50

Please don't be shy, feel free to get in on the conversation & leave a reply!

