Yes to the No!

What is your go-to answer when opportunity presents itself?

do_dont

Life a knee jerk reaction, often no slips out of our mouth before even giving yes a consideration?

No, I can’t. No, I shouldn’t.

Perhaps the possibility of saying yes seems a little daunting or maybe even impossible.

But is it?

Consciously or unconsciously, I started to say yes on a more regular basis.  Not very single time of course, but more often than ever before, I find myself saying yes.

In doing so, not only have I opened the door to countless possibilities, but I have learned much about myself in the process.  Expanding our knowledge & our experiences can only enhance the life we are living.

How much richer would your life be if you turned some of those nos into yeses?

I dare you to try.  Over the next little bit, listen to how many times you automatically say no.  Challenge yourself to give yes a try.  You might be surprised at what opportunities & adventures come your way!

yes-no

 

Live a life that is bursting with stories to tell & experiences to share.  Open your mind & give yes a chance.  You might just be glad you did!

Happy Weekend my friends!

Hugs,

L

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

22 Responses to Yes to the No!

  1. EpicGran says:

    Yeeessss….. I agree.

  2. Deb says:

    The flip side of this is of course saying YES way too often, and finding yourself being led around by the noseby your own choices, with almost no time to just stop and be still. Which I find most women tend to do…I know that I suffer from this quite often. Overscheduled and overwhelmed. Even if all the things I have said yes to are things I want…when there are too many…it stops being invigorating and life-affirming. That is my challenge…trying to prioritize which yeses are really where I want to put my time and energy at the moment, so that I can enjoy the choices I do take on!

    • Lynn says:

      You bring up a good point Deb. As women, we do tend to take on, or multi-task in ways that are not always a healthy choice for us. We burn the candle at both ends & end up exhausted!

      Interestingly, as I have aged, I seem to do a better job of managing that side of things. I don’t worry so much about saying no to something, especially if I know it will be overtaxing to me.

      Knowing when to say no is absolutely a good thing but often we say no because we somehow think we are not capable of something, which is I think, what I was referring to. Challenging yourself to say yes to things that you might not think you are capable of.

      Finding a good balance is key for each of us. Thanks for your insight, it is truly appreciated!

      • Deb says:

        I have to say…that part of it DOES hit home for me too. NOT saying yes when I should. In my case, this is usually about putting myself last and saying no when I really WANT to say yes, because it means more time or energy spent for myself, instead of for my family. That is a challenge I think every mom, of every age, faces…it’s hard to say yes for yourself, especially when it is not certain to be successful or is risky, and if it means time away from family. Even when they are telling you to go for it!

  3. joannesisco says:

    Happy weekend to you too Lynn. Hope all your ‘yeses’ are wonderful experiences 🙂

  4. roseanna vachon says:

    Then there are others who say yes so much we can’t keep up with ourselves. Lol. Hope you are well.

    Sent from my BlackBerry 10 smartphone on the Rogers network.

  5. Sue Slaght says:

    Oh it is more and more yes to new adventure and opportunity. I agree that saying yes to people asking for help, as discussed in another comment, can have the opposite effect of being overwhelming. I have learned to balance a bit more as the years have gone by. 🙂

    • Lynn says:

      Me too Sue. I find myself saying no to things I have no desire to take on, establishing a healthy balance for myself. At the same time, I am more open to saying yes when it comes to trying something new, thus discovering that life has the ability to continue to surprise us!

  6. restlessjo says:

    An instinctive no comes to mind 🙂 🙂 Oh, go on then, Lynn. I’ll give it a try. Be it on mine own head 🙂

  7. dfolstad58 says:

    Reblogged this on Life and Random Thinking and commented:
    I like this because it’s true. Say yes and open your life.
    What will happen ? Wonderful new friends, and amazing realizations of all kinds.

    • Lynn says:

      It’s funny how our first instinct is to say no. I have tried to do a better job on this one the past few years. It’s so much more fun!

      Thanks for the reblog!

  8. I agree…life is all about turning NOs into YESs…the more artfully one does it, happier he becomes… 🙂

Please don't be shy, feel free to get in on the conversation & leave a reply!

