A life-saving kind of day

My husband & I were returning from running some errands today, when we found ourselves in a life-saving situation.

As we turned the corner towards home, we noticed something in the middle of the road.   At first glance it looked like a rock.  Had it not been for the little bit of red, we would have driven on past.

Agreeing that we needed to turn the car around to have a better look, we immediately leapt into action.  Pulling in front of our victim,  my husband used the car as a shield to protect both the victim & myself.

red-sparrowIt seemed this poor little fellow had most likely flown into a windshield , sitting quite stunned, in the middle a fairly busy corner!

Donning my gloves for protection, he & I exchanged a look.  Me with my best, “it’s okay little fellow, I’m here to help you” look, him looking rather dubious but knowing he was in no position to argue.

Trying to assess his injuries, I thought our best option was to at least move him safely to the grass & let nature take its course.  My first 2 attempts to gently scoop him up, resulted in him flapping his wings & hopping forward.  Both times he looked up at me as if to say, “man I almost had it!”

On our 3rd attempt, we hit the jackpot.  As I lifted him up in my gloves, he took flight, finding his wings once again, much to the delight of the Mom & 2 children who were standing by watching our little rescue mission.

All of us let out a little whoop of delight, as we watched him fly away, hoping that our little friend made it home safely.

I am certain he is sharing his story with his peeps!

Hope you are having a wonderful day!

Hugs,

L

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

19 Responses to A life-saving kind of day

  1. Ingrid says:

    It was his lucky day to have caring folks stop to see to his welfare. Love stories like this 🙂

  2. Debbie says:

    What a wonderful experience, Lynn! Thank you and your hubby for taking the moment to rescue him. And thank you for sharing it with all of us 😀

  3. joannesisco says:

    When I initially started reading this I was quite concerned, but happy to hear it turned into a happy ending 🙂
    You gave him just enough motivation and altitude to find his wings again!

  4. Paul says:

    So great that people like yourself take the time to stop and help God’s creatures when they are in need. Thank you Lynn.

    • Lynn says:

      I am just glad we saw him Paul. Had we not, I am certain an unknowing car would have hit him. it left us both with a good feeling!

  5. I love happy endings! 🙂

  6. LB says:

    My day just got even better! 🙂

  7. Yesterday you commented on my post that you are not 100% certain you believe in Karma. Whether you do or not…you gave yours a huge boost today. This story just made me smile big! 🙂

    • Lynn says:

      Funny, I thought of that after this experience. It felt so good to have a positive outcome. A little thing & a tiny wee being, but it filled us with such a good feeling!

  8. Sue Slaght says:

    Wonderful story and shows your big hearts. Love this!

  9. pieterk515 says:

    You life saver you!!

Please don't be shy, feel free to get in on the conversation & leave a reply!

