Colour Me Orange

In response to The Daily Post’s weekly photo challenge

A little late to the party but when I saw the photo prompt, I couldn’t resist joining in.

The desert is a place where one might think colour might be lacking.  Rock, sand & the occasional plant beckon us to look closer, enticing us to explore the natural beauty right before our eyes.

I have had an opportunity to visit two deserts, one in Morocco & one in Arizona, each one unique in its landscape & culture, yet similar in their vastness & beauty.

I invite you to join me.

Off we go….

camel-trek-3

Our trusty steeds, that’s me 2nd in line;)

Travelling deeper into the desert, the colour just gets richer, drawing you in further, perhaps for  a little lunch or dinner?

camel-trek-6

El fresco anyone?

The contrast of a blue sky only enhances the rich orange hue!  It was worth getting up in the wee hours of the morning to watch the sunrise.

camel-trek-4

Our view from our camp in the desert. Morocco.

My ride hunkering down for a well deserved rest!  Have you ever ridden a camel?

camel-trek-3a

Settling in for the night. Morocco.

A different kind of desert than what I experienced in Morocco, Arizona was a delightful surprise in its varying landscape. Beautiful hues of orange capturing our attention & inspiring us to dream.

img_9088

Sharing a moment to take in the breathtaking landscape with a dear friend. Arizona.

img_9145

I think my friend must be dreaming of places she has yet to explore:) Arizona

Inside Antelope Canyon, the sun creates an  beautiful array of colour within the walls.

Nature's beautiful dance of light. Arizona

Nature’s beautiful dance of light. Arizona

One can’t help but be challenged to step to the edge to take in the beauty of this place.

Livin' on the Edge

Livin’ on the Edge

Wishing you a wonderful weekend!

Hugs,

L

This entry was posted in Uncategorized, Wanderlust and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

22 Responses to Colour Me Orange

  1. Sue Slaght says:

    Wow! What an astounding comparison of gorgeous photos. I have never ridden a camel but would love to.
    On another note this post did not show up in my WordPress Reader Lynn but I found it through Facebook.

    • Lynn says:

      I would encourage you to put some meat on your rump prior to riding a camel, they are not the most comfortable animal to ride on!

      I appreciate the heads up, not sure why it is not showing in the Reader???

      • Sue Slaght says:

        No idea Lynn. Perhaps check with one of your other followers on WordPress to see if it is just me. If they can’t see it either then I would contact WP.

      • Lynn says:

        Interestingly, support said they checked by going to my blog, & clicking follow. It showed up in their reader right away. Having said that, it does not show up in mine either! Will dig deeper:)

      • Sue Slaght says:

        Just checked and you have not magically appeared in my Reader. Hmmm indeed.

  2. Tammy says:

    Lynn! I love the way you marry your pictures and stories, always so stunning XO

  3. joannesisco says:

    Your photos are stunning and the colours are so rich. You’ve travelled to some beautiful spots!

    I’ve had the pleasure of riding a camel in the Outback in Australia. I thought it was a lot of fun … after we got used to the side-to-side rolling gait. Until then, it was … uncomfortable, to say the least 🙂

    • Lynn says:

      I am so grateful for having had the opportunity to travel Joanne. I’m afraid I have been bitten by the travel bug, the more you do it, the more you realise there are endless possibilities of beautiful places to see.

      The camels we rode in Morocco are called a dromedary, one humped & not very comfortable to ride. You are so right, they seem to roll side-to-side & we found their gait to be very long in stride. We rode them for about 1 1/2 hrs out to our camp & the same back. That was enough for all of us!

      • joannesisco says:

        I remember them being very uncomfortable in the beginning because of the instinct to ‘ride’ them similar to a horse. Once we got used to the swaying motion, it wasn’t so bad. We spent about 90 minutes on the camel out and back so we didn’t have quite the workout you did!
        I do remember the very unstable feeling when they got up and especially went down. I thought I was going to tumble head-first off the beast!

  4. Sandra Kelly says:

    Amazing! You are so right, we tend to think the desert is colorless. Definitely not true.

    • Lynn says:

      I must admit Sandra, I am not certain I could live in a desert environment, I would miss the lushness of the green we experience here. Having said that, there is such beauty in the landscape of the desert! Thanks for popping in today:)

  5. I actually got a chance to see a good number of the orange photo posts. Leave it to you to have captured the idea in so many wonderful ways. Really beautiful images, Lynn. Oh, and you can keep that ‘livin’ on the edge’ stuff. Argh!

    • Lynn says:

      What a lovely compliment Robyn, thank you so much. I don’t always participate in the daily challenges but when I saw this one, I immediately thought of the desert!

      I have a fabulous coach (for my indoor cycling class) who is always saying, “if not livin’ on the edge, you’re taking up too much room”! LOL

  6. Jodi says:

    Beautiful photos and what WONDERFUL experiences!!

  7. pieterk515 says:

    How did I miss this post before? Awesome pictures Lynn!

  8. Pingback: Colour Me Orange – Life After 50 – WordPress.com | Aging Gracefully Services

Please don't be shy, feel free to get in on the conversation & leave a reply!

