Happy New Year!

jaymary-34We can all use a little reminder now & again to embrace the good parts of ourselves, work on the things that might need a bit of improvement, & to let go of things we cannot change.

As the calendar turns to 2015 this evening, I wish you a year overflowing with joy & love, exciting adventures to keep you young, challenges to strengthen your soul,  & a sense of peace to bring calm to your life.

My new mantra of more recent days, has been to slow down & chill a wee bit, so in keeping with that mindset, I chose to be a tad lazy &  share a post I wrote around this time last year, the content of which I think bears repeating.

Remember, despite what we may tell ourselves some days,

You ARE Awesome!

you-are-awesomeYesterday I was out on a little shopping adventure with some girlfriends & I came across a card that looked something like this.

It spoke to me as the New Year tends to be a time of year when we set goals for ourselves, redefine what we should look like or who we should be, often resulting in disappointment.

What if, rather than worry about whether we need to lose a few pounds or beat ourselves up to live happier, healthier, richer lives, we chose this mantra instead?

It is a pretty simple statement yet one that most of us would have difficulty in acknowledging.  It seems we spend much more time criticizing ourselves for everything that we aren’t rather than everything that we are.

I have never been one for New Year’s resolutions.  Most of us know exactly the parts of ourselves that we need to improve upon.  I call it, a work in progress.

But, I ask you.  Have you ever considered what are the parts of yourself that you find most awesome?

Food for thought….

Happy New Year!

L

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to Happy New Year!

  1. Cheryl Marsh says:

    ::) And you ARE awesome! TX for all you are & do.. happiest new year’s wishes & blessings!!
    cheers, God bless -hi’s, wishes & love to all
    c xo

    Cheryl Marsh

    Date: Wed, 31 Dec 2014 21:53:52 +0000
    To: clmavon@hotmail.com

  2. Happy New Year! I hope you have a fabulous 2015.

  3. Sue Slaght says:

    A wonderful mantra Lynn and one I shall remember. Happy New Year!

    • Lynn says:

      I have no doubt you wake up each day ready to take on each & every awesome experience life presents to you Sue! I think we share that passion, life itself. Happy New Year!

  4. joannesisco says:

    What a great thought to start the year … and be reminded of periodically. I think I will spend some time today mulling on the good things I like about myself that I would like to keep repeating!! Thank you for the thought 🙂

    Hope you have an AWESOME year, Lynn – in all the ways you love best! 🙂

    • Lynn says:

      Good for you Joanne! I have a feeling your pondering will remind your self of so many wonderful qualities you possess. You certainly made a difference in my day today!

  5. skinnyuz2b says:

    Thanks, L. Like so many others I get caught up in focusing on what needs fixing or improving about myself. I’m going to start taking a moment to remember what I like about me.

    • Lynn says:

      I am as guilty as the next person when it comes to beating myself up. Imagine if we spent even half of that energy focusing on all of the good we possess?

      Go Skinny Go!

  6. I’ve never looked at it this way. Maybe this year instead of fixing the things that are wrong, I will focus on enhancing the things I am good at. Thanks for the thought-provoking post.

    • Lynn says:

      Thank you Jeff, for your kind comment!

      We spend so much energy on “fixing” ourselves, particularly through New Years’ resolutions. While I recognise the benefit of working on our not so attractive traits, I think we would all be a wee bit happier if we also spent some of the energy acknowledging the good parts of ourselves.

      Cheers & Happy New Year!

  7. LB says:

    I do like this focus … know where we need to continue to grow but celebrate the things that are positive.
    Good plan!

  8. restlessjo says:

    I could write a book on this one! If I could get my swollen head through the door 🙂 🙂
    Seriously, Lynn- it’s a nice thought. Enjoy your chilled new year and celebrate the self that you have.

Please don't be shy, feel free to get in on the conversation & leave a reply!

