Small Town Magic

1556429_10202215905855611_1940948463_oThere are many reasons why I love living in a small town, but for the purpose of this particular story, it is in the knowing of families who have lived here generation after generation.

These families share a rich history with one another; they embody the meaning of community.

My husband & his family are one of the families who have lived here for generations.

In the early days of our marriage, I would listen to stories about the various members of our community, often referenced as, “you know them, they lived in that little house on the corner of such & such”.  Admittedly, I had no idea who they were talking about.

After residing in our town for 31 years, I often find myself referencing someone in exactly the same way. I am no longer considered a newbie!

As tradition would have it in our town, as Christmas gets closer, Santa Claus sets himself up on Saturdays at the 4 corners of town.  Complete with live reindeer, he stands outside one of our local banks, greeting children & encouraging them to come & sit with him for a moment, in hopes of them sharing their wish lists.

It was on one of these Saturdays over 25 years ago, we experienced a little bit of small town magic with our young son.

As we wandered by Santa & his reindeer, seeing that he was a little skeptical about the jolly old man dressed in a red suit, we chose to greet him from a safe distance & then made our way to the 4 corners to cross the street.

As we stood patiently waiting for the light to change, we heard Santa call out to my husband from behind us. “Well Brian Martin, haven’t you grown into a big boy!” This boisterous announcement was followed, of course, by a hearty HOHOHO!

Unbeknownst to our 4-year-old, it seemed Santa was also a long time resident, remembering my husband as a small boy.  It was as if time stood still in the magic of that moment.

Our son couldn’t believe what he had just heard!

Staring up at his Dad with his eyes as big as saucers, he proclaimed with much wonderment, “DAD!  SANTA KNOWS YOUR NAME! HE KNOWS YOU DAD!”

Turning around,  my husband gave Santa a little wave & a wink, before crossing the street. It was a magical moment & one we will never forget.

I hope you find magic in those precious moments spent with your loved ones this holiday season.

Hugs,

L

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to Small Town Magic

  1. Santa knows everybody, after all.

  2. What a precious moment! 🙂

  3. Sue Slaght says:

    What a lovely story Lynn. Definitely a magical Christmas moment and memory. Wishing you the very best of the season. What a delight to have met you this year here in the blogosphere.

  4. joannesisco says:

    A priceless, unscripted moment! I bet that was one 4 year old with a strong believe in magic 😉
    Loved this story!

  5. LB says:

    Such a sweet story!!

  6. Lynn says:

    Thank Laurie, always appreciate you stopping by;) Merry Christmas to you & your loved ones!

  7. restlessjo says:

    Wonderful! Thank goodness for the little things in life, Lynn 🙂

  8. skinnyuz2b says:

    This is a great story! I live in a small town now, too.
    Around fifteen years ago, my extended family had a huge party with Santa making an appearance. My oldest niece (and godchild) asked him to guess how old I was. She then announced that I was fifty. We didn’t have your nice Santa, because ours looked at me and announced, “Well, I guess you’re a walking miracle!” To this day I hear that phrase from my two sisters, brother, and husband.

    • Lynn says:

      Bahaha! Who knew walking around at 50 was considered to be a miracle? Perhaps by Santa’s standards but I say at 50, you are just getting started!

Please don't be shy, feel free to get in on the conversation & leave a reply!

