The Power of Words

I awoke this morning to beautiful words sent to me from someone very precious in my life. The words were unsolicited, which made them all the more special.

It struck me how, the power of a few words, had the ability to fill my heart with such emotion & a sense of joy.  The simple act of taking the time to write them, lifted my spirit & set in motion how I would embrace my day.

It is something I try to do more of these days.   Allowing my positive words to flow freely, not only to those in my life who are most precious to me, but also to those I have the pleasure of meeting along the way.

It really doesn’t take much effort & it can make such a difference in someone’s day.

It certainly made a difference in mine this morning.  To that precious person in my life, thank you for your beautiful gift of words this morning.  I love you with all of my heart.

Happy Weekend!

Hugs,

L

 

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

23 Responses to The Power of Words

  1. LB says:

    Well said, Lynn! so glad your day started out in such a great way!

  2. finlaym1 says:

    Wishing you a great weekend! x

  3. Sue Slaght says:

    I totally agree Lynn. I am a firm believer in sharing positive words and feedback. I realize as an extreme extrovert it is easier for me to do and not everyone feels as comfortable doing so. Perhaps your example of the written words is helpful for those who are more introverted.

    • Lynn says:

      Sue, believe it or not, in earlier days I would have considered myself very shy & couldn’t have imagined openly sharing my thoughts.. For me, I think it is something that has come much easier as I have gotten older. It seems so many are so quick to be critical of one another & to find the fault in things. Imagine if we all spent much more of an effort complimenting each other & focusing on our strengths.

      I do think that sometimes sharing thoughts by writing is an easier way of expression for people. Thank you so much for your continued enthusiasm & support Sue. I truly appreciate you comments!

      • Sue Slaght says:

        You are most welcome Lynn. I am so delighted we met here in the blogging world and look forward to that in person meeting which I know in my heart will happen one day. Till then happy blogging and happy living.

  4. Debbie says:

    When I was sick and always wearing a mask in public, I quickly realized that people were afraid: Afraid to look at me, afraid of hurting my feelings, afraid to ask why I wore a mask and afraid I might give them something contagious. So I smiled at them.
    I smiled a great big smile at people who glanced at me, the kind of smile that makes your eyes brighten and crow’s feet deepen; the one that relaxes the forehead and eventually makes your cheeks sore.
    And 9 times out of 10, they smiled back. Sometimes a quick conversation ensued.
    I’ve told my experience to many of my acquaintances who have similar problems with being “different”. And they tried it and discovered the same thing.
    When we pass on joy, calm, happiness and/or peace, it multiplies.

    I’m so glad YOU were a recipient of joy-producing words. Because YOU DEFINITELY are passing it forward! 😀

    • Lynn says:

      Debbie, I can’t imagine how difficult those days & years were for you & your family. I admire you so much for having the courage to continue to go out & wear that beautiful smile. You are so right. Often what we don’t know scares us, if we just took the time to educate ourselves a little more, perhaps we would have a better understanding in so many regards. Kudos to you for doing so!

      Thank you so much for your kind words. I truly appreciate them.

  5. joannesisco says:

    You’re so right! It’s amazing how a kind word can change my day 🙂
    Glad you had one of those very special days!!

  6. Paul says:

    Thanks for the upbeat post Lynn.It is true – words are powerful. Some people never learn that.

    • Lynn says:

      Paul, the words sent to me that morning really did shape my day. I could not let them pass by without writing a little something about how they impacted me.

      We are so quick to criticize it seems. Imagine if we spent half as much time speaking kinder words to one another. Thank you for yours today:)

  7. Caroline says:

    So true Lynn. We can never know what others are going through and sometimes just a kind word can make all the difference. As the Dalai Lama says, and I stand by it, “Kindness is my religion”. Have a great day!

    • Lynn says:

      Caroline, thank you for kindness & your thoughts. They are very much appreciated. “Kindness is my religion” A religion we could all practice without judgement!

  8. restlessjo says:

    Nice to read the comments you got, too, Lynn 🙂 Thanks for sharing. A smile and a hug goes a long way.

  9. Emilio says:

    I made it as far as Sue Slaght’s comment and felt I had to add my two cents worth. I am still introverted but try to tell people when I appreciate them as that was so lacking in my upbringing- and so far pretty much throughout my career. My wife is always telling me how much she loves and appreciates me and it lifts me so high whenever she does. I do the same, telling her I love her every morning before leaving for the day. It makes me feel great to know I have someone like her in my life. Yes, a little off topic but I know you’ll excuse me!

    • Lynn says:

      Not off topic at all Emilio. In fact, I think your comment speaks to my point very well. Having a someone lift us up with a few spoken words can leave us with such a good feeling. It really takes very little effort, it might cause us a little discomfort in opening up, but the result is such a wonderful feeling.

      I am happy you have someone in your life who makes you feel this way. I so appreciate your two cents, my friend!

  10. I agree – there aren’t many more gifts that are as purely lovely as someone’s kind words. I believe you deserve every word of ’em too. 🙂

  11. Cheryl Marsh says:

    🙂 And thank you so much for your most beautiful words, inspiration & laughter.. esp. when needed most!
    cheers, God Bless – have a great day!.. looking forward to sharing this weekend
    love, c

    Cheryl Marsh

    Date: Fri, 24 Oct 2014 16:00:01 +0000
    To: clmavon@hotmail.com

    • Lynn says:

      Cheryl, you too, are always to kind with your words of encouragement & friendship. Here’s to many more winter weekend getaways with our fabulous group of peeps!

Please don't be shy, feel free to get in on the conversation & leave a reply!

