Feeling Hot Hot Hot

You are most likely thinking I am vacationing somewhere on a beautiful beach, wiggling my toes in the warm sand, with a glass of rum punch in my hand!  Sadly, this is not the case!427120_4073968204081_808108966_n

I am referring to my body temperature, which, these days, soars randomly on average, about a 1000 times a day.  As if giving birth wasn’t enough to endure.

At the age of 53, my reproductive organs are creating unnatural heat.  Kind of like Global Warming.

Only it’s in my body.

The simple act of getting dressed in the morning has become a challenge.  The mere glance at a sweater causes me to break out into a sweat!  Thank God the layered look is in, for some days it is all I can do, to refrain from stripping every fibre of fabric off of me, only to have to layer it all back on seconds later.

Because just when you think you’re head is going to pop off, you’re suddenly cold.

I recall a number of my older more mature friends, complaining of this disturbing rocket fueled heat surge.  I must admit, when they were asking for windows to be rolled down in sub-zero temperatures, I seriously questioned their sanity.  I may have even been known to raise & an eyebrow or two, all the while thinking to myself, really, how bad can it be?

Payback’s a bitch my friends!  While those gals now sit comfortably in their woolies & their turtlenecks,  I can most likely be found desperately searching for cooler air. Or a snow bank. Or a bucket of ice.

All in pursuit of bringing my body temperature down to the point where it doesn’t feel like the scene from the Wizard of Oz.  You know the one,  where the Wicked Witch of the West melts into the floor!.

Seriously!  One would think I am being interrogated for some heinous crime, as my internal thermometer spikes from normal to a gazillion degrees in a nano second, causing me to break out into a sweat, without even moving a muscle.

If the flashes weren’t enough, I am also sleep deprived.  Covers on, covers off.

ALL.NIGHT.LONG!

If you need a wake up call in the middle of the night, I’m your gal!  Guaranteed I am up at 2am, 4am, & 6am these days. That’s on a good night. But I caution you, do not dare to wake me at 6:30am,  for I have just nicely drifted off back to sleep.

Just in time for my alarm to go off.

Wake me at 6:30am & I may have to kill someone.  I will plead temporary insanity. On account of my aging ovaries!

A fan & a cold glass of water have become my very best friends!

A fan & a cold glass of water have become my very best friends!

I know this picture is blurry but it captures my life these days.  The old gal  friend who took the photo, clearly is losing her vision & her ability to focus a camera.

Just something else I have to look forward to!

Hormone Replacement Therapy has been suggested but admittedly I am reluctant.  Call me crazy, but I am adverse to taking something that can potentially increase my risk of heart disease, stroke, blood clots & breast cancer.

Instead, I chose to suffer through it as many have done before me.  At least for now.

Never say never!

I have also been told I shouldn’t drink red wine! HA!

Sing it with me…feeling hot hot hot!

Hugs,

L

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

23 Responses to Feeling Hot Hot Hot

  1. Sue Slaght says:

    Well of course being the same age I laughed hysterically at this post. Yes welcome to the new age of spontaneous combustion. I wish you cooling trends and a good sense of humour. Well that you already have. 🙂

  2. I feel your pain… hot flashes are not for the faint of heart! I love your analogies, this is a great post. I would love to tell you that this too, will pass, but my sad tale of woe is… I had a hysterectomy at 35, which put me into a menopause state, and I have been battling hot flashes since, they are waning a bit, but whenever I think that, they come back with a vengeance… 25 years of those stupid things… believe me, I do feel your pain, I hope yours do not last long, start to subside and that you find that white wine, chilled is not too awful! DAF

    • Lynn says:

      Oh my DAF, hot flashes from the time you were 35? You poor thing! I do hope you find relief from them in the very near future.

      I used to think women having them had to be exaggerating. Kind of like the very pregnant women trying to get out of a chair. Until you experience it, you have no idea!

      Lovely to have you drop by today. We’ll stay warm together;0)

  3. Cheryl Marsh says:

    🙂 Feeling for you, CHEERS! Hang in there… some things are just worth it!!
    cheers, God Bless
    love, c

    Cheryl Marsh

    Date: Thu, 16 Oct 2014 13:43:41 +0000
    To: clmavon@hotmail.com

  4. roseanna vachon says:

    Well said. Made me really laugh.

    Sent from my BlackBerry 10 smartphone on the Rogers network.

  5. Doreen says:

    Welcome to my world! I have to tell you I too have chosen not the take any HRT and it does eventually get better Lynn. Hang in there and keep drinking your red wine, I found it make no difference at all, your still going to be hot and not sleeping so you might as well enjoy the wine!

  6. Caroline says:

    My current experience exactly Lynn! Started when I was 50, 56 now. No HRT for me either, family history of breast cancer. Enjoy the wine, spicy foods, coffee, hot baths. All the things they say you have to give up! Doesn’t make a bit of difference. Get yourself some pretty fans, that’s what I did. And just remember… you’re still hot, it just comes in flashes now!

    • Lynn says:

      It appears we are all in good company Caroline! I do try to eat well but I so enjoy my glass of red wine. Just can’t bring myself to switch back to white!

      Sounds like a wise decision in regards to the HRT’s, especially with you family history. For me personally, I am just not convinced we know enough about them. I figure this is nature’s way of shutting things down. It has been that way for years & years. I am certain I will get through it but it always helps to have some company! Thanks for reading & your comment, I truly appreciate it!

  7. Sue Dube says:

    Couldn’t have said it better myself! Just when I think it is coming to an abrupt end, the fun starts all over again! I also agree with saying “No” to HRT and going with wine instead!

    • Lynn says:

      Sue, I have often described them as like a similar feeling to impending doom! You know it’s going to happen, you can feel it coming & think…oh crap…here it comes!

      I laugh out loud when someone suggests I give up my red wine…as if!

      Thank you so much for stopping by today & taking the time to comment. So nice to hear from you!

  8. joannesisco says:

    *sigh* I know that of which you speak.
    Mine started when I was in my mid-forties and I’m now 58.
    I always thought the worst was the roller coaster ride – hot, cold, hot, cold. If only my body would pick one and keep it consistent.
    Ever notice you never get a hot flash when it would be really convenient? – like when outside in the freezing cold?
    Gahhh – being a women is really a tough job!

    • Lynn says:

      So true Joanne! What is really embarrassing is when I am sitting in a meeting & suddenly I can feel the heat building. I break into a sweat & have the urge to rip my clothes off! I have now come to just blurt out…I am so sorry, I am having a flash!

      I look forward to the day when I can wear a turtleneck again…perhaps by the time I’m 70??? lol…

      Thanks for contributing to the comments. Makes us all feel like we are not alone!

  9. restlessjo says:

    Oh bless! 🙂 I remember the phase, but like lots of other things, that’s all it is, Lynn. Hang on in there.

  10. Kate says:

    Another great post, Lynn. I used to wonder why my mother would wear cotton shorts and tank tops in the middle of a Rochester NY winter when I was bundled up in a sweater, t-neck and heavy slacks. Now I know! They are less frequent now but I do find them occurring when I am in stressful situations at work. Sadly, they then add to the stress! Oh well, they do pass fairly quickly.

    • Lynn says:

      Hi Kate! Great to hear from you:) I too, was guilty of wondering what all the fuss was about. A good dose of “wait until you walk a mile in some else’s shoes” has been tossed my way.

      It seems for some they pass quickly while others find they linger for years. I can hope I will fall in to the 1st category!

      Thank you so much for taking the time to leave a comment today. I appreciate it!

  11. LB says:

    Jus have to say it: I’m a Women’s Health Nurse Practitioner and would encourage you to explore all options for managing your symptoms, including Hormone Therapy, if needed. There are so many positives to it and the statistics are not what the media have reported. It’s not for everyone, but it certainly has made many, many women live much more comfortably through the years right after menopause.
    A choice to use HT does not mean a life long decision. Many of the women I care for use it for moments in time to help improve life quality. Check out the North American Menopause Society (NAMS) website to get the accurate info regarding safety and benefits!

    • Lynn says:

      I am happy to welcome your say Laurie. Our neighbour/friend is a gp & he & I have had several conversations around HRTs.

      I should note I am not opposed to exploring safe options & certainly I think there are many women who benefit from their effectiveness.

      Having said that, I am a person who is reluctant to take medication if my body’s natural responses can do the job, so to speak.

      This is relatively new to me & so I am taking the philosophy of giving time a chance to let nature take its course for the time being, I am hopeful that I can meander through this phase with little drug interaction but certainly keep all options open.

      I so truly appreciate your input & respect your opinion. I promise to keep my mind open & I will definitely check out the website you suggested.

Please don't be shy, feel free to get in on the conversation & leave a reply!

