Waiting

Weekly Photo Challenge: Silhouette

When I saw the photo challenge this week, my mind immediately thought of this picture.   Although the photo is a little old & grainy, it remains one of my very favourites of our beloved family dog.

Taken one evening, as he sat on the dock, patiently waiting for my husband & children to return from fishing, it captures his love of the cottage so well.

Our beautiful boy at the cottage.

Our beautiful boy at the cottage.

 

I miss you, my old friend

L

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

32 Responses to Waiting

  1. karen mcboyle says:

    ahh, you can just see his joyful anticipation of their return….they really are a part of the family!!!

  2. Paul says:

    Is that chocolate lab Lynn? My parents used to breed Labs and they are wonderful dedicated, smart, loving animals.

    • Lynn says:

      Yes, he was Paul. He was such a wonderful addition to our family. So full of love & possessed such a gentle spirit, I don’t think there was a mean bone in his body!

  3. joannesisco says:

    I can see why this is one of your favourites! 🙂

  4. Becky Keefe Klingenberg says:

    Beautiful Lynn!!

    Sent from my iPhone

    >

  5. Sue Slaght says:

    This is gorgeous Lynn. What a beautiful memory. So tough to say goodbye to these pups.

    • Lynn says:

      Thanks Sue. This picture was taken almost 20 years ago but remains one of my favourites of our beautiful boy, Mocha. I think this was his 2nd year at the cottage, it was one of his favourite places on the planet.

      You are so right, so hard to say goodbye to our wonderful fur babies but our lives are so much richer for having them with us:)

      • Sue Slaght says:

        Isn’t that true Lynn? We still miss our Bruiser but over time just lots of happy memories replace the sadness. I can. See why this photo remains one of your faves. 🙂
        Are you having a good summer?

      • Lynn says:

        I love that name Sue! I picture Bruiser as being a full bodied boy! You are so right, making the decision to let go of Mocha was one of the most difficult ones I have ever had to make. Having said that, I wouldn’t trade our time with him for anything. The love of a dog is a rare &special bond.

        I look back at photos like this one & in doing so, so many wonderful memories come to mind. Now we get to babysit our grandpuppies, giving us lots of dog love without the day to day responsibility!

      • Sue Slaght says:

        We have grand pups too! Yes fun without the commitment. 🙂 Bruiser was a little Bichon Shitsu and scared to bits of other dogs, hamsters….yes definitely a sense of humour around the naming of him. 🙂

      • Lynn says:

        Ha! Even better!

  6. I can see why this is one of your favorite shots! I want a dog like this- and a pier like this (but that’s another story)!

    • Lynn says:

      Oh, do tell Emilio! This was one of Mocha’s favourite places. Swimming & boating followed by laying on the dock in the sun, a dog’s dream vacation!

  7. pieterk515 says:

    Lynn, that pic is begging for a back story!!

  8. Jane Carnovale says:

    That is so beautiful Lynn…miss you xox

    Date: Sun, 17 Aug 2014 23:30:13 +0000 To: jane_carnovale@hotmail.com

  9. restlessjo says:

    It would be a fabulous shot even without the dog but he totally steals the show, Lynn 🙂

    • Lynn says:

      Thanks Jo!

      Sitting on a dock, watching the sunset, is a breathtaking sight. Mocha was our family dog of 14 years, this was definitely his happy place.

  10. seeker says:

    That is a beautiful photo of the dog looking into the space. Perfect for this challenge.

  11. LB says:

    oh my gosh this warms my heart!

  12. dogear6 says:

    So many of my favorite pictures are imperfect too. It’s great when we take incredible pictures, but it’s even better when we have pictures that mean something to us. I loved this too – I can see why it’s a favorite of yours. Sorry he’s gone – it’s hard. I’ve lost all three cats. The dogs are getting older and eventually they will be gone too. I don’t look forward to it.

    http://livingtheseasons.com/2011/06/02/briefly-they-touch-our-lives/

    Nancy

    • Lynn says:

      Lovely to meet you Nancy. Like you, I am the keeper of photographs, albums & albums of them, each holding memories of mine & our families lives. They are one of my most precious possessions.

      Mocha was our family dog for 14 years & so much a part of our family. This picture was a random shot I took one evening while we were waiting my for my husband & children to return from fishing. It remains one of my favourites:)

      Thank for stopping in to today & for your comment. Truly appreciated!

  13. dogear6 says:

    It was nice to meet you also! I saw your comment on Sue Slaght’s blog (which I got over to via Vladimir Brezina). I’m glad I’m not the only one who is keeper of the family photos and albums!

  14. Cheryl Marsh says:

    🙂 Nice to remember, it ‘says’ so much! xo

    Cheryl Marsh Date: Sun, 17 Aug 2014 23:30:12 +0000 To: clmavon@hotmail.com

Please don't be shy, feel free to get in on the conversation & leave a reply!

