Robin Williams, thank you for the laughs…

So many of us are feeling so saddened by the loss of this incredible man. My fellow blogger from Ah dad shared this post today, what a wonderful tribute to a genius who will forever leave us with laughter.

Ah dad...

I’m struggling today.

There was a man who provided me with a million smiles and a billion laughs.  So many moments where I basically broke down in hysterics.  He was a brilliant comedian, and now he’s left us…

I’m surprisingly heartbroken, like I’ve lost a friend or someone I knew.  Someone who made me feel better when I needed him too.

Some people create the impression that they will live forever, their enigmatic presence transcends time.  Robin Williams was such a man.  Energetic, funny, a tonic of life.  His skill and humour picked me up.  No, that’s wrong, it raised me up.  He gave me wings and made me soar on the wings of his comedic genius.

I normally don’t get overly emotional about the deaths of celebrities, but this remains a tragedy of which I’m having difficulty comprehending.  He remains one of the greats, probably the best of his generation.  A person I would have loved to meet.  Probably…

View original post 222 more words

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Robin Williams, thank you for the laughs…

  1. Sue Slaght says:

    Like you Lynn I adored Robin Williams. His ability to make people laugh constantly such a genuine skill. The fact that depression took him way too soon just shows that mental illness knows no barriers. So sad.

    • Lynn says:

      Like Pieter, I am not one to be affected by all that is Hollywood, but in hearing of the death of Robin Williams, I was filled me with such sadness. You are so right Sue, depression & mental illness touches everyone.

      Such a loss for the world of comedy. There is rarely a piece I watch, with him in it, where I don’t burst out into laughter. My hope is that his humour will be his legacy, not his death.

      • Sue Slaght says:

        I think it will be his legacy Lynn. Yet he leaves the world with a powerful message that mental illness can affect absolutely anyone. Perhaps it will make each person a bit more compassionate to those who suffer with it.

  2. Cheryl Marsh says:

    🙂 Amen!, such a loss of an amazing talent. tx for the great thoughts & link Lynn cheers, God Bless – have a great day, despite! c xo

    Cheryl Marsh Date: Tue, 12 Aug 2014 13:59:32 +0000 To: clmavon@hotmail.com

  3. pieterk515 says:

    Being re-blogged remains my greatest compliment. Thanks Lynn.

    • Lynn says:

      My pleasure Pieter. Your words echoed my thoughts perfectly. If you haven’t seen it already, google Robin’s schtick on golf…so funny!

  4. arnsby says:

    You are not alone in your grief for this talented man, much of the world is mourning today.

    He was brilliant and through his work made us laugh and cry. He seemed to have had it all – intelligent, successful, he had money and fame.

    This alerts us all how terrible depression must be; Robin Williams had access to the best help and yet he felt suicide was the solution. Sad, very sad.

    Let us hope that with the spotlight on depression treatments will improve and no one will see suicide as the solution.

    • Lynn says:

      I couldn’t agree with your sentiments more Liz. No amount of money or fame can take away the pain of someone dealing with such complex issues. It is so incredibly sad for me to think of the depths of despair one must feel in order to draw the conclusion that taking their own life is their best option.

      Thank you for your input today, much appreciated.

  5. restlessjo says:

    He captured every degree from totally zany to pathos didn’t he? I was saddened too.

    • Lynn says:

      So many were so saddened to hear of his death. I remember when he first came on the scene. There was no other like him, a uniqueness that stayed with him in everything did.

      Thanks for stopping by today Jo. Wishing you a lovely day!

Please don't be shy, feel free to get in on the conversation & leave a reply!

