Talk To Me!

Daily Prompt – It turns out that your neighbor on the plane/bus/train (or the person sitting at the next table at the coffee shop) is a very, very chatty tourist. Do you try to switch seats, go for a non-committal brief small talk, or make this person your new best friend?

I cannot recall the number of times I have been approached by people I have never met, engaging in random conversation.

Within moments of chatting together, they are sharing their life story with me & conversing as if we were long lost friends.

Is it because some of us possess an aura that is more open to receiving conversation?

Perhaps.

I have jokingly asked my husband on a number of occasions, “Do I have a sign on my back that says talk to me?”

Joking aside, there is much to be learned from simply engaging in the art of conversation with one another.

More often than not, you may be surprised at what you learn.  Try it, I dare you!

Hugs,

L

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Talk To Me!

  1. Paul says:

    It’s your smiling face! 😀

  2. Sue Slaght says:

    Lynn although we have not met in person, this is of no surprise to me. You have a warm heart and your kind and lovely face make you a natural for people to approach.

    • Lynn says:

      Your kindness & those like you are exactly what warms my heart Sue! I honestly believe that if we just open ourselves up, we create an opportunity to meet people we otherwise, may not have had the good fortune of getting to know. We are all richer for the experience!

      • Sue Slaght says:

        Couldn’t agree more Lynn. Some of the most wonderful encounters on our European cycling trips have been with locals at the side of the road. One could just pass by but those brief stops have been some of the biggest treasures of our travel.

  3. I’m with you 100% on this. No matter how much scowling is on my face, or in my mood, I get sat beside the someone who has to chat. Then it always turns out to be one of the best conversations ever!
    I’m starting to believe these definitely not coincidences…. not unlike who we meet on say, blog sites(?)

    • Lynn says:

      You comment made me smile Robyn! The transformation between 2 people once we engage in conversation, is so interesting to me. It goes back to our earlier conversation on your recent post. If we would just talk to one another more, we would recognise that we are not so different after all.

      I too, am a believer that there are people we are meant to meet along our journey. When I started blogging, I could not have foreseen the wonderful friends I would meet! You included!

  4. pieterk515 says:

    It’s not just a sign on your back, it’s a gift. Cherish it.

  5. joannesisco says:

    Lynn – this is one of those cases where I have found the comments to be as interesting as the post itself. I think I have to agree with the others who have said you have a gift and a magnetism that attracts others. Embrace your popularity 🙂

    • Lynn says:

      Thank you Joanne. I truly was not sourcing out compliments but appreciate all of the kind comments! It is something my husband & I have often joked about, the fact that people just come & up and talk to me. I really do find people interesting & am ever open to hearing their story, for in doing so, we often learn something not just about them, but about ourselves as well!

  6. I hate when a stranger tries to trike up a conversation with me. I am very introverted and, when they start to ask questions, I tend to give as non-committal answers as possible. Just so that maybe they’ll leave me alone.

    • Lynn says:

      I can see how this could be difficult for you Emilio if your tendency is to be introverted. In my work, I have to talk to people I don’t know all of the time so I suppose I am just comfortable striking up conversation with someone I have never met before.

      I appreciate you taking the time to “talk” to me! Cheers!

Please don't be shy, feel free to get in on the conversation & leave a reply!

