Lessons in Life – Lesson #2 – The Value of Time

windowAwhile back, I wrote a piece here, promising to occasionally share a few life lessons.  There are some benefits to getting old  middle age, one of them being, the older we get, the more opportunity we have to gather tidbits of wisdom with each passing year of life experience.

In reading the quote above, it occurred to me, that one of the things I have learned, or certainly become more aware of, is the value of time.

I often wonder how I arrived at this point in my life so quickly?

Wasn’t it just yesterday I held my infant children in my arms? Didn’t we just move into our house of almost 25 years?  How is it possible that my husband & I will be celebrating our 32nd wedding anniversary this year?

When we look to the future, seemingly, we think we have an infinite period to pursue all that we hope to achieve or accomplish.  Alternatively, when we look to our past, it appears that the moments, the days & the years have sped by at lightning speed!

Time ticks away & we barely even notice it passing.

What are you putting off in the hopes that, at some point, you will have time?

Perhaps you keep promising yourself that you will get healthier.  Maybe you are dreaming of a place you would like to visit or a person you hope to reconnect with.

What are you waiting for?

Set the necessary steps in motion to make it happen, whatever “it” is.  None of us truly know how much time we have.

We must take advantage of every precious day we are given.

Hugs,

L

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

22 Responses to Lessons in Life – Lesson #2 – The Value of Time

  1. Sandra Kelly says:

    So very true my friend.

  2. Sue Slaght says:

    Couldn’t agree more Lynn. This is why \I get a lot of ” you must be crazy, bonkers, mad, etc”. No the fact is the clock is ticking and quickly. I am determined to stuff the minutes full of living. 🙂

  3. Completely agree with you. I suppose I hope that one day I’ll get a nice family vacation with Mike and the baby. Just us for one full week somewhere. I keep thinking we’ll have time.

    • Lynn says:

      Some our favourite memories & family stories come from our family vacations Loni. Whether they are good or bad, they become part of our history together & are laughed about over & over.

      I encourage you to just start working towards the vacation you are hoping for. Even if it takes awhile to make it happen, much of the fun is in the planning!

  4. Heather says:

    Truly words of wisdom. The final line speaks volumes in more ways than I think you know. Time…. yes not only with you but with loved ones too. These words come to me at a very difficult time so I thank you Lynn. Beautifully spoken. xoxox

    • Lynn says:

      I am so sorry you are going through a difficult time Heather. Life sometimes hands us challenges that literally turns our world upside down. If I can help in any way, an ear, a shoulder, a bottle of wine, you only to reach out my friend. Sending you love & hugs:)

  5. restlessjo says:

    So why am I sitting here at this keyboard and not out there racing around? 🙂 🙂 Well, it is only 6.53 in the morning! Thanks, Lynn! We hear you.

  6. Lynn says:

    Some days we feel like that, don’t we? Why am I not taking advantage of this time? But you are, it’s called relaxing! Thanks for popping in Jo!

  7. My wife and I want to travel but, unfortunately family obligations…. So we take weekends where we can!

  8. Cheryl Marsh says:

    🙂 hmmm! love the quote, tx.
    cheers, God Bless
    love, c

    Cheryl Marsh

    Date: Wed, 16 Jul 2014 17:10:37 +0000
    To: clmavon@hotmail.com

  9. pieterk515 says:

    Where is the “love this” button when you need it? If only more people get this, maybe there would be fewer people moping around, complaining about life, and in so doing, miss the countless blessing they actually have.
    I am saddened by wasted lives…

  10. Lynn says:

    Too true Pieter. So many spend countless hours focusing on the negative rather than all of the positives. Thank you for your enthusiastic encouragement on this post, it brought a smile to my face,

  11. Dani says:

    Thank you for today’s dose of perspective, Lynn. Especially this:

    “Set the necessary steps in motion to make it happen, whatever “it” is.”

    Blessings,
    Dani

    • Lynn says:

      You are most welcome Dani! Whatever we hoping to achieve, I truly believe we need to grab hold of life & make every attempt to fulfill our hopes & dreams. Midlife has taught me that time passes by so very quickly. At the very least, I hope I can look back on my life & feel that I made every effort to make things happen!

    • Lynn says:

      Thank you Dani, for reading! I have learned that time passes so very quickly, we must never lose sight of the fact that we may not have endless tomorrows. It is up to us to grab hold of life & live it to our very fullest. Thank you so much for visiting:)

  12. joannesisco says:

    Lynn, this message is such an important one and we all need to be reminded of it periodically. Your comments about time passing in what seems like the blink of an eye often reminds of the John Lennon quote – Life happens when you’re busy making other plans.
    Like so many other kindred spirits I have found blogging, I intend to squeeze every bit out of life out of the minutes I have that is possible!

    • Lynn says:

      I love that quote from John, Joanne. I do think as we age, we are much more in tune with how quickly time passes. Like you, I try to soak in all of life’s day to day moments. Meeting kindred spirits here has inspired me in so many ways. Thank you for being one of them!

Please don't be shy, feel free to get in on the conversation & leave a reply!

