Daily Prompt: Always Something There to Remind Me

http://dailypost.wordpress.com/2014/03/02/prompt-remind-me/

A song comes on the radio and instantly, you’re transported to a different time and place. Which song(s) bring back memories for you and why? Be sure to mention the song, and describe the memory it evokes.

Music has the uncanny ability to transport us instantly back in time.  Simply by listening to a familiar song that had meaning in our lives, emotions are conjured up & we are flooded with memories of a particular moment or era.

Just yesterday, my husband & I were reminiscing about a song that will forever be etched in our hearts as representing a time of days gone by.  A time when our children were little & our days were filled with finding ways of entertaining them for hours on end.

On any given Saturday &/or Sunday, the same request could be heard in our home.  “Daddy, play Brucer”  The 45’s would be popped on the record player & the sound of “Brucer” would fill our basement.  Our kids, my husband & more often than not, our niece & nephew could be found happily parading & dancing around our rec room as they enjoyed Mr. Springsteen belting out his tune, Glory Days.

As we listened to this song play yesterday, smiles crept across our faces & we were once again filled with memories of the simplest of times with our kids.  25+ years have passed,  they were Glory Days indeed!

What songs take you back to a memorable place or time?

Hugs,

L♥

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

20 Responses to Daily Prompt: Always Something There to Remind Me

  1. Pingback: Bluer Than Blue | THE MARRIED MAN WHO LOVES HIS X

  2. finlaym1 says:

    Great question! I could mention quite a few songs. Maybe I should blog about them!? x

    • Lynn says:

      I agree! So many songs that remind us of so many things! This one happened to come to my mind simply because I was reminded of it yesterday!

  3. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Always Something There to Remind Me | Incidents of a Dysfunctional Spraffer

  4. Sandra Kelly says:

    Here’s an oldie, a few days ago I heard Chubby Checker sing The Twist and was taken back to my first teen ‘mixed’ party when the girls wore ponytails and the boys Brylcreem. Happy times!
    Thanks Lynn for letting me share. 🙂

  5. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Always Something There to Remind Me | Nola Roots, Texas Heart

  6. joannesisco says:

    For my husband & I , the song is Celebrate by Kool and The Gang. It’s ‘our’ song that we decided we wanted for our first dance at our wedding….a little bit unorthodox but what can I say … 🙂

  7. sueslaght says:

    My brother and I loved the Beatles. Between the two of us we owned most of the albums. I can’t help but think of him when any Beatles’ song plays.

    • Lynn says:

      Did you catch the special a few weeks ago Sue with Paul & Ringo? It was wonderful and a great tribute to an era of music that just never gets old. I share your love of the Beatles. Whenever I hear Hey Jude, I feel my Dad’s presence immediately.

  8. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Always Something There to Remind Me | Chronicles of an Anglo Swiss

  9. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Always Something There to Remind Me | Writing Canvas

  10. Pingback: Poem / Poetry – “Abstract Alliterative Acrostalyptica” | toofulltowrite (I've started so I'll finish)

  11. Cheryl Marsh says:

    🙂 THANK YOU, THANK YOU! love ‘Brucer’ too, what great memories, tx SO MUCH for sharing .. what a treasured gift you have and are!!! And so many songs and so many memories, let them keep being.
    cheers, God Bless
    love, c
    ps – and I can ‘see’ the kids rocking on, so many times, in particular ski holidays

    Cheryl Marsh

    Date: Sun, 2 Mar 2014 19:11:23 +0000
    To: clmavon@hotmail.com

    • Lynn says:

      You are so sweet Cheryl, thank you for your comment. I wanted to add a video clip of the kids dancing to Brucer but I couldn’t figure out how to just take a piece of our home video to post.
      Oh my, remember those wonderful ski vacations with all of our families? The kids loved nothing more than to perform for all of us adults. Thank you for reminding me of those moments:)

  12. Pingback: of leaving | Anawnimiss

  13. amanpan says:

    I am right there with you. I still listen to the radio. I go back a ways 50’s, 60’s, 70’s, 80’s and 90’s. Love them all. Favs are: Roy Orbison. Beatles, Stones, Led Zeppelin – to name a few.
    Rock on.

    • Lynn says:

      I too, am a lover of pretty much all music, although I have never been a fan of heavy metal. Music feeds our souls! Thanks for stopping by today!

Please don't be shy, feel free to get in on the conversation & leave a reply!

