Planting a Seed

Up until the age of 42, my experience in travelling to Europe was limited, to say the least.  With the exception of a trip to England with my Mom & my younger brother at the age of 16, Europe was a line on my bucket list, yet to be realised.

The dream to travel to this part of the world became a reality one evening when I attended a family function and my sister-in-law, “C”,  shared with me that she & 2 of her sisters from the West coast were meeting in Europe to head out on a 3 week adventure to Holland, France & Italy.

The girls had rented a beautiful property in the Provence Region of France which we quickly pulled up on the computer to take a look at.  As I sat oohing & aahing over the link to their fabulous accommodation,  C unknowingly planted a seed by uttering 3 little words to me.

“You should come.”

My first reaction to her suggestion was that I couldn’t possibly go.  With our son heading off to university in 4 months, it seemed inconceivable that I could come up with funds to head out on a 3 week vacation with the girls.

Or could I?  Rarely do I give in to what I can’t do rather than what I canCall me resourceful!

You see, the beauty of travelling with 3 other people is that many of your expenses are divided amongst the 4 of you, thus actually making your travel costs quite economical.

With some creative financing, the selling of a kidney, & a wee bit of compromise, mostly to assuage my own guilt, I decided to join the girls for 2 of the 3 weeks.  I would meet them in Paris, head south to the Provence Region for a week followed by an additional week in Italy.

This would be my first of many “girl” adventures & my sister-in-law would continue to be one of my best travel mates for future destinations.  I am incredibly blessed to share a unique & wonderful relationship with her, not only because we became family through our being married to brothers, but because I consider her to be one of my very dearest friends.  How lucky am I?

Heading south on the train to Avignon!

On the train from Paris to Avignon, getting ready to crack open the wine!

Oh, in case you were wondering, I didn’t really sell a kidney, although I may have to one day, given my never-ending desire to travel.

For those of you planning a future trip to the south of France, here is the link to the property that started it all for me!  If you are ever in the Provence area, I would highly recommend you take a peek!  Le Jas des Parpaillous  More to come about this property & the surrounding area.

Jusqu’à la prochaine fois

Hugs,

L

This entry was posted in Wanderlust and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Planting a Seed

  1. sueslaght says:

    Well stop short of selling a kidney but I’m with you …get resourceful. Traveling is such a life enriching experiencing. Do it near and far, every day is a journey and a gift.

    • Lynn says:

      I couldn’t agree more Sue! It seems that too often we wish for that “some day” to visit places we dream of & sadly, for so many, that some day never comes. We need to find ways to act on those dreams, making them a reality. for in doing so, our lives are enriched tenfold. Thanks for stopping by:)

  2. joannesisco says:

    Once I started travelling, I thought my wanderlust would diminish. The opposite happened. The more I see the world, the more I want to see … and that doesn’t count the places I would like to go back to and re-experience – again, and again, and again. I agree with your comment that our lives are enriched tenfold by experiencing the world beyond our immediate borders!!

    • Lynn says:

      You are so right Joanne! Once our eyes & our hearts are open to all of the amazing places there are to explore, the possibilities seem endless! Thanks so much for stopping by & sharing your thoughts:)

  3. Jane says:

    There are so many opportunities and so little time, but resourcefulness pays off! Waiting for confirmation of a Helpx experience in Newfoundland in April! Would love to see one of those giant ice bergs floating by and hike some of the east coast trail while staying with a local!

    • Lynn says:

      Jane, you are one of the most resourceful people I have ever known! That is so exciting, can’t wait to chat with you about it! As you know, getting out to Newfoundland is on my list of things to do!

  4. restlessjo says:

    Followed the link, Lynn. Those old stone cottages are beautiful! Never been to France other than Paris in my youth. There’s a lot of it! (though not as much as Canada 🙂 )

  5. Pingback: Provence Region of France – Ooh là là | Life After 50

Please don't be shy, feel free to get in on the conversation & leave a reply!

