Getting Healthy vs Getting Thin

With the calendar flipping over to February this past week, I couldn’t help but notice the surge of people at the gym is once again starting to dwindle.  I don’t think I would be going too far out on a limb to suggest that there are those who made promises to themselves somewhere around January 1st.  Promises to get their asses moving active, lose some weight & feel better about themselves.

Getting Healthy vs Getting Thin. Two very different goals in my opinion.

For me, getting healthy implies working towards having your mind, body & spirit being in the best possible place that it can be.

Getting thin, on the other hand, suggests shedding weight to feel satisfied with the person you see in the mirror.  Okay, & perhaps fitting back in to your skinny jeans!  Without a muffin top.

I am not a trainer, I do not hold a degree in nutrition, I am not a spokesperson for any weight loss company.  Hell, I don’t even own a set of scales.  I have however, come to understand that when I am active, I not only look better, but I feel better!  I will shock you even further & tell you that there is actually research to support this theory!  I know, crazy talk, isn’t it?

Some would argue that I have been blessed with long limbs & a great metabolism.  I wouldn’t dispute this point.  Thank you to my parents for gifting me these genes.  But, that doesn’t mean that I don’t have to work at being healthy.  Age has a funny way of redistributing weight in the oddest places…just sayin’!

Rather than focus on getting thin, focus on a desire to be in the best health you can possibly be.  Engage in a lifestyle that gets you moving.  Don’t wait for a health scare of some sort to encourage you to change how you approach each day.  There is never a better time to improve yourself than right here & right now.  Not on January 1, 2015.

RIGHT NOW!!!

I encourage you to step outside of your box & get uncomfortable.  Live on the edge. Or as my cycling coach likes to remind us as we are sweating our asses off & gasping for what feels like our very last breath:

“If you are not living on the edge, you are taking up to much space!”

What do you do to stay active?

Have a great weekend:0)

Hugs,

L

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Getting Healthy vs Getting Thin

  1. Karen mcboyle says:

    I love your attitude, Lynn and agree that exercising is to promote healthy body and mind not to dwell on numbers on the scale or weight loss…we have too many adds to promote the later and too many young girls who are ill because of it…I love to dance, bike and x country. I try to do something every day even if it’s just a walk ( which I love )….

    • Lynn says:

      That’s awesome Karen! Getting in some form of physical activity each day is just good for the soul! Seems to me you play a mean game of golf as well:) Thanks for dropping by.

  2. Jean says:

    I’m a long-time cyclist. I am partially blessed genes of petite bone frame but yes, there is happy effort in staying healthy at 55.

    • Lynn says:

      Agreed Jean! I am fairly new to the cycling world, heading into my 3rd season of riding. I must say that I love it both for the exercise as well as the sheer joy of just being outside & enjoying the beautiful scenery around me. As a cyclist, you might also enjoy a post I wrote awhile back. You can find it here. https://lymart.wordpress.com/2013/05/22/me-my-shadow-2/ Thank you so much for reading:) Happy cycling!

  3. sueslaght says:

    Lynn I agree about the need to get comfortable about being uncomfortable. When one accepts that being fit and healthy requires this, the journey to wellness is much easier.

    • Lynn says:

      Too true Sue. There are times when I think there is no way I can push myself or my body any further. Once I work through that “uncomfortable” feeling, I realise it is my brain telling me that rather than what I am actually capable of doing! Thanks for stopping by!

  4. Andy says:

    You have a great approach to health and fitness. Changing our lifestyle to a healthier one is what most of us really need.

  5. finlaym1 says:

    Hi Lynn, I recently lost 22lbs and feel so much better. I have a very physical job on top of that I ride horses everyday so I guess I get plenty of exercise. I could be healthier though, better diet less sugar etc and that is something I’m working on.
    I never used to give my health a second thought. I think getting older makes me more careful 🙂 x

    • Lynn says:

      So lovely to hear from you! It is interesting how much better we feel when we are at a more healthy weight, both physically & mentally. I love that you ride every day. Horses are not only good for our exercise but they are also so good for our soul.

  6. Cheryl Marsh says:

    🙂 and on a ‘lighter’ note.. great wisdom, tx!
    love, c
    ps – esp. as I contemplate a personal trainer!

    Cheryl Marsh

    Date: Fri, 7 Feb 2014 20:50:45 +0000
    To: clmavon@hotmail.com

  7. Don’t ask me why, but I love the term muffin top. It sounds as if you could be a life coach on this subject. It escapes so many people, and not just women. I have a friend who’s been trying to lose weight since his blood pressure and Cholesterol are so high, and he won’t exercise. I tell him, that’s the key…but no.
    Nice piece…sorry I hadn’t read it sooner.

    • Lynn says:

      I so agree Susannah. Exercise is a key component & something that is lacking for so many! There is no quick fix to good health, but rather finding a good balance in our day to day lives.

      Muffin top is a funny little term. No scales necessary, just put on your jeans & if you need to squeeze all of that extra above the waistline, chances are a good walk is what you should be seeking!

      Thanks for reading!

Please don't be shy, feel free to get in on the conversation & leave a reply!

