You ARE Awesome

you-are-awesomeYesterday I was out on a little shopping adventure with some girlfriends & I came across a card that looked something like this.

It spoke to me as the New Year tends to be a time of year when we set goals for ourselves, redefine what we should look like or who we should be, often resulting in disappointment.

What if, rather than worry about whether we need to lose a few pounds or beat ourselves up to live happier, healthier, richer lives, we chose this mantra instead?

It is a pretty simple statement, yet one that most of us would have difficulty in acknowledging.  It seems we spend much more time criticizing ourselves for everything that we aren’t rather than everything that we are.

I have never been one for New Year’s resolutions.  Most of us know exactly the parts of ourselves that we need to improve upon.  I call it, a work in progress.

But, I ask you.  Have you ever considered what are the parts of yourself that you find most awesome?

Food for thought….

Happy New Year!

Hugs,

L

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to You ARE Awesome

  1. finlaym1 says:

    Hi, happy new year!
    An interesting question…. I don’t think I’ve ever thought about it.
    I’ll get back to you lol 🙂

    • Lynn says:

      Happy New Year to you my friend! I think that is why the card jumped out at me, it is not something we give thought to. I dare you to come up with at least one awesome trait about yourself!

  2. Sandra Kelly says:

    So very true Lynn. Hard to do but definitely a worthwhile goal.

  3. Cheryl Marsh says:

    🙂 food for thought, you awesome-in-so-many-ways you!!
    tx again,
    cheers, God Bless
    c

    Cheryl Marsh

    Date: Sun, 5 Jan 2014 21:06:27 +0000
    To: clmavon@hotmail.com

  4. Cheryl Marsh says:

    ps – may I share this (again!)?
    tx, c

    Cheryl Marsh

    Date: Sun, 5 Jan 2014 21:06:27 +0000
    To: clmavon@hotmail.com

  5. Wonderful thoughts! Thanks for the visit to my blog today, and I really like what you have written here. I may have to start to do that…

  6. Hurrahkayne says:

    Love this! An awesome thing about you? Seems like positivity! 🙂

  7. Hurrahkayne says:

    Reblogged this on U-kit and commented:
    Sharing this blog because you know I love encouraging positive thinking and happiness.

  8. sueslaght says:

    Lynn this is a great post! What is awesome about me? Well I am a good communicator and story teller. I’m also not afraid to try new things even if I am really bad at them. Of course this can lead to such things as running a marathon…very slowly 🙂

    • Lynn says:

      Running a marathon, even at a slow pace, is an incredible feat! GOOD FOR YOU!!! Thank you for the compliment on this post. It seems that so many of us spend so much energy on everything that is wrong about ourselves rather than focussing on all of the wonderful attributes we possess. I appreciate the kind words:-)

      • sueslaght says:

        Thank you so much Lynn. I will humbly say it was extraordinarily challenging to train for and to do but the feeling coming across that finish line will warm my heart when I am a little old lady in the rocking chair. Of course I will still want to tell everyone the story over…and over… 🙂

Please don't be shy, feel free to get in on the conversation & leave a reply!

