A Flashback Moment

One of the wonderful things about writing a blog is that you meet other people who also love to write & share.

Pushing on a Rope is a blog that I follow.  Terri is a proud Mom just like me, navigating her way through middle age & all that this time in our life entails!  On Friday she wrote a post called Flashback Friday-Decking the Halls, where she wrote about memories of trimming the Christmas tree.

What caught my attention was the picture of Terri & her sister trimming the tree with their hair all done up in curlers.  I was transformed back to a time when my mother used to go to bed with those bristly curlers in her head.  I have no idea how women slept in those horrible things.  If the curlers weren’t uncomfortable enough, the pins that held them in could puncture a hole in your head that would most likely take you to hospital!

Although I was a bit of a tomboy when I was growing up , I think my mother managed to get curlers in my hair a couple of times.  This is surprising considering  she could barely get a brush through my hair let alone curlers!   Thankfully, foam curlers had been invented with a little plastic snap so the chances of obtaining puncture wounds was less threatening!

Although I didn’t allow my Mom too much opportunity to fuss with my hair, one of the things I used to love to do was to dress up my younger brother & put his hair in curlers.

After reading Terri’s post, it prompted me to go in search of the photo I was recalling to her.  Here you go Terri!  Thanks for reminding me of this time in my life!  I think I have already apologised to my brother for doing this to him but in case he forgot, I extend that apology once more!  He was just so damn cute!  Clearly I wanted a sister!!!

curler-heads

scan0008

Hugs,

L

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to A Flashback Moment

  1. Karen says:

    Thanks for the memories, Lynn! You and baby brother are so adorable! As a member of the “impossibly thick, unruly hair club” I have fond memories of trying my best to sit still while Mum gently and lovingly combed out my crazy hair and put in either rollers, pin curls or rags. When going through her things, her own little basket of bristly curlers just had to be kept..it’s the little things that bring the most comfort. xo

    • Lynn says:

      Awe, thanks Karen:) Sounds like you were more patient than I! My mom finally just got fed up & cut my hair short for a period of time so that she didn’t have to deal with my constant complaining! As you can see from the photo, I am somewhat of an expert with curlers so I would be only too happy to set your mane for you any old time! Just sayin’! Glad this little post brought back a lovely memory of your mum, I know how much you miss her. Thanks for reading & commenting:)

  2. Doreen says:

    Oh Lynn, those pictures are the best! And I remember wearing those curlers many many times. My Mom still has them and I believe still uses them.

    • Lynn says:

      They are too funny, aren’t they? My poor brother, he was such a good sport! It seems a number of our Moms still have these torturous things kicking around! Thanks for dropping in:)

  3. Cheryl Marsh says:

    🙂 LOL, good memories! xo

    Cheryl Marsh Date: Sat, 7 Dec 2013 21:58:24 +0000 To: clmavon@hotmail.com

Please don't be shy, feel free to get in on the conversation & leave a reply!

