Password Purgatory

It occurred to me this morning, as I was trying once again to remember yet another password, I am living in password purgatory.

I was attempting to download some music which, can I just say, is another reminder of how damn old I am.   The fact that I still feel the need to actually purchase music legally is a definite sign of my age!  And another thing, do you download music or upload it?  Just another question for us old folks to ponder.

It seems we are living in a world where we need a password for pretty much everything these days.

Whether we are checking email, voicemail,  Facebook,  online banking, booking a flight or trying to get into our own blog site, a password is required to enter.  I admit that I do have a couple of go to passwords.  Ones that I have developed in order to not feel like I am totally losing my memory each time I login to something. There are times however, when it appears my go to’s do not pass muster.

The secret service security ghoul in computer land informs you that this is not a secure and acceptable password.  In order to process the $1.29 purchase of music, you must choose a password that consists of a series of 14 letters, 18 numbers, a capital and no other symbols.

Yeah, like I am going to remember that!  Okay, I am exaggerating a wee bit but honestly, come on!!!

Oh, & don’t even get me started on pin numbers.  Yes, I know you feel my pain.  You find yourself standing in a checkout breaking into a cold sweat because you can’t remember your damn pin number!

Suddenly the cashier is looking at you with a raised eyebrow & you find yourself somehow feeling like a criminal that has stolen someone else’s card & is tying to access their account or credit.

After exhausting all options, you decide to try another card.  Perhaps you will have success with that one!  By this time, a lineup of 20 people has formed behind you tapping their fingers, straining their heads to see if the cashier has been robbed because it’s taking so long to cash out. At this point, you sigh/chuckle & apologise.  It appears I am having a brain fart….again.  Guess I’ll use cash:)

Surely we must be coming into an age where we can all just be microchipped with our own  pin/password combination.  One that works for any and all things we are trying to access on our behalf. It sure would make life a whole lot easier.

Now, if I could just remember my telephone number….

Hugs,

L

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Password Purgatory

  1. karen mcboyle says:

    I laughed hard over this one!!! I have them all written down in various hiding places which I cant remember either and I only seem to forget the passwords when I am out of the house and not near them……

  2. finlaym1 says:

    Haha! I’m so like this! Too much for my ageing brain to remember 😀

  3. Debbie says:

    Almost daily, eh?! Well, not quite. But yeah, this happens to us. For me, it’s my Visa card for sure that I always get messed up on because I use it so rarely. ;P

  4. Sandra Kelly says:

    I totally get it! Just remembering how to log in to get to this site has worn me out…… Better have a lie down 😉

  5. Cheryl Marsh says:

    :() so true!, tx for the LOL!! xo

    Cheryl Marsh Date: Sat, 28 Sep 2013 18:31:22 +0000 To: clmavon@hotmail.com

  6. J T Weaver says:

    I cheated and spent my career in Computer Science. Just to help you out, upload (out) sends a file of yours somewhere else (like WordPress). Download (in) brings a file of someone else’s to you (like iTunes). Download speeds are roughly 8 times faster than upload speeds. No one seems to know why.

  7. pieterk515 says:

    You summed up my frustration brilliantly!!

  8. LG says:

    Brilliant. Love that cartoon..it’s actually a wonderful idea. Much better than my “I_cant_remember” password.

  9. Lynn says:

    LOL! Thanks for popping in LG & for the follow:)

Please don't be shy, feel free to get in on the conversation & leave a reply!

