Of all the things I’ve lost…

If you are anywhere close to what we will call middle-age, you know how to finish the title on this post.  “Of all the things I’ve lost, I miss my mind the most.”

The first time I heard this was a number of years ago.  My Mom saw it on a bumper sticker and thought it was hysterical.  I am talking, tears running down her face hysterical!  I honestly didn’t see much humour in it at the time but, because she was in fits of laughter over it, I laughed right along with her.  That’s just what good daughters do!

Fast forward a few years & suddenly I find myself making a list to go to the grocery story for anything beyond one  two items.  I put reminders in my phone for the most benign tasks.  Remember to call so & so, remember to look for a document, remember to take meat out of the freezer.

Then there are those moments when you are telling a story & suddenly you experience, what I like to refer to as a brain fart.  Mid sentence, as everyone is hanging on your every word, you find the flow of language has suddenly been interrupted for no apparent reason.

What was it I was going to say?  I know it was an extremely important part of the story.  You dig deep in your brain to come up with where you were going with this story but simply end up saying, “WELL NEVER MIND, it will come to me!  This will most likely occur in your sleep, in the middle of the night.  You will wake up suddenly remembering what it was you so desperately wanted to share but the fact that it is 2am somehow feels that it would not be an appropriate time to start calling your friends to finish your story.

Adding to this lost brain function is that fact that, for the life of you, you can’t remember certain words or names. I am no academic scholar but dammit, why can’t I remember that person’s name! Suddenly you find yourself working your way through the alphabet … Al, Avery, Anastasia, you catch my drift.

The one comfort in all of this is that it appears I am not alone in this affliction.  I am surrounded by people who have lost their minds.  Rest assured, we are a very supportive group.

It’s like playing a wonderful game of charades when we get together.  Some of us need to excuse ourselves while we run to the bathroom because we are laughing too hard, but that is a post for another time.

Now if I could just find my damn glasses!

Happy Thursday, oh wait…it’s Friday!

Hugs,

L

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Of all the things I’ve lost…

  1. John Deremo says:

    Looks like I don’t have to worry now … you’ve reassured me that it happens to the best (of course I’m talking about you) so no more worry … what was it I was referring to ?? ……………. Cheers!!

  2. Chris says:

    How many times have we had those conversations….I think a bit of Doreen is channeling through…was that Thursday or Friday?? What were we talking about? Thank God for our “ABC’s”…maybe that’s why it’s the first thing we learn in school…HMMMMMM!

  3. Cheryl Marsh says:

    :)!! too true, and a good LOL, tx! love, c

    Cheryl Marsh Date: Fri, 13 Sep 2013 15:45:51 +0000 To: clmavon@hotmail.com

  4. I know that I’ve arrived at this post quite late in the day but what’s a few years when you get to our time of life? Seriously I can relate to all that you say so well, only this morning it took my husband and I over 10 minutes with our combined brain power to come up with the name of a near by town which we visit fairly often! Use it or lose I guess.

    • Lynn says:

      Thank you so much for reading & for the follow, it’s always so lovely to have new readers. Isn’t it awful when that happens? It is like the word is sitting right there, waiting to pop out but it just won’t come out!

      I remember by grandmother used to take forever to recount a story as she would make herself remember names of people or places, what day it was etc. She told me she read somewhere that it was important to stop & make yourself remember the details as otherwise, your brain got lazy. I now understand what she was talking about!

      • Can’t believe how pleasing it is getting to meet new people through this media and how gratifying that someone actually enjoys what I write. I can only hope it may continue for a long time.

Please don't be shy, feel free to get in on the conversation & leave a reply!

