Simple Joys

The other day I read something that got me to thinking about simple joys.

Those small little moments in time that fill your heart with an overwhelming feeling of love & a sense that all is right with the world, even if it is just for that moment.   I would guess that most of us have experienced simple joys although our definition of what they are may vary.

Life gets overwhelming for most of us at any given time.  I thought it might be a wonderful way to start the week to simply share what you consider to be a simple joy in your life.  Here are a few of mine:

Any time spent with my children

Hugs

Laughing with a friend until your sides hurt

An unexpected call or message from someone you love or haven’t heard from in some time

Hearing the words “I Love You”

When my husband brings me a coffee before he heads for work;)

Knowing you made a difference for someone by simply being there for them

Listening to the birds chatter excitedly when I fill the bird feeder

I could go on & on but I am interested in what makes your heart fill with joy.   Share the love, tell me … what makes your heart fill with a sense of joy?

Hugs,

L

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

17 Responses to Simple Joys

  1. finlaym1 says:

    I have a couple… when my 5 year old laughs uncontrollably. The other, when my horse sees me and whinnies, saying hello 🙂

    • Lynn says:

      Laughing children are so contagious, it is such a wonderful sound. Love the one about the horse as well, my daughter has her own horse, I am certain she would share that sentiment with you. Thanks for sharing:0)

  2. John Deremo says:

    When your grand kids call you papa for the 1st time …… ( don’t worry Lynn … that too will be here soon enough )

  3. Robin says:

    When I come in the door after being out and my dogs tail thumps away on the floor showing how much he has missed me. It doesn’t matter whether I have been gone for 5 hours or 5 minutes his excitement is always the same!

  4. John says:

    Trying again! I had to pick and choose among the small joys, and my choices changed since last night:

    1. Pedaling downhill on a bicycle
    2. Finding a cherry at the very bottom of a single scoop cherry-vanilla ice cream cone
    3. A loon’s call early early in the morning

    • Lynn says:

      Thanks for your persistence John! I think I must have been a racer in another life as I love that feeling of speeding down a hill on my bike! Appreciate you taking the time to comment:-)

  5. Mary Anne says:

    Being the recipient of a random active of kindness. Being the doer of a random act of kindness. Or just watching a stranger do something nice for someone else.

  6. Mary Anne says:

    Oh and one more thing that makes me smile. Passing Lynn while we are out riding on our bikes . . . and it sure does not happen going down those hills.

    • Lynn says:

      This made me laugh out loud! You are a powerhouse on hills my friend & pass me with what appears to be no effort at all! As mentioned above in my comment to John, I think I must have been a racer in my past life…catch me if you can!

  7. Doreen H. says:

    When my baby grandaughter stares at me with those big beautiful blue eyes and then cracks a little smile. Makes my heart melt.

  8. restlessjo says:

    A walk, on a beach, or in the countryside.
    And the simple joy of finding a new follower 🙂 Nice to meet you, Lynn.

  9. Cheryl Marsh says:

    🙂 here, here!, and so thankful to have abilities to enjoy; although I sometimes think listening a chore, it’s often so much more, a satisfying gift & treasure cheers, God Bless – and thank you SO much for your beautiful, treasured gifts Lynn.. and we have some great photos to prove too!! love, c

    Cheryl Marsh Date: Mon, 12 Aug 2013 19:43:35 +0000 To: clmavon@hotmail.com

Please don't be shy, feel free to get in on the conversation & leave a reply!

