Time to Decompress in New Brunswick

Recently, my husband & I decided to take a trip to the East Coast of Canada as it is a part of our country neither of us have ventured until now.  The Maritimes have often been described to me by a number of friends that have either grown up there or visited, but seeing this beautiful part of our country with my own eyes has helped me to understand the passion with which these natives speak so lovingly of their home.

Our first stop in the Maritimes was New Brunswick, a province with never-ending trees, unspoiled beauty & a much slower pace of life.

We ventured to the very bottom of the province to a little place call Alma which sits along the Bay of Fundy.  Alma has a population of about 200 (according to a young girl we spoke to at the National Park entrance) and sits just outside the Fundy National Park .  If you are looking for discos, bars & nightlife, you will want to consider an alternate destination for you will not find it here.

This place is about nature, decompressing & outdoor adventure. Oh & seafood!   After researching this small community, we decided to stay at Cliffside Suites in Alma. If you are planning a trip to this area, is an awesome place to stay.  It is a beautiful property perched on the side of the cliff overlooking the bay, where you can sit to watch the tide come in and go out.  The owners are so respectful of the privacy of your vacation, you would barely know that they live on the property.

View from Cliffside Suites

View from Cliffside Suites

Our first day consisted of a good bike ride (we brought our bikes with us in hopes of getting some cycling in).  This is not an area to cycle for the faint at heart.  There are many hills & good climbs which, if you recall from a past post, I am not a big fan of!  Up until this point, I have never actually bailed out on a hill but, I must confess, there appears to be a first time for everything.

As we cycled up, what I now refer to as BASTARD HILL, I was either going to start sliding backwards or I needed to get off of my bike.  I will let you decide which option I chose!  Did I mention that it was also about 1000 degrees outside?

Taken from the National Park - Bastard Hill off in the distance.

Taken from the National Park – Bastard Hill off in the distance.

After our ride, a sticky bun from Kelly’s Bakery & a much-needed shower, we decided to drive out to a beautiful spot along the coast called Cape Enrage, a recommendation from a friend who lived in this area.

When we arrived, the tide was out so we spent some time walking the beach, climbing along the rocks & marvelling at the sheer magnificence of this place.

96

The original heart shaped rock I had found & taken a picture of.

As we were meandering,  I found a lovely heart-shaped rock & took a picture of it.  I am not sure why I didn’t pick it up but at the time, I guess I was not wanting to disturb nature.

A few days later, after we finished kayaking in & out of Hopewell Rocks along the coastline, on our drive back we decided to make another stop at Cape Enrage to see if we could once again find the heart-shaped rock to bring it home with us.

I know, ridiculous right?

There are only a few gazillion rocks on the beach, not to mention that the tide comes in & out everyday.  How hard could it be?  We figured we were on holidays, so why not give it the old college try?

What we did not anticipate was that when we returned to Cape Enrage, the tide was in, which meant the beach was now covered in water.  In addition to searching along the rocks, we had to wait for the tide to go out in order to search along the beach as well.

Herein lies the beauty & magic of this place.   The act of searching for a specific heart-shaped rock amidst a gazillion does not faze you.

My husband & I spent the next few hours in search of our rock, waiting patiently as the tide gradually ebbed back out to sea exposing the sand.

After what we determined to be a good effort on our part, we gave in.  We didn’t find our rock but it really didn’t seem to matter.  Having spent the last few hours barely uttering a word to one another, listening to the waves while breathing in the salt air off of the ocean, was all the reward we needed.

In our “normal” world, where it seems we run from one thing to the next on a daily basis, this simple afternoon of walking along the ocean seemed liked the perfect thing to do.  I don’t think either of us have felt this relaxed in some time.

205

My husband searching for our rock.

Some might say we were defeated in our attempt to recover what we were seeking, but I disagree.  We simply decided to leave one heart in the ocean & bring another home with us.  It seemed like the right thing to do!

If you have never had the chance to visit this beautiful province & would like to decompress, I invite you to try it.  Your soul will thank you!

Here are a few more pics of our wonderful time spent in New Brunswick.

82

90

Cape Enrage

186

Kayaking in Hopewell Rocks. Clearly I am the muscle in this duo!

Have you ever visited New Brunswick?

Hugs,

L

This entry was posted in Wanderlust and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Time to Decompress in New Brunswick

  1. Joanne Morrissey says:

    It is an awesome place to explore. John and I love it and there are tons of Morrisseys there in Fundy. Joanne

    Date: Mon, 29 Jul 2013 01:06:45 +0000 To: jmorsey54@hotmail.com

  2. Jane says:

    Loved New Brunswick when I visited a few years ago. Hopewell Rocks area is amazing. Glad you had a wonderful trip!!

  3. Carolyn says:

    Well, Lynn, what can I say? It’s my home!

  4. Margaret Fraser says:

    It is indeed a place to reflect and decompress. I remember many a summer in my youth spent in Fundy National Park for family reunions and craft fairs my grandfather had woodwork displays in. In later years in High School a few summers were spent rock climbing and repelling at Cape Enrage. That will have to be part of your next trip as you will have to come back for more.
    So glad you enjoyed your trip in one of the most beautiful and undisturbed parts of Canada.

    Shhhhhhhhh and don’t tell anybody.

    • Lynn says:

      Hahahaha…Margaret, between cycling, hiking in the National Park & kayaking, we felt we met our quota of exercise. We did some rock climbing & repelling when we were in Alaska a few years ago…awesome!

  5. Cheryl Marsh says:

    🙂 How absolutely fabulous Lynn, what a great caption!, and perfect holiday gift. cheers. God Bless love, c

    Cheryl Marsh Date: Mon, 29 Jul 2013 01:06:45 +0000 To: clmavon@hotmail.com

Please don't be shy, feel free to get in on the conversation & leave a reply!

