Always Kiss Me Goodnight

clarington-20130504-00007

Today I was asked to help my niece transfer a decal onto the wall of the nursery for her soon to be born child.  I have had the good fortune of living close enough to have been able to be in this young woman’s life from the very day she was born.

As I entered the beautiful nursery she & her husband have created, I couldn’t help but think of the wee baby girl I met a number of years ago for the very first time.

She was our first & only niece so she holds a very special place in my heart.

Today brought back memories of a time when we used to beg her parents to go out, so that we could keep her awhile.  If we were really convincing, we got to keep her overnight!

She was our first real experience at having a baby in our lives; as much a joy then as she is now.

After she & I finished our handiwork today, we stepped back to admire our work.

The saying is “Always Kiss Me Goodnight“.

I have no doubt that this lucky little being will never worry about being kissed goodnight, for she has the good fortune to be born into a family who will surround her with love. My wish would be that all children could be so blessed.

Such a simple act, one that is filled with feelings of contentment & security.

I can’t help but be excited, as she enters into the journey of becoming a parent for the first time.  Experiencing all of the joy & heartache having a child brings to your life.

Take time to enjoy each & every precious moment, as before you know it, you may find yourself looking in the eyes of your adult niece sharing a moment like today.

I hope that when that time comes, you will feel the same amount of joy & love that I do for you!

Love & Kisses from your Auntie:)

DSCN1367

Special moments together. 1983.

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Always Kiss Me Goodnight

  1. Dianna Reid says:

    🙂 Love

  2. Fran says:

    Thank you for allowing me the opportunity to re-live this wonderfull memory

    Fran

  3. Jennie says:

    A very special time for everyone! Babies rule!

  4. Pingback: Sunday Snuggles | Life After 50

  5. Pingback: Last Man Standing | Life After 50

Please don't be shy, feel free to get in on the conversation & leave a reply!

